We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful quiet location, ideal for families on vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dorint Bluemlisalp Beatenberg/Interlaken
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Beatenberg
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful quiet location, ideal for families on vacation”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Stayed there with my wife and our 1-year old son for a week this summer. My wife has been going there since she was a child. Her parents used to return there year after year, and after being there, I could understand why. Switzerland is an idyllic family vacation spot. The hiking is phenomenal.
The location is ideal for quiet family vacations. The view from Beatenberg on a clear day is excellent - you are above the town of interlaken, with the alps in front of you in the distance. The hotel's advantage is that it's a little further up the road from Interlaken, which makes it an ideal retreat away from the typical tourist crowd. Few Americans were there, mainly European and Asian tourists and small groups. Considering that the staff was Swiss-German, they were very welcoming. The hotel's decor is older but updated in some areas. Other areas feel like a time-warp (think European chalet from the 80's). We rented a small apartment room, which was ideal for our vacation since it has a small fridge, stove, and plates/utensils/cooking items. Considering the strength of the swiss franc, staying for a week in this hotel and cooking our own meals was an economical way to enjoy Switzerland. There are several larger grocery stores in Interlaken, and there is a small corner store just walking distance where you can get food. We enjoyed cooking meals and preparing a lunch before heading down and choosing our hike for the day. The drive to/from Interlaken can get a bit old if you're doing it every day (e.g if you plan on hiking exclusively from Lauterbrunnen or Grindelwald valleys, other good options I might consider would be to stay in Wengen (if you don't mind a tourist town), or Gimmelwald if you want to be off the beaten path). The hotel is very close to the lift up the Neiderhorn, a nice hike on a clear day.
Overall we really enjoyed our time there. The best way to enjoy Switzerland is to SLOW DOWN, stay put, and really enjoy the area. Even after 8 days there I still didn't get tired of the area. If you're hiking and have a perfect day, I would highly recommend the Isenfluh-Sulwald-Lobhornhutte hike. Amazing views of Eiger, Monch, and Jungfrau.

Room Tip: Higher up gives you better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDK12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    121
    26
    21
    8
See reviews for
149
108
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Dorint Hotel Bluemlisalp as a accomodations of my impression. Surrounded by beautiful scenery, great service and delicious food.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pedyada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
171 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed here almost a week in August. The hotel is located a 20-25 minute drive on a good but windy road from Interlaken, and is at the back of the village. Check-inn was friendly and very efficient. Our apartment was on the 9th floor, and had a fantastic view at the mountainrange of Monch, Jungfrau etc. (but, be sure to have an apartment that is high enough to have views! there are no apartments at the back of the building).

The bathroom seems to be renewed not too long ago but the rest of the apartment is rather dated. However, lots of storage space, tv with international channels and very important, a good bed. The kitchen is small (as is the fridge, leading it's own life getting cold, warmer and freezing cold) and not suitable for cooking extensive meals. We did our own cooking and enjoyed our meals at the balcony with the stunning views.

Unfortunately, the room got very hot inside during sunny days and almost didn't cool down at night. Airco or a fan would have been welcome. Every two or thee days we got clean towels in the bathroom and kitchen, and the garbage was taken away. This was in itself more than enough, and the room was clean when we arrived, but the costs of the final cleaning are 85 francs which we think is a lot of money.
In the main building there's a nice but nothing special pool, and a very nice sauna-area (opening at 5pm, pool opened all day).
And, however we would have liked to have it in the room as well, in the lobby there's free wifi. Great!
Very close to the hotel there's the middle station of the gondola to the Niederhorn. We were told there are great views up there, some nice walks and also a trotti-bike parcours back to Beatenberg. However, we took the car down the hill all days of our stay to Interlaken to enjoy the Jungfrau-area. We bought ourselves a 6day pass (only 6day available, expensive, but worth it if you want to go everywhere without bothering about tickets), to get into all of the trains and gondola's in this region (and with this pass, you can go to the Jungfrau itself with a 50% discount) but unfortunately the Niederhorn is not included in this pass. At the hotel, you get a free ticket for the bus to go down the hill but we prefered the car. Parking at Interlaken Ost trainstation is much cheaper than anywhere else in town (around 8 francs per day). Cheapest bike-rental is at Interlaken West trainstation (around 30 francs per day, incl helmet. Bikemap is useful, 2 francs).

Overall, we enjoyed our stay in the Dorint hotel, we loved the views, but when you're especially interested in the Interlaken region, you might want to find yourself accomodation closer to Interlaken, Wengen or Grindelwald.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtistheP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

This was my second stay st the Dorint Hotel in Beatenberg and I enjoyed both stays very much. It is a big hotel and this has advantages as well as disadvantages. Overall it is very comfortable with friendly and helpful staff, a decent restaurant and phantastic views. The rooms are well furnished and comfortable.

During my first stay I booked the suite in the category hotel suite, dinner bed and breakfast - not using the self-catering facilities. The rooms: bedroom, lounge and kitchen were cleaned every day and the towels changed. During my second stay I opted for the category holiday apartment including the kitchen. It is exactly the same kind of suite, only that the kitchen facilities are either locked or unlocked. If used as a holiday apartment, towels are not changed every day and the rooms will be cleaned only after 9 days! if you stay that long. This is what I was told at the reception, when complaining about the missing cleaning service after 3 days. At the end of the stay 100 Franken were charged extra for the cleaning. However washing the dishes and taking out the garbage were not included. So I really did not understand what the 100 Franken are being paid for, as there is less cleaning if the suite is booked as a self-catering apartment. I recommend to change that policy as it leaves the guest feeling a little silly. But that was my only irritation and I will certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunther B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We cannot get enough of this beautiful place. We spent many summer holidays here. Stunning views in almost every weather conditon except fog. We book the room as holiday apartment and make our pwn breakfast. In the evening you can cook in your own kitchen of go out to dine somewhere in beatenberg of interlaken. Since switzerland is very expensive at this time, making your own meal can save money, although groceries are also very expensive. Driving up to beatenberg from interlaken is a nice ride for people like me who love driving in the mountains. In the evening it is very dark to drive, the advantage is the stars that you can see. Hotel also has a nice pool and a beautiful new spa. Restaurant is not very special.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room in the main building, best are floors 8 and up. Elevator goes to 13th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gertnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatenberg, Manager at Dorint Bluemlisalp Beatenberg/Interlaken, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Dear Nap family

Thank you very much for your positive comments about your stay with us in Beatenberg! We are very glad to hear that you again found the service at your liking.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the beautiful Bernese Oberland and remain

With kind regards from the Swiss Alps
Rob Bruijstens and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Myself and my family stayed here for 3 nights and paid 248CHF per night. The one thing that I can write which is positive is that we had a room with a nice view and one of the male receptionist was extremely helpful. I called to speak to the manager the 3rd day about the cleaning in the room, however I was told he was not in and might be there in the evening, hence spoke to one of the receptionist. Not one time was our bed linen changed during our 3 night stay and no refills. On the 3rd day that I called to speak to the manager, the cleaning was terrible - room was not hoovered, windows still had fingerprints on it, wasp in room, empty bottle still lying on the table, dirty glasses still in sink, room was left the way it was and bed linen was not changed. After speaking to a female receptionist, a cleaner came to hoover and said bye!!!(whoopoe doo perfected her cleaning!!!NOT) Breakfast is ok, but could be better for the rate people pay and as a 4 star hotel. As a 4 star hotel, there are certain standards I and probably other frequent travellers expect and this hotel is certainly not a 4 star hotel according to other western europe standard; TV's of 5 years ago is still being used , furniture in room is very dated and no air-conditioning in the rooms, it was very warm in the room. Everything cost money in this hotel, indeed one has to pay to use the kitchen - 10CHF per day, I could not believe it when I read another review saying this. We had dinner once, and for the extortionate prices charged, it was terrible. Unbelievable 4 star hotel! Prior to this stay I had stayed in the Hotel Matterhorn Focus and I missed it and wished I could return there for the rest of my holiday in switzerland. To conclude, this hotel falls very very short of a 4 star hotel. I would certainly not be returning to this hotel and neither will be recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beatenberg, Manager at Dorint Bluemlisalp Beatenberg/Interlaken, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Dear Drop

Thank you very much for your comment about your stay with us in Beatenberg and we are very sorry to hear that you did not found the service at your liking during your stay. First of all my apologies for the poor cleaning of your room! This standard is not at all that what I as well would expect as a guest and as you can read in other reviews this is certainly not the standard we presume to offer. I directly ordered my manager involved to take measures to be sure that this would not happen again in future!

Maybe I may inform you herewith that till the end of the year we will change our TV sets to flat screen TV’s, unfortunately this was not yet possible because of the poor quality of the cable network. As you probably know LCD TVs need a better signal than the tube televisions.

We indeed charge an extra for the usage of the kitchenette in the room, therefore a lot of facilities are free of charge as for example:
free parking in- and outdoor
free wellness area with large swimming pool, 2 saunas, steam bath, infrared cabin and fitness room
free leisure facilities like mini golf, billiard, bowling and a kiddy club
free wireless internet access in the lobby
free shuttle service at arrival and departure to the railway station in Interlaken

Once again we are more then sorry that you did not find the service at your liking and hope we may welcome you some other time with us in Beatenberg to convince you about the fact that we are indeed a 4 star rated property by the official Gastrosuisse rating, witch is conform the ratings of the EU countries.

With kind regards from the Swiss Alps
Rob Bruijstens and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

A really good hotel. Staff were there to please, nothing was too much trouble. A good range of facilities, pool, steam room etc. Good food, the breakfast was splendid with a wide choice. Rooms were spacious obviously catering for the winter holiday trade, with spectacular views of Eiger, Jungfrau, Matterhorn and Lake Thun etc as long as the clouds don't roll in to obscure them. Unfortunately we weren't there long enough to view the immediate surrounding area but it appears to be a bit of a way from other restaurants, shops etc.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynntee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beatenberg
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gloria
Hotel Gloria
#3 of 5 in Beatenberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#3 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint Bluemlisalp Beatenberg/Interlaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Bluemlisalp Beatenberg/Interlaken

Property: Dorint Bluemlisalp Beatenberg/Interlaken
Address: Hubel 114, Beatenberg 3803, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Beatenberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Beatenberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorint Bluemlisalp Beatenberg/Interlaken 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest in the Bernese Oberland! The Dorint Bluemlisalp Beatenberg-Interlaken is situated on what could be called the sun terrace of the Swiss Alps. Allow yourself to be captivated by the special magic that is the natural paradise of Beatenberg, high above the rooftops of Interlaken. Pristine Alpine meadows and the invigorating mountain air offer an almost irresistible allure to embark on some of the 120 km of well marked trails and to discover all that this countryside has to offer. Sincerely,Rob Bruijstens and Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Dorint Bluemlisalp Beatenberg/Interlaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorint Hotel Beatenberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing