We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Short a stay !”
Review of The Wallawwa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wallawwa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kotugoda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I stayed just one night here in Transit. It is a beautiful property 15-20 mins from the Colombo airport. The grounds are lush, quiet and when I return I could easily spend a couple of days relaxing here. I stayed in a garden room with a huge wet area bathroom and private outdoors seating. Loved it, Oozes style and comfort !

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delicious108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (974)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

735 - 741 of 974 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

We've just returned from a wonderful 2 week trip to Sri Lanka and stayed at the Wallawwa for 4 nights at the beginning and end of our trip. We had originally hoped to start our trip in Colombo but decided to book the Wallawwa instead after seeing all the great reviews. We weren't disappointed at all! As soon as we arrived we were made to feel so welcome. The staff are amazing and have struck the perfect balance between being friendly and welcoming but not overbearing. The hotel grounds are lush and green and we instantly felt relaxed and at home right from the start. The rooms are large and spacious and we couldn't believe how huge the bathroom was! All the rooms also have a small garden area complete with day bed at the back as well, which was great for relaxing.

The food in the restaurant was excellent, with a large choice at breakfast ( the egg hoppers and chicken curry is a must have) and the evening menu was also very good. Although I couldn't believe how much food I was presented with when I ordered the fish curry, there must have been at least 9 different vegetable curries aswell so it ended up taking up most of the table space. My sister couldn't stop laughing about it but it was all delicious.

When we returned at the end of our trip, the staff all remembered us and welcomed us back, enquiring as to how we had enjoyed the rest of our trip which was a nice touch.

Wealso liked the fact that all the staff knew our names and never once asked for our room number when we ordered anything or even when we used the spa and we were never asked to sign for anything so it actually felt like were at home and not staying in a hotel.

Both my sister and I had a massage in the spa with Maggie and enjoyed it thoroughly. Maggie is such a warm and friendly lady that we felt very relaxed and indulged following out treatments. These were floowed by a relaxing herbal tea whilst reclining and looking across a small pond that they have in the waiting area. I could have quite happily gone back there everyday.

All in all, a very relaxing and peaceful stay and I'm sure if we ever return to Sri Lanka this will be our first stop.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 228chantelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

After a 10 hour flight from London we were taken to the Wallawwa for our first night. It was simply exceptional. Huge rooms, four poster beds with mosquito nets, fantastic bathroom and authentic and tasty food. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff as we relaxed by the pool and drank cocktails and coconut water while nibbling on roasted cashews with chilli and curry leaves - a must for any visitor and we would return without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth235_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The more we visit beautiful Sri Lanka, the longer we stay at the excellent Wallawwa. A Gem of a boutique hotel set in acres of manicured gardens. Huge well appointed air conditioned rooms, attentive and informative friendly staff and cuisine second to none. Located within easy reach of the airport, but more than just a one night stop over, this is the place to make your holiday or business base, take trips out for sightseeing, then return to the comfort of the fabulous Wallawwa and sit on the huge veranda and listen to the nightlife or take advantage of the first class Spa. A great place to stay and great value considering it's location.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent but a garden suite if you have children or are a twitcher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jojo90Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed in a garden view family suite (2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms). The decor is colonial meets boutique. The four poster beds were extremely confortable with gauzy drapes to keep the bugs out. The bathrooms are huge. The only down side was no bath - and I do love a bath. The food was as good as any Michelin starred resyaurant I have ever eaten in (and thats a few). The staff are courteous and efficient and I love the fact that you dont tip until you leave. We endsed our holiday here and it was the cherry on the cake. Worth every penny - Well done Wallawwa!

Room Tip: Garden rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Wallawwa is a wonderful old home coverted to a boutique hotel.It is only 20 minutes from the airport. If you are doing a private tour of Sri Lanka with your own driver/guide this is a very good place from which to start. Garden Suites are large & very comfortable & the service from a friendly staff is excellent. The food is good - Sri Lankan & Asian/European alternatives.

The setting is in a beautiful garden with a lovely pool.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gizzy229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed there with my family for 2 days in the Garden Suite (2 small kids). The hotel is very close to the airport but yet fairly secluded. The property is beautiful and charming to put it mildly. The room was fabulous with its high ceilings and the toilets were large and clean. The pool is small and its just for taking a dip and not meant for real swimming. My son had a ball running around the property and feeding the fishes.
About the food. It is about the best I've had though a little bit pricey. You should try the homemade ice creams -- the chilli jaggery icecream is to die for. The staff is super friendly and cater to every request. Definitely going back there.

Room Tip: If you like Cashewnuts, get them from the shop opposite the hotel. Try the chilli dry roasted ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunnyrongala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotugoda
7.4 mi away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 43 in Negombo
1,068 reviews
9.3 mi away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#1 of 43 in Negombo
538 reviews
15.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden Colombo
15.6 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 54 in Colombo
308 reviews
9.6 mi away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#8 of 43 in Negombo
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wallawwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wallawwa

Address: Minuwangoda Road | Nr Ja-Ela & Bandaranaike Int Airport, Kotugoda, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Kotugoda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kotugoda
Price Range: $213 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wallawwa 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wallawwa was once the country estate of the head chieftan of Galle. It is now home to The Wallawwa, Sri Lanka's first and only boutique airport hotel. Perfectly situated and designed to welcome weary travelers in style and seclusion. Just 15 minutes from Colombo airport and within touching distance of Colombo, there is now no reason to take on long car journeys after arriving at the airport. Join us, sit back and relax at the Z spa or at the Verandah restaurant and start or finish your holiday in heavenly luxury. A 17 room private boutique hotel, restaurant, spa and gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Wallawwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wallawwa Hotel Kotugoda
Wallawwa Hotel Colombo
Wallawwa Boutique Hotel Colombo
The Wallawwa Sri Lanka/Kotugoda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing