We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous boutique hotel”
Review of The Wallawwa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wallawwa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kotugoda
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous boutique hotel”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Friends had recommended this hotel because it is so close to Colombo airport (15 to 20 mins drive) so I stayed there on my first and last nights in Sri Lanka. Brilliant choice - the airport transfers were efficient, both rooms I had were extremely comfortable and stylish (with huge monsoon showers), and the staff were exceptional. They arranged a driver to take me to Galle, and also to collect me from Bentota a few days later, and all worked like clockwork. All seemed very well thought-through, e.g. little touches like a Mac with printer in the library helped guests sort out online check-in and boarding pass printouts. The restaurant was excellent. Highly recommended for one or two nights on arrival or before leaving Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VSB0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    173
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
195
563
30
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We arrived just after midnight and wanted to stay near the airport. The Wallawwa was there with a welcoming sign to drive us roughly a half hour or less to the hotel. Great choice for a late night arrival...and had it been closer to the city, would have preferred to stay here our whole three nights before moving to Colombo. The 200+ year old manor house was hidden in what felt like a jungle. Our room was big with a huge bathroom and rain shower. Very nice outdoor restaurant. The "MD"...managing director is from England and very pleasant and helpful in recommending places to see and restaurants to eat at in Colombo. Did both...and happy we listened to him.

Room Tip: Can't imagine there are any bad rooms.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrowford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late into Columbo and headed straight to the hotel. Check in was quick and easy and our room was amazing.

All of the furnishings were really cool and the small garden area around the rear was a bonus.

We ate in the hotels restaurant and the food was very very good.

We has a massage the following day and again, brilliant service, excellent massage.

It's a shame we didn't stay longer at the hotel as we had to check out after one night but overall highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeNSazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night on our way to the airport.
Pros....lovely room and bathroom, staff very friendly and helpful, breakfast fresh and lovely.
Cons....pool doesn't look inviting, natural stone in shady area with a lot of Mosquitos around. Location of hotel not good, at least 20 minutes to airport and on country road. Couldn't even find a shop with cold drinks let alone a restaurant nearby so you are captive to the hotels pricey restaurant.
Have been in Sri Lanka 12 days and stayed at some lovely hotels that were half the price of this one. Thought we'd treat ourselves for the last night and were quite disappointed.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a 1 night stay at beautiful Wallawwa. Near the airport, this hotel was a great place to stay after our flight and to begin our 7 day journey in Sri Lanka. Staff were attentive, rooms cosy and staff attentive.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SID&AKAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

What an amazing place to end our holiday in Sri Lanka. This Boutique Hotel is spectacular in its design. The architecture is brilliant and manages to blend the original 250 year old Wallawwa with the impressive suites.
In every corner there is something new to discover. Take the time to sit and reflect in different locations or enjoy a book from the extensive library. Raining- not a problem ample board games to keep you entertained and of course a late afternoon tea provided free of charge.
The staff are exceptional and clearly well trained to provide a fantastic customer experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed at Wallawwa for 2 nights at the end of Sri Lankan holiday. It was the perfect ending to a wonderful holiday. The hotel has maintained the elegant charm of yesteryear blended with modern facilities set in a tropical oasis.
The restaurant opens onto the lawns & gardens with really good food.
Staff are very pleasant & efficient.
Enjoyed our swims & a special treat was when the waiter (unannounced) brought us complimentary sorbets to the pool.
(husband says it is the best hotel he has stayed at - has stayed at many many hotels over the years ).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotugoda
7.4 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
9.3 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#2 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
15.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden Colombo
9.6 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#9 of 41 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wallawwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wallawwa

Property: The Wallawwa
Address: Minuwangoda Road | Nr Ja-Ela & Bandaranaike Int Airport, Kotugoda, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kotugoda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kotugoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wallawwa 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wallawwa was once the country estate of the head chieftan of Galle. It is now home to The Wallawwa, Sri Lanka's first and only boutique airport hotel. Perfectly situated and designed to welcome weary travelers in style and seclusion. Just 15 minutes from Colombo airport and within touching distance of Colombo, there is now no reason to take on long car journeys after arriving at the airport. Join us, sit back and relax at the Z spa or at the Verandah restaurant and start or finish your holiday in heavenly luxury. A 17 room private boutique hotel, restaurant, spa and gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Wallawwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wallawwa Hotel Kotugoda
Wallawwa Hotel Colombo
Wallawwa Boutique Hotel Colombo
The Wallawwa Sri Lanka/Kotugoda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing