We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Location”
Review of Hotel Hirschen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hirschen
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Wildhaus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed in The Hirschen Hotel with Friends for a short ski holiday in February 2013. Hotel was very nice, some rooms a bit dated but very comfortable. Quite quiet when we were there which was a bonus !

Kids loved the bowling alley and swimming pool and staff very friendly and helpful (even with four kids running around !). Hotel restaurant was nice, food good but service quite slow (but not a problem as very relaxing atmosphere). Great location with free bus collection outside hotel to ski lift only 2 minutes.

Wildhaus is small and very pretty but skiing is excellent and extensive for all levels as multiple lifts and cable cars go to two nearby villages. Facilities very, very good and we will be returning.

Only downside is how expensive everything is but this goes with the territory when skiing ! However, Wildhaus and the Toggenburg area is worth the money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SirRalph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HirschenWildhaus, Inhaber at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear guests, we were very pleased to receive your assessment and thank you for choosing our hotel. We are looking forward to hearing from you. Yours sincerely Simone Walt, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 242 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Hotel has fantastic atmosphere with nice panorama to the mountains. The room is clean, well equipped and very comfortable. The team is well educated and good organized. Spa is clever done, very efficient and with high quality. We really enjoy to stay in this hotel and would recommend it to our friends and anther people.

Room Tip: 224 is my favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HirschenWildhaus, Owner at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Dear guests, we were very pleased to receive your assessment and thank you for choosing our hotel. We are looking forward to hearing from you. Yours sincerely Simone Walt, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We were with a large group of friends staying in Wildhaus over New Year and early January at Hotel Hirschen. The hotel is ideal for this type of group. There is a great indoor pool once you have had enough of the slopes and the relaxed atmosphere makes it ideal for kids.
I was taken ill and the owner of the hotel drove me to the doctor's and came back to get me- now thats service!
The meal on New Year's Eve was unbelievable although the entertainment was interesting and made you feel as though you were in a time warp.
My only criticism would be the speed of service. It is all young kids who haven't been trained and so service is not great. They are pleasant and you don't want to criticise but this area needs to improve. Rooms are clean and great to have free internet.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are great but can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mewett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HirschenWildhaus, Owner at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Dear guests, we were very pleased to receive your assessment and thank you for choosing our hotel. We are looking forward to hearing from you. Yours sincerely Simone Walt, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

A very classic Alpine hotel, with a new addition. The new addition has the spa and some excellently fitted out rooms. The classic part has the bars, restaurants, and ... bowling alley. Service is excellent and the food very good, everything from classic mountain Swiss cuisine, to modern interpretive cuisine.

I guess the best way to highlight our opinion, is that we have booked again for next year.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PraisDeLord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for three nights as a base for skiing and snow shoe walking in the Toggenburg area. We didn't know what to expect from the hotel, but were really pleased with our choice.

First of all, it's a lot bigger than I was expecting. It's got four storeys, and the large reception area tells you this isn't a run of the mill small-town hotel. Our room was what I can only describe as huge! I'd guess the distance from the one wall to the end of the en-suite bathroom to be perhaps 15m or so. So obviously there was no shortage of space, and penty of wardrobes and drawers for our clothes. In the bathroom there was a wide, deep bath. I can personally confirm it's big enough for two!

Breakfasts were the usual high-quality Swiss kind. Bechermuesli, cheeses, various breads, dried meats, that type of thing. Personally, I love it. Using the excuse of the hard day on the mountains to come, I always made the most of what was on offer.

A touch I really liked was that the same table had a nicely printed name card for us throughout our stay - both for breakfast and dinner. This meant we could head straight there each time and not have to hang around to be seated. Evening meals were four courses each time. We'd booked in for the halbpension deal, so took their recommendation each night. And pretty good it was too! If I'd ordered the same from the menu I'd have been really satisfied. The desserts deserve special mention, not just for the taste, but for the very sophisticated presentation. The dining room ambience was natural and relaxing; lots of wood, dark colours and an open fire in the evenings.

Ski facilities were fine. The hotel's about a 10-20 minute walk from the nearest chair lift. But the better option is to take the free ski shuttle bus that stops right outside the hotel every 15 minutes. Similarly, returning from the pistes in the afternoon was equally simple. There's a heated ski room for storing skis and boots, and that makes all the difference when heading out in the morning.

Part of our room booking included a 30 minute massage for me and my wife, and then an hour's scented bath for the two of us together. I'm not normally a big massage fan, but seeing as it was included I went for it. Actually, it was pretty good! Neck, shoulders and back. And then afterwards into the jacuzzi bath with my wife. The finishing touch was the masseur returning ten minutes later to hand us a glass of fizzy each. We'll certainly not forget that for a while.

I was impressed by this hotel and have recommended it to my friends. The Toggenburg ski area is good fun, and far less crowded than Flumserberg. I will definitely stay in the Hirschen again, perhaps even this summer for a weekend of mountain walking.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcnally64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2009

Basic hotel but pretty tidy overall and with nice Swiss ambiance. The refurbished rooms in the detached building were modern, open plan bathroom (!) and with firm beds.

Supermarket is next door. Small club/bar The Bank 500mtrs away and apres ski is minimal with an umbrella bar at the bottom of the slopes.

Slopes are a 5 minute walk away. It's a nice smaller ski area with various runs, some through the trees and a snowpark with some kickers and sliders. The connection to next area has some long flat runs bit is still manageable in good conditions. Perfect for a 3 day break for instance.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2008_Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HirschenWildhaus, Owner at Hotel Hirschen, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear guests, we were very pleased to receive your assessment and thank you for choosing our hotel. We are looking forward to hearing from you. Yours sincerely Simone Walt, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer mit Balkon sind bieten einen schönen Blick auf die Churfirsten. Wenn's finanziell möglich...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franziska H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildhaus
1.3 mi away
Hotel Stump's Alpenrose
Hotel Stump's Alpenrose
#2 of 7 in Wildhaus
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#3 of 7 in Wildhaus
68 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Toggenburg
Hotel Toggenburg
#4 of 7 in Wildhaus
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Sternen Unterwasser
Hotel Sternen Unterwasser
#1 of 3 in Unterwasser
61 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Saentis
Hotel Saentis
#2 of 3 in Unterwasser
44 reviews
9.1 mi away
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
Parkhotel Sonnenhof
#1 of 5 in Vaduz
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hirschen

Address: Passhohe, Wildhaus 9658, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of St. Gallen > Wildhaus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Wildhaus
Price Range: $165 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hirschen 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional establishment with a modern interior, it has 63 comfortable rooms, 5 light-flooded function rooms, a bar and rustic-style restaurant. A lounge with two bowling alleys, pool table and Smoker Corner are also part of the offering. Plus there is a small Wellness-Attika with whirlpool, sauna and steam bath where guests can relax after working out in the fitness centre. The park behind the hotel is full of love. The perfect place for seminar, conference, banquets, parties etc. for up 130 peoples. Restaurant "Dorfstube" serving market fresh meals, garden patic and terrace, free parking and 3 garages and even W-Lan in the Hotel available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing