We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located on the lake”
Review of Hotel Hirschen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Hirschen
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rapperswil
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We spent one night at the Hotel Hirschen as a stopover while driving across Switzerland. The hotel is ideally located and suitable for that purpose. It is right on the Fischmarktplatz which has quite a number of nice restaurants and bars. Our room was quite large and decorated in keeping with the age of the building. The bell in the nearby church does ring every fifteen minutes all day and all night which can be a bit annoying. Breakfast was basic but more than satisfactory. Parking is available in the nearby underground car park. The hotel has several dedicated bays in the secure area which need to be booked in advance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian and Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 45 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

For people like me that hate staying at airport hotels we are always looking for an alternative for a last night stay. Well the Hirschen hit the bill. It has nice clean, comfortable rooms with a nice view of the lake and the dockside. It's above a McDonalds of all places, but you really not aware of the fast food place once you enter the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avidhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

When I visit any hotel, my immediate expectation is that it will be average. So it takes something a little special for me to give an above average review or something bad, for a below average one. The Hotel Hirschen didn't really have anything of either.. nothing really good, nor nothing really bad. It was perfectly average. Which did come as a little surprise considering how highly it has rated in some reviews?

The hotel is situated right in the heart of the old town of Rapperswil, in very close proximity (but not on) the lake and just across the road from the train station. What a lot of the pictures of the hotel don't show you, is that the hotel is actually the top 2 (3?) floors of a building, above a McDonalds restaurant, which takes up the first two floors. This can lead to a bit of noise outside - but not too much.

Check in was easy, but not terribly friendly. I was never made to feel very welcome. The staff (only ever saw the manager/owner) was always polite, but never very welcoming. Our room was on the 3rd floor, with a "lake view" - which you could see if you crane your neck looking left and managed to see through the trees/boats.

But it was a nice room. Bright, clean and airy (no air conditioning). The double bed was actually two singles pushed together, with two separate duvets, which seems a very continental thing? It's quite quaint and not at all modern, expect for the presence of a flat screen TV (which had all the BBC/ITV/C4 channels - a HUGE plus). WiFi was free, but VERY slow at times with intermittent reception.

The bathroom was visually clean, but did smell of cigarette smoke at times. We eventually figured out that it was coming in trough the vent and indeed from the corridor, so at night we actually blocked under both doors with towels, to block out the smell. The main negative point on the bathroom was the lighting - just two overhead spots, which made it very difficult to shave.

On the first morning, I had a peek into the breakfast room and decided to skip breakfast, so didn't eat there at all, but my wife had breakfast on the final morning and said it was very good. The hotel itself doesn't have a restaurant or bar, which does mean you have to eat out every night - a major negative for me, especially as I usually travel alone.

The price was expensive, as is everything in Switzerland. I have stayed in FAR superior hotels for FAR less money. But all in all it was a perfectly fine stay. A few negative niggles, but nothing serious. On the flip side, there's nothing about the hotel that would make me recommend it to others.

As I said at the start... it was perfectly average.

Room Tip: Do ask for a room overlooking the square. It's not quite a lake view, but it has a much better v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ciaranwhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Lovely warm hosts and a wonderful room. Quiet and centrally located near the restaurants and walking bridge. Park directly behind the hotel to drop bags and check in.... Reception on the second floor. Our room #43 had a raised roof with exposed beams and was very comfortable with a sitting area, good bed with curtains and a view towards the lake. Nice simple breakfast! We slept with the windows open and only heard the sweet fountain splashing in the fischmarkplatz!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fishnflyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have stayed at Hotel Hirschen a few times when on business trips . We normally take the train when we are in the Zürich area and the location of the hotel is excellent; a minute or so away from the railway station.

The rooms and the comfort is excellent; I have stayed in a handful of different rooms and they have all been different but very comfortable.

Internet connection is provided free of charge and it works excellently.

There are a large number of good restaurants around the corner by the sea; of these I would especially recommend La Scala.

If I went to the area for pleasure I would stay at Hirschen as well.

Room Tip: I would beleive all rooms are good; so far I have not had a bad experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henric I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We booked this hotel through a local friend and were glad we did. The location, just across the street from the train station, is terrific. It's also located in the center of the Rapperswil 'Old Town', one of the most delightful settings we encountered on our trip through Switzerland. The area is dotted with quality restaurants and high-end shopping. And there's the lovely promenades on the lake front just across from the hotel. So, location is tops. The interior space is warm and homey. One feels as though you are spending the weekend as a guest in a home rather than a hotel. We got lucky. The hotel is usually booked up. It's a favorite with the business travelers. But the weekend we were there, we had our choice of rooms. One room we toured had 500-year old beams in the ceilings. We finally chose a room with a view of the lake front and the small plaza in front of the hotel. The room was comfortably large, the bathroom was likewise full-sized and even had two sinks. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. The only negative factor was the McDonald's Restaurant on the ground floor. Late one night, I heard what sounded like people working there restocking the restaurant or something, so there was that minor disturbance. Breakfast was very good and we'd like to thank the gracious owner and her son for opening up a bit early on our last morning in Rapperswil so that we could get an early (before 7 am) breakfast as we were on our way to airport. Rapperswil is a charming destination. If you go, you must stay at Hotel Hirschen. It's the best value in town.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bangkokcassidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Another stop for us was the lovely Hotel Hirschen, stunning location next to the beautiful lake, we had great dinner, lovely wine, excellent breakfast. I must say by far the best breakfast I have ever had, on the negative the size of the room was small, the church bells a bit over the top as they go quite regularly. Definitely recommended lovely place to stay !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapperswil
0.0 mi away
Sorell Hotel Speer
Sorell Hotel Speer
#1 of 3 in Rapperswil
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jakob
Hotel Jakob
#2 of 3 in Rapperswil
28 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Rossli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hirschen

Address: Fischmarktplatz 7, Rapperswil 8640, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of St. Gallen > Rapperswil
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Rapperswil
Price Range: $204 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hirschen 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hirschen is located in the Center of Rapperswil at the Fschmarktplatz, next to the harbor, the train station, shopping facilties, places to go, Restaurants and bars and has a view on the lake of Zürich. You may reach Zürich, St. Gallen and Lucern easily by train and Zürich also by ship. Enjoy your stay in the oldest still run hotel in Rapperswil (since 1640) and in this building (as you see it) dating from 1511. The inside of the Hotel is completely refourbished. On the 4th floor you will sleep under a roof of 1511 and historic beams. We will be happy to welcome you to a truly family run hotel. Best regardsAndreas und Barbara Schnyder ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hirschen Hotel Rapperswil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing