We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks practically all the boxes - would definitely recommend”
Review of The Wallawwa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wallawwa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kotugoda
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ticks practically all the boxes - would definitely recommend”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Wallawwa is a very well presented and comfortable boutique hotel offering, in secluded grounds but only about 15 mins from the airport. The garden suite room option that we took was excellent; we didn't see the standard rooms but I would guess they are probably pretty good too, and the hotel is very well maintained overall. We really liked the food which included both international and local options. The staff seemed very well trained and always keen to help without being "in your face". One downside might be that there is little of visitor interest in the immediate locality, but if you're just using the place at beginning/end of a trip that's unlikely to be a problem. Also, wi-fi wasn't really practical in our first room due to the thick walls, although sitting on the veranda with laptop to get emails and do flight check-ins was no hardship. All in all, we couldn't really fault the Wallawwa and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magellan762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    173
    20
    7
    3
See reviews for
195
563
30
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

After a 12 hour flight this was a fantastic start to our holiday. Beautiful rooms, bathrooms bigger than some flats i have stayed in, nice pool, very tranquil and picturesque. Food was fabulous and the service is excellent. Unfortunately we only had 1 night here but i would gladly have stayed here much longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrossJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
407 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was a faultless experience. The bedroom provides all the comforts you could wish for and the vast bathroom is worth the visit alone! Peaceful location within very easy reach of the airport which is a clear bonus whether you're leaving or arriving in the country. Dinner was the stand-out meal during my stay on the island showcasing the very best of Sri Lankan cuisine. And thank goodness there was no buffet at breakfast: take your time in the tranquil open, covered setting to eat freshly prepared food and freshly made drinks. Fabulous place and, again, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PBCinEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

A lovely boutique hotel set in the best nature has to offer. Our stay was so peaceful and Tranquil the two days that we were there, all I can say is that we're fully recharged. You're only 15 minutes away from the hotel but it seems as if you're in a forest in the middle of nowhere. The rooms were so spacious and we loved the use of all natural wood everywhere. The bathroom was almost the size of the bedroom, very grand indeed with natural light coming through the ceiling. The only thing missing was a minibar, so we couldn't cool the beers bought from the airport but do make sure you bring your own snacks (chips & chocolates etc.) from the airport if you like to indulge in some midnight snacks. The pool was set in a lovely area surrounded by old trees but was a bit cold to swim in (even in the month of July). We would have swam if they had a temperature controlled pool, that's for sure but we headed out to the beach instead which is only 20 minutes away and shopped at the local shops along the beach road (highly recommended). The staff at the Wallawwa were very polite and helpful with over half of them with international experience. They made our stay even more comfortable! All in all I would recommend this hotel for anyone who wishes to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life, and be amongst the finest of what nature has to offer. A pure relaxation resort, with only 17 rooms, we literally had the whole place to our selves. Two to three days here is all you need to get recharged and then head back to reality.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room no. 18 the most private with the largest natural garden covered with tall ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nooman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

For me one of the main plus points of this boutique hotel is its proximity to the airport (approx. 20 minutes by car) - but suffering from little if any aircraft noise.
The setting, down a tiny lane is tranquil in the extreme and formalities are completed with the minimum of fuss. We had three garden suite rooms situated around a courtyard with a lily pond. All were well equipped although the two on the left hand side were a little dark. The wet rooms were crazily large but to me didn't have the 'wow' factor that some others have commented on. The food was delicious - excellent curries and some imaginative puddings including an amazing passion fruit crème brulee.
The whole atmosphere was akin to staying in a beautiful private home. Our brief stay did not include time to experience the spa or spend time in the small but cosy library (excellent selection of English paperbacks alongside some weightier tomes). The small shop appeared to have some interesting items - albeit somewhat pricey - but then all the profits go to charity so very commendable.
The only real drawback would appear to be the somewhat erratic service. It was occasionally difficult to locate a member of staff - although they were all without exception very friendly and anxious to please.
If I fly into Sri Lanka again I would definitely consider this hotel again for an overnight stop at the beginning or end of the holiday to avoid the chaos of Colombo's horrendous traffic.

Room Tip: Rooms to the left of the courtyard are a little dark with no real outlook. Those on the right look o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
156 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This place has beautiful architecture, a very peaceful feel and is very close (15 min) to the airport. It should be ideal for a night or two, a bit dull maybe. But the place has several issues, some of them are just very unusual or plainly not acceptable for a property at this price level:
- no refrigerator, no minibar
- nice big bathroom but no power outlet and no bathtub
- we are used to getting a fruit basked or some chocolates or a bottle of wine at arrival: nothing here
- Just soap, conditioner and shampoo in the bathroom, no other amenities
- Walking to breakfast you need to pass by the kitchen which did not look clean and neat
- breakfast was substandard. It is waiter service, no buffet. They only have one local dish (out of around 6 you can order) - and that one was not available. No ham, no cold-cuts, only one cheese (cheddar). They charge extra for several items (like cappuccino or orange juice - very unusual for a place this expensive
- Internet only works in the lobby area, does not work in the room and does not work in the breakfast area

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Unterwegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWallawwa, Managing Director at The Wallawwa, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor - we’re glad you liked the architecture, peacefulness and proximity to the airport of The Wallawwa.

We have taken on board the feedback provided and will use your comments to improve. I should, however, take a moment to explain that we are a small boutique hotel and do not promise buffet style food generally served at larger hotels around the island. In our opinion, and that of the majority of our guests, this is a positive. For breakfast we offer a fruit juice, fruit platter, tea/coffee, homemade bread and croissants and an array of additional dishes such as Eggs Benedict, French Toast and Tropical Granola with curd & honey, to name a few. All served to your table while you can sit back and enjoy the beautiful gardens.

Some of the improvements you suggest are already in progress. Mini fridges are soon to be fitted in every room and we are working hard to persuade Sri Lanka Telecom to increase our bandwidth for better wifi (which is offered free of charge throughout the property). I apologise that the connection was slow when you stayed with us.

I hope you have an excellent tour of Sri Lanka and that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future to show you the improvements we’ve made.

Warm regards,
Henry

Henry Fitch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Wallawwa for two nights from 5th to 7th and enjoyed the place. It's a great location for recovering your energy after a long flight in a very nice setting. The small gardens and green areas surrounding the hotel make this place a big hit. The room and bath are big and well appointed. The food and staff is also amazing ( a special thanks to Roshen and Prasad for amazing hospitality). The only thing that disappointed us was that there was some renovation going on and thus there were some construction related noise, also the verandah area was made into a makeshift restaurant and thus there were some flies during the breakfast. Overall a small yet amazing place to relax and unwind.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank sacmis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotugoda
7.4 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
9.3 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 41 in Negombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
15.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden Colombo
9.6 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#9 of 41 in Negombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wallawwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wallawwa

Property: The Wallawwa
Address: Minuwangoda Road | Nr Ja-Ela & Bandaranaike Int Airport, Kotugoda, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kotugoda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kotugoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wallawwa 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wallawwa was once the country estate of the head chieftan of Galle. It is now home to The Wallawwa, Sri Lanka's first and only boutique airport hotel. Perfectly situated and designed to welcome weary travelers in style and seclusion. Just 15 minutes from Colombo airport and within touching distance of Colombo, there is now no reason to take on long car journeys after arriving at the airport. Join us, sit back and relax at the Z spa or at the Verandah restaurant and start or finish your holiday in heavenly luxury. A 17 room private boutique hotel, restaurant, spa and gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Wallawwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wallawwa Hotel Kotugoda
Wallawwa Hotel Colombo
Wallawwa Boutique Hotel Colombo
The Wallawwa Sri Lanka/Kotugoda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing