We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value for Geneva” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ibis budget Geneva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ibis budget Geneva
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cointrin
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Value for Geneva”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

Close to airport and tram line into the city center. Staff were knowledgeable and helpful.
There is a shuttle from the airport to the hotel. When we arrived at the airport the driver did not speak English. We managed to figure out that the shuttle wasn't free but not how much it cost. Once we arrived at the Hotel we later found out that the was supposed to be free.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newly9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    419
    230
    61
    37
See reviews for
158
211
155
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2010

Small, dorm style rooms are clean. Breakfast/dining quite good and dinner not too pricey. We walked there with backbacks initially from the train station (about 2.6km mostly uphill!), best to take bus 9 or 10 from the station though. It cost us 131 franks a night which compared to the UK is horrendous but in geneva is about the best you will get.

Another big, big tip - try to get either room number 137, 237, 337 or 437. These are corner rooms with 4 windows, separate bathroom and are much larger than standard for the same price.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natlubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2010

The hotel rooms are not luxury accomodations, but they are clean and simple.
I had a triple room though I was staying alone, so the room was fairly spacious. The shower is built in and has very good water pressure and plenty of room. There is a small TV, but most of the channels are in French anyhow. Bed wasn't overwhelmingly comfortable but I'm not terribly picky.
Location is quite good, as it is right across from Baxalert, a mall, and is right on the bus line 10, which operates between the airport and city center/main station.
Overall, a good place to stay but be aware it's sparse.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsbeall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

This was the ONLY room left in town at the time of the Geneva Motor show so we took it. It's very close to the airport and approx 10-15 min on the bus to the City. The bus pass is complementary and we used it loads. The room we had was tiny but functional, if a little garishly furnished. There is hardly enough room to get unpacked which is annoying + there's not enough coat hangers even for the tiny rail. The hotel is opposite a shopping mall which was a bonus. The reception staff were a little off-ish but not the worst I've come across. Continental buffet breakfast was half decent and we did have a meal there on the 1st night which was average. I think it's geared towards 1 night stays prior to travelling & any longer than this means the concept stops working..

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ILTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2010

I had a 2 nights stay with mom and sister. We didnt expect much after reading the reviews for the hotel. We were pleasantly surprised with our room as it was spacious, probably because we got a corner room. The room was also clean. Please note that the room is very basic, we were only provided with one bath towel each and a couple of soap bars. One thing that we wished the hotel provided was a water kettle/ heater so we could make our own coffee (we brought our own sachets).

Location wise, it is very near the airport and there is a supermarket across the road. It is not that near to the city centre but Bus No 9 (except on Sunday) and 10 takes you right to the center. I rented a car so there was no problem getting around.

Admittedly, if money was not a concern, I would not stay here again but for the price compared to other hotels in Geneva and Switzerland, a definite value for money.

Overall it was a good and peaceful stay although don't expect much from the reception staff, they were quite curt (maybe because I could not speak Frech).

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asturi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2010

Stayed at this hotel after travelling back from Basel and Bern. We had an early flight to catch so stayed the night before we travelled. The hotel was 5 minutes away from Geneva airport so conveniently located but we wouldn't have wanted to base ourselves there.

The room was clean but very basic.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Fermanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nonthaburi, Thailand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2010

It's nearby the bus stop and have a nice department store called "Balexert" at the front. The rooms are quite small, but nice and convenient. There's nothing to do much there, but the price is very reasonable if you don't need any additional options i.e. spa, fitness club, bar, etc.

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chanatda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cointrin
0.6 mi away
Ibis Geneve Aeroport Hotel
0.6 mi away
Nash Airport Hotel
Nash Airport Hotel
#5 of 6 in Cointrin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Suites Geneve
Novotel Suites Geneve
#2 of 6 in Cointrin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
ibis Geneve Centre Nations
1.5 mi away
NH Geneva Airport
NH Geneva Airport
#2 of 2 in Meyrin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
2.2 mi away
ibis budget Geneve Petit Lancy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis budget Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis budget Geneva

Property: ibis budget Geneva
Address: avenue Louis-Casai 30, Cointrin 1216, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Cointrin
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cointrin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — ibis budget Geneva 1*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis budget Geneve (ex Etap Hotel) is an economy hotel located across from the Balexert shopping centre, a 15-minute walk from the airport. The hotel has 204 comfortable rooms with air-cooling system, free WiFi, pay parking and a restaurant nearby. Enjoy an economical stay on a weekend or during the week in Geneve for two, with the family or in a group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your ibis budget Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Hotel Cointrin
Etap Hotel Geneva
Etap Geneva
Ibis Budget Geneva Canton Of Geneva, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing