We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,105)
Filter reviews
1,105 results
Traveler rating
861
210
24
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
861
210
24
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong flightone nightlast nightsri lankaclose to the airportboutique hotelon arrivalcolombo airportgarden suiteafternoon teatwo nightshuge bathroomminutes from the airportstayed longermountbatten suiteswimming poolour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
822 - 827 of 1,105 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

In an unlikely setting, 6km approximately from the airport and in what is an otherwise unattractive area. Set in its own grounds with abundant wildlife, (sadly including the mossies) the hotel provides a fantastic first or last night before or after a flight. The room we used was beautiful and attention to detail was seen everywhere throughout the hotel. The food and service were faultless.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abe1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We spent our first and last nights here during our 3 weeks in Sri Lanka, what a lovely place !
We had a garden suite both nights and on our last night we were in the newer built rooms which were definitely nicer, but both had really comfortable beds, huge bathrooms with great showers and really good hair dryers ...not found in any of the other 5 hotels we visited !!
The staff were very welcoming and charming but the best thing was the food...absolutely outstanding and we think probably the best we had eaten on our tour here. We noticed people from outside we're coming just to eat and understandably so.
All in all a lovely stay and I would highly recommend this hotel as a stop off point as its 20 minutes from the airport.
Just great...go !!

Room Tip: The newer garden suites
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silverfox026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Given that we used this hotel as stop over for our travel south to/from Galle, it was a perfect. With a very early morning arrival and having very late evening flight back home at the end of the trip, it was like a sanctuary. We had 2 adjoining rooms. Our room is large with a huge bathroom, and the kids had a room with 2 twin beds. The room is furnished simply. The shower water pressure is better than most hotels in California! The ground is neat and clean. I noticed and was surprised that mosquito was not a problem while we were dining. The service staff was friendly and helpful. My only thought is why the entry to driveway is so small, unpaved and overgrown with foliages. Another is that should you want to walk out of the hotel ground, there is not much to nearby. There is no shop or restaurant that I can see as we approached the entrance. Also there is no minibar in the room. Wish some local fruits were provided in the room.

There was a good size library along with games in the lobby. There were a few games in the room as well.

Definitely recommend this hotel if your travel plan is similar to ours.
The Wifi was free and the breakfast was included in our room rate. For the 2nd leg stay in the same rooms, we were charged a half day rate because we did not overnight.

We had breakfast before departing for Galle, and during the 2nd stay late lunch and dinner before we checked out to head home. Not disappointed! (see pictures)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sofiteme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The great thing about the Wallawwa, is it's not too long a drive from Colombo airport but just that far enough to give you a) a taste of what's to come by driving through all the fabulous scenery b) that much needed tranquility on arrival after a seriously long flight and c) food that will make you want to clap out loud!

We arrived in the afternoon to a small, cosy property hidden off the main road up a drive way and was refreshed immediately with a fresh Papaya fruit juice and cold flannel to cool our skin down - the heat can be a shock if you've just flown from thick snowy weather! We were shown to our wonderful room through a gorgeously zen courtyard. We just both grinned as we walked around it. You'll find a sumptious 4 poster bed with mosquito nets, beautiful little window seat to recline on, lovely dark mahogony furnishings, an amazing welcome fruit platter to replace the grim taste of plane food and a HUGE bathroom where you can wash off the long haul and have a mini disco at the same time it's so spacious. The rooms are beautifully and simply decorated, (reminded me of Thai architecture and furnishings) and the bed was seriously comfortable which is always important for your first much needed night's sleep. The rooms are not over the top, but enough of a luxury to get you in the romantic honeymoon frame of mind.

The pool is hidden in an enclosure of trees and quite small but given the size of the property, it really doesn't matter. For example, we were the only people when we went to rest on the sun lounger for an hour. Surrounded by wonderful huge trees, home to some fascinating local wildlife, it's a great place to relax, unwind and have a dip if too hot during the afternoon. You also have the option for some complimentary tea and cakes near the main house, which they put out each afternoon and then my advice is you gear your stomach up for the highlight of the stay - the evening meal - or should i say feast!

THE FOOD IS SERIOUSLY DELICIOUS HERE!!!!!!! GO FOR IT. We shared starters, the most light, flavoursome crab cakes with sweet chilli home made dip (not like the packet or bottle stuff you get in the UK) and a soup that was so smoothe and coconutty each spoonful melted in your mouth. For the main course we had curry given we'd just arrived to Sri Lanka and actually, it was definitely up there with some of the best curry's we had on our trip. There are many different influences to the curry flavours in Sri Lanka. Some are definitely more Thai flavoured, others more towards a traditional Indian type curry and then there are those that just stand out alone. Like this one. The vegetable curries (all new flavours to us) were actually out of this world and our favourite - there was also succulent prawn, chicken, beef curry and tons more vegetable dishes including an out of this world cashnew nut & garden pea curry, accompanyments include coconut sambal or something like that, popadoms and of course the soft melt in the mouth jasmine rice. You'd think that would have filled us up but given our excitement and enthusiasm at the food we decided to also try a dessert. Thank God we made that decision. If you stay here, I can't recommend enough if it's still on the menu, the rum bannana fritter and icecream. O.M.G. I have never ever, in my life, had a pudding so utterly delicious and mouth wateringly good. We actually contemplated ordering a 2nd (i now regret we didn't) and i when i think back to it, I can almost still taste what was so good about it. It was PERFECT in every way. I'd actually travel back to Sri Lanka just for this dessert. SERIOUSLY scrumptious and I'm not even a huge dessert fan but this was magical.

With full stomachs, we had a great nights sleep and woke early for our departure not forgetting to have the included breakfast which was fantastic again: a Sri Lankan curry feast for my partner (including scrummmy egg hoppers - sort of like an egg baked in a round bowl shaped pancake and then stringy egg hoppers to dip in the like coconut curry sauce) while I opted American and had amazing scrambled eggs, and toast and bannana bread and fruit platter - which basically set us up for the whole day which was to involve alot of travelling.

The Wallawwa is a really great first night stop gap for those arriving in that day and for that reason, amongst the others listed here - I'd really highly recommend it to kick-off your grand tour or honeymoon if you're travelling around a bit. The food is incredible and the rooms are really cosy and romantic. I'm glad we kept it to one night as there are also so many other wonderful hotels to experience in and around Sri Lanka but I'm glad we didn't miss it altogether.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milly09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We were originally booked in for only one night here at the end of our trip, but increased it to two so we could look around Negombo and the surrounding area. In order to get a room we had to book a garden suite, and we were so glad we did. After a long drive from Trincomalee, arriving at this beautiful place late afternoon was a real treat. (It had yet another interesting approach track). Our room was beautiful, with a huge bed with mosquito net curtains, the most enormous wet room with shower ever, and lovely large towels, and even face flannels. Oh yes, and a proper domestic hairdryer that really worked! The building was beautifully laid out, and we enjoyed the outside areas, pools (of which there were several in addition to the naturalistic swimming one) and the pretty dining area. The hotel shop was delightful, and I bought several very reasonably priced gifts there, liking the fact they were made by a local co-operative. The food was quite simply the best we had in our entire two week trip, with beautiful a la carte meals in the evening, with great choices. Breakfast cooked to order took time, but was so worth it. Interestingly our two dinners with drinks & wine and breakfast here were the least expensive we had anywhere. Thanks to its proximity to the airport, we were able to leave at a very civilised 0645 for our flight - we declined the offer of a packed breakfast, but they brought us fresh coffee in our room after the wake up call. There were people of all ages there, and all were enjoying it. Afternoon tea was a treat, too and the service was as kind and friendly as we had grown to expect in Sri Lanka. We are recommending it to anyone thinking of a trip to Sri Lanka, at either or both ends of their journey, and would make it our first stop on any return visit. PS: Apparently "Wallawwa" means "headman's house", which is what it was.

Room Tip: The garden suite we had was gorgeous - probably worth the extra cost.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cornwallgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews