We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service, excellent food”
Review of La Grange

La Grange
Price range: $25 - $88
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Family owned and family run in the heart of the Village. The italian restaurant in the heart of the village. Menu changes every 3 weeks, we offer Lunch and Dinner every day closed on Sunday evenings and all day Monday (bank holidays and school holidays open 7 days a week). Can host up to 30 clients inside and in Summer we offer a generous terrace / garden with similar capacity. Not only a great choice to lunch and dine while vacationing, but thanks to the beautiful train ride from Lausanne and/or Montreaux it is a great destination for a daily trip to the beautiful Les Diablerets Village.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Friendly service, excellent food”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I am spending a good week in Les Diablerets for a conference, and today was the first day. I have been here for the same conference four years ago and eight years ago. It was a nice surprise to discover that there is a new restaurant in "town", so it had to be tried. With 13 points on the Gault & Millaut scale this means that this ought to be a serious restaurant, or what I usually call a professional restaurant, which means a place where they take food seriously. And this certainly is such a place.
The welcome was very nice and the owner speaks excellent English. Well, he actually went to college in the US, so that explains his nice and neutral American accent. He had time to sit down with us and explain his food making philosophy. It felt like being invited to the home of a friend. A very friendly experience.

The amuse-bouche consisted of spinach and tomato with a slice of hard cheese served on a small, crispy piece of baguette.

For starter I had the sea trout (truite saumonée) with raw vegetables. Not only was it fresh as the ocean itself, it was also really plentiful. They call it antipasto, but this is a pretty generous antipasto.

For the main I had a red snapper with various vegetables (see photo). It was incredibly neatly presented. It looked like it had been assembled by the hands of a small child. It came with a delicious safran sauce. I had a powerful wine from Sardinia (Vermentino), a wine that they serve by the glass. 5 CHF for a glass is not bad at all.

My colleague had a spinach salad with tomme cheese from Valle d'Aosta as antipasto and a veal tournedos as a main course. Both very tasty.

All this food, a bottle of water, two glasses of wine and a coffe resulted in bill of 182 CHF. Not the cheapest in town, but you get what you pay for. I think there is no doubt that this is the best restaurant in Les Diablerets and probably well beyond that.

All in all an unforgettable experience and I can recommend this to anyone who wants to experience advanced Italian cuisine, which means: This is not where you go if you think that Italian food = Pizza or spaghetti bolgnonese. And as the owner has commented as a reply to some of the reviews here: This is not a bar, it is not a tea house, it is not a coffee shop. It is a restaurant. I can add: It is a restaurant for people who know how to appreciate the art of good cooking. Bon appétit!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geir-Ole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    7
    3
    3
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth a DETOUR”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Les Diablerets, my favorite alpine village - not for its food! Was not able to visit for the last couple years, and what a pleasant surprise to find this refreshing look, and superb food, never before seen in Diablerets. All perfect, from decor, to food and service, Top. Wherever you are in the area, certainly worth the extra mile to enjoy the experience. Actually you do feel visiting Giovanni at home, not his restaurant. Try the piglet, luckily "forgotten in the oven", or any other dish, all served with love. Good Italian wine list. Yes, it is an Italian ristorante, don't go there for Pizza!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank vigi h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolle, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“High hopes, very disappointing”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

On the + side:
- Owner is dedicated and has high energy. In his heart, he is convinced he is delivering a great experience.
- The nicest setting in Les Diablerets. Luxurious modern style without overdoing it.
- The menu has good variety, it's not your usual mountain fare (e.g. there is Tuna tartare).

The big Ds:
- The long wait.
- The condescending attitude. The owner actually berates his customers, reminding them this is an "Italian Ristorante".
- The food. Examples: Risotto overly al-dente, sliced beef that is chewy, tired vegetables.

The bright spot are the deserts, which were very tasty. Look before you order, however. And don't go for the "selection" (leftovers).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
15 Thank BusinessTravellerM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrangeDiable, Proprietario at La Grange, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
I have noted that the writer is not relevant to trip advisor, anyways anybody is relevant to us. Funny enough that I had told to the couple in question that we were full, and just last minute we had a table reducing covers.... Any restaurant in full capacity is rarely at his best.

Comments on the quality of the food is really out of place .... sometimes I really think some of these nice comments we get are just a result of a bad day or else ... of course, out of 100 dishes a few can come out not perfect, but a polite customer will point out the issue immediately. Commerce always works two ways and it will be nice to finally see some people stand behind their critics.

This is another lesson we have learned about our capacity issues .... just to please unknown clients we will never accept walk-ins when the restaurant is fully booked!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“excellent food and a warm welcome”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This restaurant is a big step up from the usual mountain fare. Interesting and tasty food well presented in a modern setting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“nice and friendly but food is only ok”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Very friendly welcome and nice setting. Probably the nicest place in Les Diablerets.
Setting is very nice specialy the room with fire.Certainly good place for the family.
The owner is welcoming everybody and creates nice atmophere.
May be it is raising too high the expectation for the good quality.
Food is nice but simple . I would expect better pasta from the italian place.
If you are in les Diablrets it is worth to go there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacekksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Grange also viewed

Les Diablerets, Canton of Vaud
Les Diablerets, Canton of Vaud
 
Les Diablerets, Canton of Vaud
Les Diablerets, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to La Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing