We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice getaway hotel with nice spa area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Stump's Alpenrose
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Wildhaus
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice getaway hotel with nice spa area”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Gotta give the hotel full points for their 'berghüttesauna' or how ever it was called. I have to say I did enjoy the spa area. Dinner was nice. Hotel has a lot to offer, it's just a pity they do not tell you all the details and what you can get. You really need to know what to ask to get a change to enjoy the whole experience. If you make a reservation for dinner, there will be a table reserved for you for the whole evening, doesn't matter what time you go for dinner.
If you like skiing or snow shoe hiking, it's a great place.
As a personal note, the room was super hot and the blanket was really think. Have to say I didn't really get a good night sleep there. A/C was missing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PasiGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    28
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
26
31
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Level Contributor
104 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We spent a long weekend for some skiing at Stump's Alpenrose, which is located ca. 10 min by car up the hill from WIldhaus or Unterwasser. The location is really excellen, in the morning you just jump into your ski bindings and are off to the slope! The hotel staff was very friendly and we felt very well as a family. They have conference facilities for business meetings, as well as a large wellness area (4 different saunas, hot tubs, etc.). The cuisine is very good, we really ate well.

On the drive up we actually had some problems with the car, which ran out of batteries while we mounted the snow chains. We called the hotel for help, and the owner drove down personally to give us a jump!

Room Tip: There are family rooms with an upstairs kid's room (very cozy) that can be reached via a small s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renato Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel is beautifully located, with a wonderful view on the surrounding mountains. Spectacular, hiking trails start just behind the hotel. The rooms are functional and very clean. No luxury, but everything you need. Excellent breakfast, very friendly staff, free wifi and a nice spa. Try also the typical restaurant Gade (means barn) 200m down the road.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turtlezurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

The dishes are fresh and tasty, prepared with local ingrediences. The service is professional and yet warm and with a personal touch.
In the basement children find a huge play room.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staunender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wildhaus
1.3 mi away
Hotel Hirschen
Hotel Hirschen
#1 of 7 in Wildhaus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#3 of 7 in Wildhaus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Toggenburg
Hotel Toggenburg
#4 of 7 in Wildhaus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sternen Unterwasser
Hotel Sternen Unterwasser
#1 of 3 in Unterwasser
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Saentis
Hotel Saentis
#2 of 3 in Unterwasser
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gasthaus zum Schafli
Gasthaus zum Schafli
#1 of 1 in Alt St. Johann
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stump's Alpenrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stump's Alpenrose

Property: Hotel Stump's Alpenrose
Address: Vordere Schwendistrasse 64 | Wildhaus, Wildhaus 9658, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of St. Gallen > Wildhaus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Wildhaus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stump's Alpenrose 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The early hikers and mountaineers more than 100 years ago were impressed. And they were tired too. Already then they could get a drink in 1912, when the "Wirschaft zur Apenrose" opened the doors. Only a few years later it turned into the "Gasthaus zur Alpenrose" offering lodging in only a few guestrooms. In the meantime Stump's Alpenrose has become one of the leading conference Hotel in Eastern Switzerland. Many things grew bigger and got more modern. But one fact has not changed since the beginning: the unique location and the warm and heartful hospitality. Total of 50 rooms. Single-, double-, three bedded- and four bedded rooms. Special Family rooms. Restaurant seating 250 People seperately in cosy and charming rooms. 6 banquet rooms and Seminar as well as conference facilities for up to 200 People. A sundeck with 150 places sheltered from the sun and the wind. The wellness parlour on 400 square meters with fitness, 2 saunas, whirlpools, salt-steam-bath, herbal steam-bath, solarium, kneipp-bath, infra-red-cabine, massages and Treatments as well as the colour-water-sound-bed. All rounded up with a beautiful garden, a small stream and bushes giving room to rest up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Hotel Stump's Alpenrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing