We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Nighter in Wildhaus”
Review of Hotel Hirschen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Hirschen
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Wildhaus
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One Nighter in Wildhaus”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I was planning to drive from Munich to Grindelwald and needed a nice place to stay over on the way. After researching different towns and hotels, I selected the Hotel Hirschen in Wildhaus. Driving in at night, it was impossible to tell anything visual about our hotel or tis surroundings, but both were pleasant surprises in the morning. I arrived later in the evening than expected due to traffic and construction on the roads from Munich. So, instead of arriving at 8:30pm, I didn't arrive until 10pm. No problem for the cordial staff at the hotel - I had almost the entire menu to choose from, even though the restaurant had closed. And I was seated next to some people finishing their meals, and sure enough, the group included the owner, Simone Walt, and her sisters. They couldn't have been more accommodating. And the food was delicious. Dragged myself to bed, very tired, and had a wonderful night's sleep in a very comfortable bed. I stayed in a room that had not been renovated. Although it was fairly old, it was very comfortable and worked just fine for me. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Wildhaus is a small but very pleasant mountain resort. I took a hike on a well-marked path in the morning before leaving, and it was very nice climbing the side of the mountain the hotel is located on.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidnightCruiser2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    65
    23
    10
    9
See reviews for
54
96
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I had a category C room, it was comfortable and quiet. The windows absorb all noise from the road. The bathroom was a bit dated and small, but perfectly functional and spotless. The bed was good quality and I slept very well. I would stay here again.

For the best price, you must book on the hotel website. I was able to book a C room even though the receptionist claimed (on the phone) that these rooms were not available anymore. She also quoted higher prices than the website. At least, the receptionist was always friendly, both on the phone and in person.

While hotel was perfectly fine, the hotel restaurant was the total opposite. Just about everything was terrible about it: waiting for 90 minutes, mediocre food, rude service. See separate review.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road do not have a view, but may allow for sleeping with an open window. Cheapes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarlHugen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HirschenWildhaus, Owner at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Google Translation
Lieber Gast, vielen Dank für Ihre ehrliche Bewertung. Es freut uns wenn es Ihnen bei uns gefallen hat. Wir wissen, während Ihres Aufenthaltes, wurden wir in unserem Restaurant Dorfstube unerwartet mit Besuchern sozusagen "überrannt". Daraus resultierten die langen Wartezeiten und wir konnten unserer angewohnten Qualität nicht gerecht werden. Wir möchten uns dafür entschuldigen und hoffen Sie trotzdem wiedermal bei uns begrüssen zu dürfen.

Herzliche Grüsse sendet Ihnen Simone Walt, Gastgeberin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed in The Hirschen Hotel with Friends for a short ski holiday in February 2013. Hotel was very nice, some rooms a bit dated but very comfortable. Quite quiet when we were there which was a bonus !

Kids loved the bowling alley and swimming pool and staff very friendly and helpful (even with four kids running around !). Hotel restaurant was nice, food good but service quite slow (but not a problem as very relaxing atmosphere). Great location with free bus collection outside hotel to ski lift only 2 minutes.

Wildhaus is small and very pretty but skiing is excellent and extensive for all levels as multiple lifts and cable cars go to two nearby villages. Facilities very, very good and we will be returning.

Only downside is how expensive everything is but this goes with the territory when skiing ! However, Wildhaus and the Toggenburg area is worth the money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirRalph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HirschenWildhaus, Inhaber at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear guests, we were very pleased to receive your assessment and thank you for choosing our hotel. We are looking forward to hearing from you. Yours sincerely Simone Walt, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Hotel has fantastic atmosphere with nice panorama to the mountains. The room is clean, well equipped and very comfortable. The team is well educated and good organized. Spa is clever done, very efficient and with high quality. We really enjoy to stay in this hotel and would recommend it to our friends and anther people.

Room Tip: 224 is my favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HirschenWildhaus, Owner at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear guests, we were very pleased to receive your assessment and thank you for choosing our hotel. We are looking forward to hearing from you. Yours sincerely Simone Walt, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We were with a large group of friends staying in Wildhaus over New Year and early January at Hotel Hirschen. The hotel is ideal for this type of group. There is a great indoor pool once you have had enough of the slopes and the relaxed atmosphere makes it ideal for kids.
I was taken ill and the owner of the hotel drove me to the doctor's and came back to get me- now thats service!
The meal on New Year's Eve was unbelievable although the entertainment was interesting and made you feel as though you were in a time warp.
My only criticism would be the speed of service. It is all young kids who haven't been trained and so service is not great. They are pleasant and you don't want to criticise but this area needs to improve. Rooms are clean and great to have free internet.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are great but can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mewett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HirschenWildhaus, Owner at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear guests, we were very pleased to receive your assessment and thank you for choosing our hotel. We are looking forward to hearing from you. Yours sincerely Simone Walt, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2010

A very classic Alpine hotel, with a new addition. The new addition has the spa and some excellently fitted out rooms. The classic part has the bars, restaurants, and ... bowling alley. Service is excellent and the food very good, everything from classic mountain Swiss cuisine, to modern interpretive cuisine.

I guess the best way to highlight our opinion, is that we have booked again for next year.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PraisDeLord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for three nights as a base for skiing and snow shoe walking in the Toggenburg area. We didn't know what to expect from the hotel, but were really pleased with our choice.

First of all, it's a lot bigger than I was expecting. It's got four storeys, and the large reception area tells you this isn't a run of the mill small-town hotel. Our room was what I can only describe as huge! I'd guess the distance from the one wall to the end of the en-suite bathroom to be perhaps 15m or so. So obviously there was no shortage of space, and penty of wardrobes and drawers for our clothes. In the bathroom there was a wide, deep bath. I can personally confirm it's big enough for two!

Breakfasts were the usual high-quality Swiss kind. Bechermuesli, cheeses, various breads, dried meats, that type of thing. Personally, I love it. Using the excuse of the hard day on the mountains to come, I always made the most of what was on offer.

A touch I really liked was that the same table had a nicely printed name card for us throughout our stay - both for breakfast and dinner. This meant we could head straight there each time and not have to hang around to be seated. Evening meals were four courses each time. We'd booked in for the halbpension deal, so took their recommendation each night. And pretty good it was too! If I'd ordered the same from the menu I'd have been really satisfied. The desserts deserve special mention, not just for the taste, but for the very sophisticated presentation. The dining room ambience was natural and relaxing; lots of wood, dark colours and an open fire in the evenings.

Ski facilities were fine. The hotel's about a 10-20 minute walk from the nearest chair lift. But the better option is to take the free ski shuttle bus that stops right outside the hotel every 15 minutes. Similarly, returning from the pistes in the afternoon was equally simple. There's a heated ski room for storing skis and boots, and that makes all the difference when heading out in the morning.

Part of our room booking included a 30 minute massage for me and my wife, and then an hour's scented bath for the two of us together. I'm not normally a big massage fan, but seeing as it was included I went for it. Actually, it was pretty good! Neck, shoulders and back. And then afterwards into the jacuzzi bath with my wife. The finishing touch was the masseur returning ten minutes later to hand us a glass of fizzy each. We'll certainly not forget that for a while.

I was impressed by this hotel and have recommended it to my friends. The Toggenburg ski area is good fun, and far less crowded than Flumserberg. I will definitely stay in the Hirschen again, perhaps even this summer for a weekend of mountain walking.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcnally64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildhaus
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#3 of 7 in Wildhaus
47 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Stump's Alpenrose
Hotel Stump's Alpenrose
#2 of 7 in Wildhaus
82 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Saentis
Hotel Saentis
#2 of 3 in Unterwasser
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Sternen Unterwasser
Hotel Sternen Unterwasser
#1 of 3 in Unterwasser
56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Toggenburg
Hotel Toggenburg
#4 of 7 in Wildhaus
18 reviews
9.1 mi away
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
#1 of 5 in Vaduz
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hirschen

Property: Hotel Hirschen
Address: Passhohe, Wildhaus 9658, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of St. Gallen > Wildhaus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Wildhaus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hirschen 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional establishment with a modern interior, it has 63 comfortable rooms, 5 light-flooded function rooms, a bar and rustic-style restaurant. A lounge with two bowling alleys, pool table and Smoker Corner are also part of the offering. Plus there is a small Wellness-Attika with whirlpool, sauna and steam bath where guests can relax after working out in the fitness centre. The park behind the hotel is full of love. The perfect place for seminar, conference, banquets, parties etc. for up 130 peoples. Restaurant "Dorfstube" serving market fresh meals, garden patic and terrace, free parking and 3 garages and even W-Lan in the Hotel available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing