We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A charming hotel with great food in a picturesque setting..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Pillon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel du Pillon
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Les Diablerets
Certificate of Excellence
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A charming hotel with great food in a picturesque setting..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

We booked this boutique hotel as part of a self created hills and lakes summer holiday in Switzerland (second part was on Lake Lucerne).This pretty hillside hotel proved to be a great Trip Advisor find.

We were nervous about selecting a B&B style hotel which was a different experience for us, but we had a tremendous holiday. Francis and his team provided a relaxed but available when required service. The rooms are quite small but adequate with a good powerful shower. The rooms to the front of the hotel are the best as the view from the balconies of the mountains is stunning.

One of our favourite things from this hotel was the food. You basically eat whatever Francis and his staff are eating. Whilst this may sound restrictive we found the food to be absolutely beautiful. We complimented Francis a few times on his cooking and he said that whilst he had never been trained as a chef he had always really enjoyed cooking and tried hard to always improve. His culinery talents make the evening meals here a real delight. Breakfast is a self service buffet style with plenty of choice and that was good too.

The location of the hotel is fairly secluded, you.are basically at the end of a rickety mountain train line. We purchased Swiss Passes before leaving the UK, and these proved to be great value for money over the fortnight and the local mountain trains to Les Diablerets are included. Having unlimited train travel is a bonus in this area of Switzerland, as there is so much to see.

We managed a few excursions whilst based at Hotel Du Pillon, the Montreux Jazz Festival was on during our stay and whilst jazz music is not our favourite we thought that Montreux was absolutely fantastic and a terrific city to visit. We also ventured up Glacier 5000 and went to the town of Vevey.

Overall, this was our first venture into a small B&B style establishment and it certainly won't be our last. We thought this hotel was superb.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavialinae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    45
    14
    11
    2
See reviews for
34
97
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

I have known this Hotel since before it was renovated by the current owner. Back then it was a sad , almost derelict building but in such a beautiful spot is was crying out for someone to bring it back to life. The current owner and his wife (refugees from the "big city life of Paris") took on the ground up renovation and have done an amazing job. They have recreated the famous, late 19th century, Swiss "Bell Epoque" style, very prevalent on the nearby Swiss Rivera, to be found in such towns as Montreux and so typified by the style of the famous lake steam driven paddle steamers. The public rooms are filled with beautiful furniture, pictures, a grand piano and artefacts from this elegant, genteel era.

The bedrooms have all been individually styled, I know as I was shown several to choose from, each decorated and furnished in typical Swiss alpine style, lots of edelweiss, cow and heart prints on the curtains and bed throws. The bathrooms are beautiful, powerful showers, huge fluffy towels, perfect.

The service is typically Swiss, friendly, understated, but very helpful. Start chatting and you will find out everything you ever wanted to know about the region.

Typical of the attention to detail is that if you order a beer in the nearby village you will get...well a beer, order one here and it comes complete with an elegant bowl of Japanese rice crackers, small touch but typical of the care the owners take.

If it's a warm evening go sit on the deck with a glass of local wine and if you are lucky you will be able to watch the nearby mountains turn from brilliant white to a wonderful pink as the sun sets. Deep breath, you are paradise.

Perfect, go stay and I'll bet you go back time after time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

We would reiterate all of the glowing comments about Hotel du Pillon: its beautiful decor; relaxing and homely atmosphere; warm and genuine staff; great food and stunning views. Francis welcomes you into this late 19 century chalet hotel with a skilful mix of friendliness and respect that gives you space to enjoy your holiday as you choose whilst feeling very well taken care of. He is the perfect host and the hotel is charming and unique. When our daughter broke her leg on the slopes of Les Diablerets, Francis quite literally came to our rescue and made our extended stay a absolute pleasure. Nothing was too much trouble and what could have been a disaster, turned into a heart-warming experience. We can't wait to return (once the plaster's off)!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful (we moved around a bit during our extended stay). Comfortable, stylish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheKPUTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed in the Hotel du Pillon for 3 days over Christmas, including Christmas day. I also proposed to my girlfriend there. In these circumstances, you would hope for a very special hotel indeed. It did not disappoint. The hotel instantly felt like home (or how you would like your home to be) from the very first day. It is beautifully decorated with original artworks and wonderful individual touches. The view of the town nestling in the mountains from our balcony was magical, particularly under crisp snow and azure blue skies. The food was excellent. Best of all were the amiable and helpful staff, but I need to single out the owner Francis for special praise. He went out of his way to ensure that our stay was as memorable as possible. He was more than just a hotelier - he was our guide, photographer, chauffeur and raconteur. All done in a discreet, charming and good humoured manner. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: Room no 11 has a wonderful view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

We spent two nights au Relais du Silence.
Had breakfast in the sun, a nice kitchen at our disposition as well as an excellent service.
Un hotel de charme with a nice view on les diablerets. The owner is a charming and funny guy and very interesting to talk to. each room shows a different 'swiss style'. We felt at home and will come back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PirusPella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

We went there for a "knitting week-end" and booked 8 of the 12 rooms so we had most of the hotel for us.

Everything was great from the location (beautiful view, quiet place, walking distance from Les Diablerets), to the food (great cook, good quantities, good prices and very good food) or the rooms (lovely decoration, great beds, clean, shower and toilets in the rooms, nice balconies, spacious, ...). The place is just lovely and well decorated. It's typically swiss without being tacky or overdone.

The hotel provided free parking spaces for all our 5 cars (we were 12), free wifi, a cozy living room where we spent the rainy Saturday and our evenings, the owner was welcoming, the helping lady was nice and the cook talented and very patient and helpful.

We'd love to go back and probably will do asap !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elanor5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Tour-de-Peilz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

We regret to spend one night only, we would have stayed longer but couldn't. The hotel is perfectly located with a amazing view to the mountain. It is perfectly maintained, very clean and decorated with taste. The room was very comfortable with a balcony and all needed amenities. We had diner and lunch, both prepared with local, natural and tasty ingredients. Staff was very friendly. We will return one day for a longer stay, for sure

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alainm713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Diablerets
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Chamois
Hotel Le Chamois
#3 of 4 in Les Diablerets
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eurotel Victoria
Eurotel Victoria
#2 of 4 in Les Diablerets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
5.9 mi away
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
#3 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Les Sources
Hotel Les Sources
#4 of 4 in Les Diablerets
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Pillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Pillon

Property: Hotel du Pillon
Address: Bovets, chemin des 16, Les Diablerets 1865, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Les Diablerets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Les Diablerets
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Pillon 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss Historic Hotel, small charming hotel with 12 rooms located outside the village in the countryside, renovated in 2010. Classified catalog of the most beautiful hotels in Switzerland by Swiss Heritage for its 1900 architecture and interior decoration. Unlike the standard large hotels you will find here the feeling of being at home. The perfect location of the hotel facing the Glacier 3000; from its large terrace or from the balconies of the rooms you can admire the outstanding view on the snowy peaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Pillon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Pillon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing