We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go with the flow and relax”
Review of Hotel du Pillon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Pillon
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Les Diablerets
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Quite intentionally The hotel feels like a large private house which strongly reflects the eclectic tastes of the owner. When you arrive there is no reception just a large, informal living area busily hung with paintings and stags heads. You share the space with owner the other guests and the art which continues throughout the hotel. Rooms have great views but are quite small an could be more comfortable with the addition of better towels an a little redesigning and tiling in the shower areas. It's not about staying in your room though it's about relaxing in a homely environment and being treated in a more intimate way than a large hotel chain could ever manage. The hotel works mainly because of the excellent Italian chef who for the two nights we were there cooked some of the best food of our holiday. Eating is communal on long tables which works best when everyone's had a drink or two or three, the chat really got going amongst Ozzie cyclists, Brits, French and Dutch. Breakfast however is basic an needs to be presented with more thought and awareness of what guests could want. Cold cuts, croissants, pan au chocolate an boiled eggs would all easy to lay out in advance, as it was the selection of bread, cheese, fruit and cereal seemed too sparse. Equally the service was a bit frustrating and here the owner needs to step in to be a better mentor to his waitress who although friendly struggled a lot at both dinner and breakfast an seemed quite out of her depth. As welcome as it was as a contrast from hotels where you are more processed without the excellent chef Pillon would seem overpriced. I would also suggest changing exhibitions which could bring visitors into the hotel for a lunch service as it is an underused resource during the day with no one about which I'm sure is not what the owner wants. In summary a great stay and a clear passion and dedication from Francis the owner to ensure his guests have a relaxing experience. I hope it continues to do well, thanks.

Room Tip: Request a balcony with a view to the glacier across the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank deepbluepete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 213 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2014

My teenagers were v impressed by the hotel when we arrived at night in the snow. Charming building, beautifully furnished and decorated with slightly shabby chic theme. The owner is an artist and it shows. Commnal areas were comfortable. Good drying facilities. Bedrooms were a good size though i would have welcomed a bath rather than shower. Breakfast and indeed all food was typically local, well prepared and plenty of it.
Note, the drive up to the hotel is not for the faint hearted in snow and ice and a car is really essential as the village is a good walk especially in ski gear.
Great location overall. Very tempted to go back in the summer for the walking and climbing.
Probably better with slightly older children

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryecliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Nobody around on arrival, but a notice in the hall telling us where our room was. No question of being asked for identity, passport or payment. We never felt the need to have a key or lock our room. When we returned from a short walk we met Francis the owner who was quiet, charming and helpful. Everything beautifully decorated, delicious food & friendly service. Perfection....

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank Claretfanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Reading previous reviews for this hotel makes me feel that perhaps the hotel had an off week when we stayed. Here is what we experienced when we stayed at the hotel for 7 nights as a group of 12 (1 couple and 10 males who hadn’t met before):
Positives:
1. Beautifully furnished and decorated hotel with lots of interesting artwork
2. Very scenic area with great skiing
3. Very comfortable and warm bedrooms
4. The woman who waited on the tables at dinner couldn’t do enough for us and the cook catered well for members of the group with special diets.
5. Lots of hearty home cooking, although very plain, basic food.
6. Breakfast had a good selection of cereals, yoghurts and lovely bread. The hotel (reluctantly) agreed to let us eat earlier than the normal 8.30am time. It would have been good to have had cooked options as standard though and it was a pity the owner chose to hide the fresh bread one morning and make us eat the stale bread that had been sliced the night before for the soup.

Negatives:
1. Standard of cleanliness was poor. Our room was not cleaned during the week. Only the bed was made and bins emptied. The sink, shower and toilet were not cleaned. One day we returned from a days skiing to find the soaking wet hand towels we had left at the side of the sink were neatly folded and still soaking and we had 2 sheets of toilet paper left in the toilet. The shared bathroom on the first floor was dirty with no soap or towels to dry your hands.
2. Large shower cubicle and sink in the sleeping area did not suit all of the group especially as most were sharing rooms with strangers
3. All the beds were made up as doubles which was a bit of a shock to the rest of the group when they arrived. However this was sorted out that evening.
4. After returning cold, tired and wet from a day skiing in an area an hours drive away, with another hour spent by some of the group trying to get the minibus up the steep slope, the owner refused to light the fire in the cold dining area. When a member of the group lit it, the owner said if the smoke alarms went off and the fire engines came we would have to pay the 800 franc charge.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dicassidy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbpillon, Propriétaire at Hotel du Pillon, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thanks for the compliments on the positive side, which are usually shared by the majority of our guests, who realize that we offer much more than required by an average 3 star hotel in terms of deco, ambiance, cosy rooms, etc ..
Your comments on TripAdvisor being extremely long, I shall have to answer the same way. Sorry for the readers !
Concerning the negative points/
1. Reg your remarks on the room, I asked our chamber maid (specially recruited for your stay, and the season) she was not well informed on long term stays. She was supposed to change the sheets every 3 days.
This us the rule. We would have appreciated your informing us. it would have facilitated the situation for everyone, and avoided your bad feelings.
The maid told me she changed the wet towels each time. Maybe she missed one change ..
You also mention the separate toilets on the first floor. These are private and strictly reserved for the personnel. Clients have their own in their rooms, and are not entitled to use these.
So this remark is not receivable.

2 - Your comment on the open shower in the room.
Clients who are not a couple or good friends, usually decide for a single room, not sharing with a stranger.
If this was a decision made by the group, it is not our responsability.

3 - When the group arrived, the twin beds were made up as they are all year round.
I myself took the trouble and time to separate the beds the very same evening, for those who required it. Another hotel manager, would have waited for the next day to have it fixed by the chamber maid.

4 - Reg the stove in the reception hall. Usually our guests, when they return from a skiing day, go straight up to their rooms to change, and come down later, for a drink. This is why we start the fire in the stove around 6.30 pm.
Clients are not entitled to touch the stove, without permission, which you took the liberty to do.
If not properly lit, such stoves provoke smoke, which starts the fire alarm. With a touch of humour, I made this remark, as the fire brigade is very quick to be on the spoo. Which is very costly each time.
It seems to be rather obvious that a fire in stove should not be started by a client. it is so easy to ask the personnel for help.

Now that I have answered the negative points, I must say I am rather surprised of your remarks reg the singles who shared a room. You were there as a couple, and were not concerned.
Also, after having checked with the cook and the chamber maid, they both were rather shocked by your comments, as they went of their way to please you all, and dealing with everyone's allergy problems.
They also provided you all with many free desserts which were not included in the contract.

Every evening, a number of bottles, glasses, cups, disappeared in the rooms and were not returned the next day as promised.

Also, although we are RELAIS DU SILENCE, we never made the slightest remark on the very noisy behaviour of the group, at dinner.
Only once, did we ask the group to leave the billiard room at 10.30 pm, as the guests int the room below complained of the noise.

Having read your comments, I personally think it would be far more positive to find a balance between the good and not so good aspects regarding your stay here . Indeed, what should prevail is your overall impression which I thought was positive, and was felt so on our side. However, we will be happy to straighten up all the glitches that you’ve mentioned when you come another time. But please, let us know about anything that goes wrong during your stay, we would rather receive your comments and suggestions directly and not on the Internet once you have left.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Hotel du Pillon is without any doubt a gem. A french art merchant decided to buy the hotel in 2007 and he succeeded, at least almost.

The location is perfect, in front of the Alpes Vaudoises, although not exactly in front of the Glacier des Diablerets. Atmosphere is cosy or homely and rooms are nice and comfortable. Everything is clean and up to standard. The hotel is some 600 meters from the village, Ormont-dessus, which can be reached in 15 minutes on foot. Meals are tasty and well prepared, as is the breakfast on offer.

If you choose an offer, or an all inclusive deal, you should keep up with the managements tendency to forget some elements of the deal, though invoicing the total, despite some elements of the deal were forgotten or by-passed in silence

The management is nice, however, helpful and full of enthusiasm. Go for it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChristianC224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We just spent the weekend in this delightful hotel after I received a wonderbox giftbox weekend for 2 nights. The hotel is original and quirky and the owner is super friendly and helpful and spoke to us in English, French and Spanish within 5 minutes ! The breakfast is excellent with yoghurt from the local dairy and my husband enjoyed toasting the delicious bread.
The cheese fondue was the best we'd tasted in a long time and the owner kindly made me potatoes for the fondue as a gluten allergy prevents me eating bread.
Would definitely recomment this hotel for summer and skiing in winter.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louiseannehunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Simple place, but has it all! All you need to feel at home, friendly owner, all basic but comfortable, clean, and good location, especially the neighbors cows, perfect setup. Yes, very good experience, will be back.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank vigi h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Diablerets
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Chamois
Hotel Le Chamois
#3 of 4 in Les Diablerets
99 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eurotel Victoria
Eurotel Victoria
#2 of 4 in Les Diablerets
141 reviews
5.9 mi away
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
#3 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Les Sources
Hotel Les Sources
#4 of 4 in Les Diablerets
49 reviews
5.8 mi away
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
673 reviews
5.7 mi away
Eurotel Victoria
Eurotel Victoria
#6 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Pillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Pillon

Address: Bovets, chemin des 16, Les Diablerets 1865, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Les Diablerets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Les Diablerets
Price Range: $160 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Pillon 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss Historic Hotel, small charming hotel with 12 rooms located outside the village in the countryside, renovated in 2010. Classified catalog of the most beautiful hotels in Switzerland by Swiss Heritage for its 1900 architecture and interior decoration. Unlike the standard large hotels you will find here the feeling of being at home. The perfect location of the hotel facing the Glacier 3000; from its large terrace or from the balconies of the rooms you can admire the outstanding view on the snowy peaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Pillon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Pillon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing