We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interlaken and the Dragon”
Review of Hotel Beausite

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Beausite
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Beatenberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I dont usually make reviews, but the Beausite was a perfect getaway B&B, wonderful views of interlaken area, jungfrau, aiger etc with an easy walk from the local yellow Post Bus. Rita and Kasper were great hosts, providing hiking suggestions and local area attractions, plus offering an exellent dinner for excellent swiss value. We stayed 3 nights (extended from 2) and even saw some snow in May!

If you want a nice short hike with some folklore, there is a fitness course/walk about slaying the dragon nearby (from wikipedia: According to legend, Beatus was a missionary who came from Ireland to Lake Thun and who there expelled a dragon from the caves above Sundlauenen. His domicile in the dragon's cave has become a place of pilgrimage. Even today, the kilometre-long limestone cave with its subterranean lakes is a main tourist attraction of the locality.)

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a balcony and mountain view
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beausiteBeatenberg, Inhaber at Hotel Beausite, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2012

Dear Julie
thank you very much for your reviews and recommandation. We hope to welcome you again some time and we assure to you and everybody our best attention and service. With best regards from your hosts: Rita and Kaspar and from the dragon of St. Beatus !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Beausite
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 128 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

On a driving holiday from Spain to England we stayed over 3 nights with Rita and Kaspar at the Beausite Hotel in early May. They had just reopened following a busy skiing season and we just about had the place to ourselves.After some fairly hectic travelling it was an absolute pleasure to relax for a few days in their beautiful rustic chalet.They were the perfect hosts, helpful with suggestions for visits in the area.We did visit the places that we wanted to see in the area like Thun,Grindlewald, Interlaken etc, but I must say we were more than happy to sit on the room balcony in the sun and take in those magnificent mountain views, Jungfrau,Monch, Eiger and many others all in a line at the other side of Thunersee thousands of feet below us.
The room was typically Swiss, lots of wood, warm and cosy with very comfortable beds and the only noise we ever heard was the occasional cow bell. The drive up from Interlaken is problem free on a well engineered road.
We were made very welcome, nothing was too much trouble and both Rita and Kaspar have very good English. A special mention must be made of the evening meal which was nothing less than sensational and provided by Kaspar a highly trained chef.They say the test of the quality of a place is would you go back? The answer - definately! Highly recommended.
Terry and Carolyn Partridge

Room Tip: Rooms at the front with a balcony,face south , are slightly more expensive but the views of the Jung...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beausiteBeatenberg, Inhaber at Hotel Beausite, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Dear Carolyn and Terry
thank you very much for your recommandation to new guests. We will do our best to keep our service and to improve some small details. We would be very pleased to welcome you in the near future again. with best regards
Rita and Kaspar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is a small, family-run chalet hotel. There is nothing grand about it whatsoever.

The rooms are quite compact and quite old, with wonderful views if you uprade to the front of the building. They have considerable Alpine charm, and are cosy and warm.

What makes this place special is the hosts, Rita and Kaspar, who are excellent in every way. Rita does front of house, speaks fluent English, and is hard-wired to be helpful. She is a fount on knowledge on the many local attractions.

Kaspar is king of the kitchen. Dinner is highly recommended. It's all fixed menu, and served rather early at 7pm, but it is excellent, simple food. I use "simple" in a positive way. It is not haute cuisine, but it is faultless. Kaspar's food is well-flavoured with herbs, and very, very good indeed. Every plate goes back to the kitchen so cleared it almost doesn't need cleaned! We enjoyed his food much more than the infinitely more expensive gourmet meals we ate in other Swiss resorts.

All in all a very pleasant stay in snowy Beatenberg, and excellent value for Switzerland. Very friendly, personable service. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Worth uprading to the mountain/lake view rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorwichFlyingScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beausiteBeatenberg, Inhaber at Hotel Beausite, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Besten Dank für Ihren Bericht. Er spornt uns an, unsere Gäste nach unserem Motto "Beste Aussichten für Geniesser" zu verwöhnen. Gerne hoffen wir, Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüssen zu dürfen und senden sonnige Grüsse aus Beatenberg. Ihre Gastgeber: Rita und Kaspar
Thank you for your review. We shall to our best to spoil our guests in our way. We would be very pleased to welcome you again sometime. All the best to you and sunny regards from Beatenberg.
Your hosts Rita and Kaspar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We stayed five nights with our two children during the second week of August and had a wonderful time. It was a real treat and experience to stay in this Swiss Chalet as oppose to staying in Interlaken with is very touristy and a bit beaten down. Beatenberg is up in the mountains and is less than 15 minutes from Interlaken by car. The views from Beantenberg and the Hotel Beausite are spectacular. The Hotel is very nicely furnished. The hospitality of the owners Rita and Kasper was warm and much appreciated. They were very helpful in planning our daily trips in the area. Both the breakfast and dinners were great and came with generous portions. We stayed in a suite which was clean and pleasant.

The Michels Family.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
1  Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beausiteBeatenberg, Inhaber at Hotel Beausite, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Dear Family Michels
Thank you very much for your recommandation. It was our pleasure to spoil you and we would be very pleased to welcome you again in the near future. All the best to you all.
Your hosts: Rita and Kaspar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

First of all I want to state that Rita and Kasper are in my opinion the perfect hosts. They were always helpful without ever being intrusive.For all the places we wanted to visit Beatenberg is also well placed, as we did not want to stay in Interlaken which can be too busy. Rooms were clean and their rustic design suits the hotel really well. We also appreciated the free wifi service and the TV with an ample choice of stations. Breakfast was excellent and the restaurant too. A small shop just opposite the hotel provides picnic for your day out . Overall, value for money was excellent considering that Switzerland is rather an expensive place to visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mar_703009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beausiteBeatenberg, Inhaber at Hotel Beausite, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2011

Dear Mario an Family
thank you very much for your report. It was a pleasure to spoil you in our small Swiss Chalet-Hotel and we hope to welcome you again. We wish to viist your country Malta in the near future!
with best regards - Rita and Kaspar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

This hotel really functions more like a B&B. Breakfast is local bakery bread, swiss cheeses, and eggs made to order. Rita and Kasper hold up to their great reputation in other reviews. We had a room with an alp view. This view was amazing and overlooked lake Thun 2400 feet below. You can see 10+ peaks from the hotel with completely uninstructed views. The dining area also has excellent views. Beatengerg is about 10 minutes from interlaken and I am SO glad I didn't stay in interlaken. That seemed more of a tourist town. We went murren for a day, and it was about a 25 minute drive to the cable car. Murren etc. is on the other side of interlaken, and this makes a good base, though if I went there everyday I might just stay right in there. There are awesome hiking trails right by the hotel, and the roads in the area provide great views. Kasper is an amazing chef and I would highly recommend the dinner at the hotel. All in all, I would give this a perfect score and I would recommend beausite to anyone planning a beautiful vacation in the Bernese Oberland.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beausiteBeatenberg, Inhaber at Hotel Beausite, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2011

Hello Steve
thank you very much for your excellent report and recommendation to other guests. It was a pleasure to spoil you and we hope to welcome you again sometime at our small Swiss Chalet-Hotel.
with best regards - your hosts Rita and Kaspar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

We booked 3 night in this hotel and arrived just on time for dinner. On the day of arrival we realised we would have to leave the region earlier to meet friends in other parts of Switzerland; the owner kindly accepted to not charge us for that last night.

The lovely traditionally-furnished rooms gave us straight away a homely feel. The owners definitely have the sense of attentions (up to the knitted sewing kit hanging in the wardrobe). Chocolate easter rabbit and eggs as a treat in the rooms.
The view from the dining area and our rooms on the Thunsee and the mountains was superb.
The bathrooms were very decent and functional - which is not always the case these days.
The beds were extremely comfortable and the double-glazing certainly helped us sleeping tight. And in the morning, small herd of cows and their dangling bells are a great sight and sound to to wake up to.
Two thumbs up to the Chef as well.

The location and the hotel itself were both quiet though not far from the nearby city of Interlaken.

Even the booking in the hotel gave us a discount card on some of the surrounding attractions and the nearby local swimming pool.

Very good quality for money.

Recommending it definitely.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fabetmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beausiteBeatenberg, Inhaber at Hotel Beausite, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2011

Hello Marc
thank you very much for your excellent report and recommendation to other guests. It was a pleasure to spoil you and we hope to welcome you again sometime at our small Swiss Chalet-Hotel.
with best regards - your hosts Rita and Kaspar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beatenberg
2.1 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
684 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Gloria
Hotel Gloria
#2 of 5 in Beatenberg
176 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dorint Bluemlisalp Beatenberg/Interlaken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#5 of 8 in Unterseen
163 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,238 reviews
8.4 mi away
Beausite Park Hotel
Beausite Park Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wengen
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beausite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beausite

Address: Mauren 555, Beatenberg 3803, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Beatenberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Beatenberg
Price Range: $169 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Beausite 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Beausite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing