We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food, Convenient Location”
Review of De Medici

De Medici
Ranked #26 of 65 Restaurants in Rapperswil
Price range: $15 - $44
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed September 2, 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner at this small, family run restaurant.
The owners and the entire staff are super friendly and welcoming.

The location, on a pedestrian-only street is just around the corner from the lake front, so it's an easy walk from both the train station as well as the ship landing where the lake steamers dock.

On our visit they offered a special wild game menu with wine pairing. The wine importer (Italian, as where the wines) was very informative and in no way intrusive.
The menu was creative and seasonal.

We hope to return to dine here when we visit the area again.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank fredg1760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 70 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2017 via mobile

We sat downstairs in the new wine bar. The service was attentive and friendly. We choose the menu with the wine pairing and Marcello was charming and informative. He really knows his wines! The food was top quality and the portions were generous, perhaps too generous. We highly recommend this place.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank twoslackerboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2017 via mobile

A small but nice restaurant at the lake Harper of Rapperswil
Pizza out of a real wooden fired oven which is in the midd of the restaurant that you see and watch how the pizzas are made
The meat dishes are very nice and the staff very friendly
The prices are normal for the location

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank 929holgerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2016

Not full of tourists, this place with friendly service serves pizza and other Italian dishes in an Italian-style restaurant. Don't expect views - but quieter than other places in Rapperswil.

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank WizOzMoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2016

It was a hot sunny afternoon in Rapperswil. The tourists were out in force (including us) and for lunch were mostly lining the overpriced bars and restaurants along Bühler-Alle for outdoor views of the quayside and the lake but were in actual sweating uncomfortably from the heat despite being under large umbrella shades. We didn’t fancy sweltering away like that so we explored a little bit into town and stumbled across this promising looking Italian restaurant. Here the prices are more affordable and best of all their outdoor tables line a small pedestrianized side street that is properly shaded and hence was nicely cool. What about the food itself? It is standard Italian fare that isn’t anything special but certainly isn’t bad. I can’t remember if we had starters. For the mains I opted for the gorgonzola pasta which in actual fact turned out be a rather plain macaroni cheese pasta. The service was good with the menu explained in English although actually paying for the meal took longer than it should have. This strikes me as a place to visit for a cheaper lunchtime option compared to the more obvious restaurants that line the waterfront but overall it’s more functional than anything special.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andeel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Medici also viewed

Rapperswil, Canton of St. Gallen
Rapperswil, Canton of St. Gallen
 
Jona, Canton of St. Gallen
Rapperswil, Canton of St. Gallen
 
Rapperswil, Canton of St. Gallen
Rapperswil, Canton of St. Gallen
 

Been to De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing