We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place!”
Review of Alphotel Eiger

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alphotel Eiger
Ranked #3 of 6 Beatenberg B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Room was spacious and comfortable, excellent hosts! Bearkfast was tasty with a wide range selection of cheese.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodchow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 57 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2011

As we started to leave, my wife asked if we were going to say good bye to our hosts, Christoph and Katrin. After three visits to Alphotel Eiger, we felt as if they were family, and of course we returned to say our goodbyes and to remind them once again what a marvelous time we had. It was just over a year ago we first stayed with them and now after our third visit, the WOW factor remains as strong as ever. Each time we went out or returned to the hotel, it seemed as if either Christoph or Katrin were there to welcome us back and inquire as to our day or what our plans for the day were. When we needed advice on what to do or where to go, they were always ready with great advice and maps. And of course the hotel was always clean and perfectly maintained, the breakfasts and our hosts' attentiveness during the meal was always exceptional, and the hotel's location with its travel book picture views of the high mountains and beautiful Lake Thun was exquisite. We have traveled extensively, but nowhere have we found such a combination of hospitality and friendship as exists at Alphotel Eiger. While it is a bit off the beaten path, the easy drive up the mountain with its often magnificent views of Lake Thun only adds to the unique experience. If visiting the Bernese Oberland, you would be well served to resist the temptation of staying in Interlaken but to head for sunny Beatenberg hillside. The serenity, scenery, and fresh air are a great tradeoff to the touristy shops and bustle of the city which is only about ten minutes down the hill should the need arise. A few basics: credit cards are accepted, there are pleasant places to dine on the mountain, parking is available directly in front of the hotel, and the guests you meet while there are all delightful people with whom you develop a relationship and swap stories, it's just that kind of place where everyone there becomes your friend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GauangellochTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Сharming chalet in the heart of incredible nature! We had unforgettable evening on balcony with a glass of wine and view on mountain Eiger. It is an earthly paradise! Chris and Katrin were friendly and very helpful to us and have made everything to make us feeling as at home!
We remember you and dream of coming back! Thank you for all!
Oleg and Inessa

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inessa85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

.On our third trip to Switzerland we discovered this gem, the best Swiss accomodation we have had. The Hosts were amazing, giving us directions, tourist tips, putting on our snow chains (as totaly inexperienced South Africans we were hopeless), they even assisted us with snow clothes, as buying snow gear for a 14month old in South Africa in the heart of summer is impossible.
The rooms were great, the breakfast was awesome, everything was clean yet it maintained that cozy swiss warmth one looks for. The views were outstanding, you look out over Lake Thun and are surrounded by Alps.
The location is so central, close to a great many swiss attractions, yet somehow you feel as if you are tucked away in some tiny little swiss village. Its ideal.
Our family spends many moments longing to return. If you are visiting Switzerland make this stop number one on your list.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank staceymandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2011

We just finished our 4th visit to Alphotel Eiger! That is how much we love this perfect little gem. Chris and Katrin are wonderful hosts; they have a very well behaved little boy. The breakfasts are always awesome with local cheese from their own cow. They always have great recommendations for food and activities. The view is unbelievable. The hotel itself is spotless and tastefully decorated. And I always, always sleep like a baby. Couldn't recommend this place highly enough. We look forward to our 5th visit...and 6th...and 7th...

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CQTCQTCQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

This was one of the best hotel experiences I have had in recent years, and given that I spend 2 nigths every week staying in hotels this is a serious accolade. The owners are as friendly as everyone else has said. They really make you feel welcome in their home, but without becoming overbearing or ever-present. The room was spacious and clean. The main doors opened out onto a balcony that had unobstructed views across the lake to the mountains. It is hard to descrbe just how breathtaking this view is, and because the hotel faces south, the light changes throughout the day. We had wine from the bar at a very reasonable 4 euro a glass and just sat and watched the sun set. Beatenburg has local restaurants, which were on the basic side and probably a little expensive for what they deliver, but you are here for the location and the view, not the food! Beware of walking along the road, especially at night as the hotel is at one end of town and the road is twisty and dark. Breakfast at the Alphotel is a "continental" buffet, but with high class local cheeses and delicious variety of breads. Overall this place exceeded expectations, but do not go if you are looking for all night activity or indeed anything but tranquility and beauty.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank workandleisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We were quite impressed by the hotel's website, the directions to the hotel were excellent, the drive up the mountain very scenic, but the property and its proprietors Christoph and Katrin exceeded all of our expectations. The view, even on a rainy day, was incredible, the hotel immaculate and beautifully decorated, breakfast excellent, and the community area which was adjacent to the breakfast area was warm and inviting during our two very chilly June days at Alphotel Eiger. Our lake facing room was large, very comfortable and creatively decorated, the bathroom modern, the wireless internet adequate, and the room very well lite so we could actually see to read at night. Our host's recommendations for Beatenberg dining options and what to see and do in the area were spot-on. Breakfast was a special treat highlighted by locally produced butter and cheeses, and during breakfast either Christoph or Katrin were always there and attentive to our needs and because of the rain and cold we tended to linger over breakfast. Parking for our car was convenient to the front door and to our surprise they accepted credit cards. As we live near Heidelberg, Germany and frequently visit Switzerland, we have just found a new favorite place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GauangellochTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beatenberg hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#3 of 5 in Beatenberg
128 reviews
2 mi away
Dorint Bluemlisalp Beatenberg/Interlaken
1.9 mi away
Hotel Gloria
Hotel Gloria
#2 of 5 in Beatenberg
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Regina
Hotel-Restaurant Regina
#6 of 6 in Beatenberg
8 reviews
0.9 mi away
sbt Gaestehaus Beatenberg
sbt Gaestehaus Beatenberg
#4 of 6 in Beatenberg
26 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Sterne
Hotel Sterne
#2 of 6 in Beatenberg
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alphotel Eiger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alphotel Eiger

Address: Beatenberg 3803, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Beatenberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Beatenberg
Price Range: $180 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alphotel Eiger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing