We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast”
Review of The Wallawwa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wallawwa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kotugoda
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of our trip, the Garden Room was lovely with a very spacious bathroom. Lovely secluded grounds with a laid back vibe and a very accommodating staff. After a week of buffet breakfasts this was a real treat,, tasty freshly prepared food. We managed to get into Colombo for some shopping, traffic not great but it is worth the effort.

We hope to return again.

Room Tip: Would guess that all rooms here are good, the hotel is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whistlestop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    181
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
207
577
30
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The grounds - and the old mansion quite beautiful - exceptionally so - it was just such a pity that we couldn't really take advantage of them since we had a 'monsoon' day - the worst rain they'd had in five years. The kitchen flooded and some of the rooms leaked but the staff coped magnificently and two of us moved rooms to have dry beds! And everyone was so good humoured - and grateful to us for 'our understanding'. We felt SO sorry for them. The bottle of wine we were given with dinner a lovely gesture in recognition. The food was excellent - breakfast and dinner - and the dining area makes the most of the garden views. I can't comment on the swimming pool other than it looked very attractive!
One caveat - we had the Family Suite - fine if the family is two adults and two children but not if you're four adults. The twin bedded room cramped with nowhere for suitcases or put anything anywhere really. Great bathroom though! The room we moved into for our second night spacious and lovely.
All in all think our experience demonstrates what a good hotel it is - disaster for them dealt with exceptionally well for guests. And it is blissfully close to the airport prior to the long journey home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwyneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Just 15 minutes from Colombo airport this was the perfect place to relax before embarking on a week long journey seeing the sights of Sri-Lanka. We were booked in to a Garden view room, which was large with simple decoration and a huge bathroom; my only gripe would be that the garden view was in fact just the view of the wall at the back of the hotel. Complimentary afternoon tea was however a nice touch. Arriving on Sri-Lanka’s “New Year’s Day” mean no alcohol could be purchased, however they did make fantastic virgin Mojitos. Service was excellent when you were able to engage with the staff, however my husband sat reading in the lounge for an hour whilst I was having a massage (which was excellent by the way) and was not even approached to be offered a drink. The food on the whole was good, the local black pork curry went down well although the spicy prawns were so spicy I was barely able to eat them. I would however certainly stay here again on arrival or departure from Sri-Lanka

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordRicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We only stayed one night at this lovely hotel after arriving in Colombo at stupid o'clock.

Having no previous experience of Sri Lanka and being on the road so late we weren't sure what to expect and the drive into the resort was on a very dark road.

It's beautiful. The beauty of the old colonial house, lush gardens and comfortable, nicely appointed rooms were a real treat after an extremely long day travelling. Even though this is an 'eco' resort it does not stint on luxury.

However, the real highlight of this place was the food. Fabulous breakfast - I recommend the hoppers. We were sad not to be able to sample their excellent dinner menu as we were leaving that day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank occasional_typo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed here on the 12th March after a long flight from London. The hotel is really close to the airport. We were only there 1 night and would loved to have another night so we could visit the nearby beach and make use of the pool. The staff were really welcoming and the atmosphere was relaxing and very chilled.

The gardens were lovely and a perfect spot to take afternoon tea and enjoy a book. I manage to get myself a last minute coconut scrub at the 'Z' spa and it was a great way to start the holiday. Dinner and breakfast were all tasty and lots of choice.

We loved the little touches in the room and would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody who wants a quiet spot near the airport for a night or two.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lancashirelass00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

After a very stressful flight with Qatar (dont ever fly with them - fly Emirates) all was soon forgotten when we experienced the total relaxation of the Wallawwa Hotel. The Staff, room and atmosphere was so totally chilled you could not do anything but enjoy this extraordinary hotel.

We loved our stay here and could not fault anything about the room, grounds and food.

Chef was flexible with the menu . The afternoon tea was a fabulous touch and added to the "specialness" of the personal touch this hotel gives.

Went to explore the spa and although we did not use it, just walking into the spa gave you an even more relaxed feeling.

Well done Wallawwa - we love you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rattytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,England
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here on 19th March after a long flight from London. The hotel is 20 minutes from Colombo airport and is an oasis of peace,set in lovely gardens and with a shady pool. Our garden suite was spacious and the bathroom as big as the bedroom. The staff were friendly and efficient and the food great. To drive to Kandy immediately after landing is daunting and the Wallawwa means you can avoid the hurly burly of Colombo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dentons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotugoda
7.4 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#2 of 43 in Negombo
1,035 reviews
15.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
9.3 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 43 in Negombo
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden Colombo
9.3 mi away
Heritance Negombo
Heritance Negombo
#3 of 43 in Negombo
432 reviews
15.6 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 55 in Colombo
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wallawwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wallawwa

Property: The Wallawwa
Address: Minuwangoda Road | Nr Ja-Ela & Bandaranaike Int Airport, Kotugoda, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kotugoda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kotugoda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wallawwa 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wallawwa was once the country estate of the head chieftan of Galle. It is now home to The Wallawwa, Sri Lanka's first and only boutique airport hotel. Perfectly situated and designed to welcome weary travelers in style and seclusion. Just 15 minutes from Colombo airport and within touching distance of Colombo, there is now no reason to take on long car journeys after arriving at the airport. Join us, sit back and relax at the Z spa or at the Verandah restaurant and start or finish your holiday in heavenly luxury. A 17 room private boutique hotel, restaurant, spa and gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Wallawwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wallawwa Hotel Kotugoda
Wallawwa Hotel Colombo
Wallawwa Boutique Hotel Colombo
The Wallawwa Sri Lanka/Kotugoda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing