We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful & noisy-walls like paper AVOID”
Review of ibis budget Geneva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ibis budget Geneva
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cointrin
GreenLeadersBronze level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Awful & noisy-walls like paper AVOID”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Awful customer service, thin walls & no separate bathroom. Greeted by man on reception who couldn't even find our booking, even though hotel up road (we'd gone to in error) had confirmed we were booked here. Even tried to blame us for the confusion-surely all you need is a last name, how hard can it be! Anyway, was tired from long travel so took keycard & went to room. Walls are thin, like cardboard. Was kept awake by loud banging & shouting from various rooms. Was only 1 night so didn't complain even though banging & shouting started early morning too. Got to reception, waited patiently for receptionist to finish with another customer but too large african men decided they should be seen first, pushed to front of reception & staff said nothing. At this point I lost my temper, left card on side & left. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, ever & certainly will not return & it's a dodgy area-not recommended

Room Tip: there are no good rooms-spend your cash elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nesskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcFISCHER, Directeur général at ibis budget Geneva, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear sir,

Thank you for taking time to give your feedback on your stay in our establishment.

Please let me offer you our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience you encountered. We are very concerned to learn of the difficulties you had while a guest at our hotel. Our goal is to deliver high-quality hospitality to every guest on every stay, starting from your arrival at the hotel until departure. I am truly sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Please rest assured that we are most grateful to you for having taken the time to bring these matters to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    427
    238
    63
    40
See reviews for
161
214
157
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Has the chance to stay here on a visit to Geneva. The rooms are very small, there were no dental kits and they serve a very cold breakfast. On the positive side, the location is perfect. Bang opposite to a mall and close to the airport. Staff members were helpful at large and gave us free tickets for Zone 21. An easy come easy go place. Recommended for one evening though bookings in advance would save cost.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parijat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
162 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Very convenient for the airport, the frequent Number 10 bus in 5 minutes, which can also take you to the city centre. This is a new hotel, part of the Accor group (with a Novotel adjacent, and sharing a restaurant). My room was an adequate size: double bed, reasonably comfortable, with bunk for a child above suitable for kids above 6 and, I guess, below 11 (I was alone). Small shower with good shower pressure in a plastic cubicle - fine. Loo in another plastic cubicle - fine. Very good housekeeping. Efficient front desk. Wifi free and worked well. But this is a budget hotel, so the towels aren't really thick enough, the sheets are a bit rough, breakfast buffet and coffee not good. There's a big mall across the road, Balexert, where you could probably find something better. I wouldn't want to stay here more than a night or two, and certainly wouldn't want to come for a romantic interlude. It caters for business trips, which is why it's much cheaper at weekends CHF 118 vs CHF 143.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian_de_Kilburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegryn, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

OK, so it is clean, but that is the only positive I can find.

Stayed here one night as everywhere else full in Geneva. Room tiny, bathroom and toilet tiny - breakfast ridiculously expensive for what it was. Thankfully I was alone in the room - definitely not room for two in the double.

Only thing non-budget about this place is the price! CHF189 for room only!!

Thankfully found a room in the Swissotel Metropole for my second night....bliss!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueGlorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2014

For the price you pay you feed you should get more. It is truly a budget hotel. You will however get everything you are looking for in a hotel. The rooms are clean, the location is easily reachable. It is a bit far from the city be easily reached by tram 10.

The bathroom and WC are extremely small and the WC door does not close! The basin is small and outside which might mean you splash water everywhere. Also the number of towels provided to us were less. In a double room we had only one towel. No soap in the bathroom.

The wifi worked fine.

The breakfast leaves something to be desired. Not much variety and no hot food options. Also the breads and crossaints seemed supermarket cheap quality. But then I guess you shouldnt expect more from a budget hotel. The price is not cheap though!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Sudhanshu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We stay here for 1 night before our flight back. Hotel location is less than 10 min by bus from Geneva airport. Large shopping mall near by. The room is small with small comfortable double bed and single bunk bed. Compact toilet seperate from shower room. No hanging rail in shower. Not a good shower room if you stay with friend. Overall good for the budget traveller.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cindy_Sineepun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cointrin
0.6 mi away
Ibis Geneve Aeroport Hotel
0.0 mi away
Novotel Suites Geneve
Novotel Suites Geneve
#2 of 6 in Cointrin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nash Airport Hotel
Nash Airport Hotel
#5 of 6 in Cointrin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
ibis Geneve Centre Nations
2.3 mi away
ibis budget Geneve Petit Lancy
1.4 mi away
NH Geneva Airport
NH Geneva Airport
#2 of 2 in Meyrin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis budget Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis budget Geneva

Property: ibis budget Geneva
Address: avenue Louis-Casai 30, Cointrin 1216, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Cointrin
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Cointrin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — ibis budget Geneva 1*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis budget Geneve (ex Etap Hotel) is an economy hotel located across from the Balexert shopping centre, a 15-minute walk from the airport. The hotel has 204 comfortable rooms with air-cooling system, free WiFi, pay parking and a restaurant nearby. Enjoy an economical stay on a weekend or during the week in Geneve for two, with the family or in a group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your ibis budget Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Hotel Cointrin
Etap Hotel Geneva
Etap Geneva
Ibis Budget Geneva Canton Of Geneva, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing