We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine but a step back in time” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Geneva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Geneva
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cointrin
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fine but a step back in time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2007

Went direct from the airport and got the shuttle bus provided free from outside, no problems here.

Hotel is dated, you feel like you've gone back in time to the seventies. Numbers above the door of each room look like something from boogie wonderland. Bar fine, restaurant ok but nothing special.

If you want to iron anything they have a weird system where you have to go down to reception and get a key to a special room, when you go back up you iron your stuff, then take the key back down. Convenient it was not.

Staff were fine, room was clean but dated, shower was fine. Generally a clean and good experience but Geneva has much better to offer.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dated
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LiveLondonWorkParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    330
    142
    62
    50
See reviews for
58
130
57
496
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2007

I had a great experience at the Ramada Park Hotel. We stayed during a weekend, for one night, had a very nice room overlooking the garden with views of the runway of the Airport (but no noise!). The staff was very friendly and efficient, they reserved a great authentic restaurant for us for Dinner and the breakfast buffet did not lack of anything. There is even a nice fitness room on the top floor, but we were too tired from the night before to do exercise. We saw DJ Bobo in the lobby upon our departure, so the weekend included even a Celebrity sighting! There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel that takes you right into the city center, we used it, since parking is hard to find in the city center. Would stay again, had a great time!

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelAdorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2007

I stayed at the Ramada Park Hotel four nights while attending a conference in Geneva. Once you're clear about what to expect (It's an airport hotel, that means, it's NOT close to the center of Geneva), the hotel is actually quite nice, and with the rate I got, I was thoroughly satisfied with the services offered.

I had a nice, average-sized room on the top floor. The room was nice, and reasonably recently renovated, but certainly not a design room. Still, it is soundproof and the bed is comfortable, and provides everything for a good night's rest.

There are two downsides as far as I can tell: It is in the middle of an industrial area, and the bus to the city center takes about 20 minutes, but it runs until after midnight, and leaves directly in front of the hotel. The second point is that all services beyond the basic room are quite expensive, such as a beer in the hotel bar, breakfast, minibar, etc.

In contrast to what some people here said I found the staff to be friendly and helpful for all needs I had during my stay.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthur_P_Dent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2007

We stayed here three nights in early March, 2007. I was nervous about the hotel after reading the previous reviews, but had no choice; my husband's conference was held here. However, our experience is that this is a very comfortable, clean, quiet hotel, with the bonus of being newly redecorated with good fabrics and a sort of art deco style.

We arrived by train at night so took a cab to the hotel (25 CHF), but later learned the excellent bus system makes a stop right in front of the hotel, which is about three miles from the central bus station. It is probably about a mile to the airport entrance. (By the way, we departed via the smallish airport which is not large enough to accomodate all the passengers awaiting flights; it was a literal zoo, not even floor space to sit).

The hotel's lobby had a spacious feel, with lots of blonde wood and new carpet, and two or three seating areas. The front desk personnel were formal, but pleasant, spoke English, and were very efficient.

There is free internet connection (two computers in the lobby, and three in the business area downstairs) with copying machines. Only one time did we find them all in use.

The bar is alcoved to one side of the lobby; we had late night wine and croques monsieur prepared and served by a competent young waiter/bartender who didn't get out of patience at all with our questioning about the menu. Only complaint is that smoking is allowed in the bar and lobby, though the odor wasn't strong enough to run us out.

We had a double room, medium sized by European standards, non-smoking (and there was no hint of cigarette smell in our room), facing the street, but with no street noise (were on the second or third floor). Had a desk and window seat along the window side of the room. Didn't hear other guests or doors slamming...insulation must be very good, because we are very noise-conscious. The room was actually pretty, blonde wood with green fabric accents, new carpet, queen bed, comfortable mattress with white duvet bedding; the duvet cover was changed daily. Good quality lined fabric on the room darkening drapes.

The good sized bathroom appeared new also....all marble, and sparkling clean. This is one of the cleanest hotels I've ever stayed in in Europe. I always wipe down surfaces, doorknobs, etc. in hotel rooms with Chlorox wipes and for once there was no visible dirt on the used wipes. That was a pleasant surprise.
There was a large, new tub-shower with excellent water pressure. Plenty of white, thick towels.

Included with the room is a traditional, European breakfast served in a large, fresh dining room with a friendly wait staff. There were hot scrambled eggs and bacon, actually very good, along with the cereals, cheese, salami, fruit, etc. We did not eat in the hotel's restaurant, but it looked lovely, linen and candlelight, tho' the menu was expensive.

The downside to the hotel is that the immediate neighborhood scenery is somewhat dismal. Not dangerous, really just very working class. We walked next door to the Giancondo Pizzeria one night, and it was filled with young and old, locals and a few tourists, and the pizza was very good. Again, the only problem to us was the cigarette smoke.

The hotel gives you a free trolley pass, good for your entire stay, which I used to take the #10 bus to the old city. If you are interested in ancient Roman and medieval history, there is an excellent underground museum/archeological site beneath the St. Pierre Cathedral: English audioguide, a video showing the development of Geneva over time, a large mosaiced floor from the late Roman era, a well with articles discovered in it...just very nicely done. The Geneva old city is about one day's worth of sightseeing.

There is an excellent restaurant about three miles out of town (in the wine fields) called the Domaine de Choully. Our group went there; the food was gourmet and wonderful, tho' the atmosphere was not that formal, a French, wine-country feel. Can't comment on the prices since it was part of the conference. We were served with wines grown a few hundred meters from the restaurant.

Hope this helps anyone looking for an above average hotel at a reasonable price in Geneva.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, comfortable room/bath, quietness, luxurious fabrics, breakfast, professional staff
  • Disliked — Unscenic views, cigarette smoke in lobby and bar, 20 minute bus ride to old city
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Toonces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2007

Stayed one night due to early flight from Geneva. As a regular business traveller I don't expect the earth from an airport hotel, but everything about this one was depressing. A seventies bathroom, closed bar and overpriced restaurant I can deal with, but the arrogance of the staff was almost surreal. I have no idea whether I'd trodden in something before coming into the hotel, but the way the staff behaved (from the check-in desk to the waiters) I have seen nowhere else in my travels.

Would go out of my way to recommend to friends that they don't stay there, and for comparison this is the first hotel I've ever had to give a one-star rating to in any forum. Shame on whoever runs this place, because the raw material is there for an OK hotel.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — The staff
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Banker147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2006

This was a nice hotel to stay at. Not too far from the Geneva centre. The lobby was nice and large. The dining there was pretty good. Nothing exeptional, but nothing bad at all. Rooms were average euro sized. Sorry I guess this isnt the most helpful review!

  • Tips/Secrets — if you want to use the minibar, ask for the key at the front desk. once in the room, theres no way to open it since the key isnt in the room.
  • Stayed August 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travellover_214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2006

I was booked into this hotel due to a work conference taking place "nearby". As it turns out, the conference wasn't close by at all, but the hotel is on a bus and tram line, so that made my commute somewhat easier.

I now know what business travel in the 1970s must have been like. The Ramada Park Hotel is stuck in a timewarp - very 70's decor and atmosphere. While the rooms are comfortable enough, they are in desperate need of updating, especially for modern business travellers. The staff were ok, but I found the front desk to be disorganized and not very effiecient. And as this hotel is not centrally located, having a shop selling snacks and refreshments would be appreciated - note that next door is a gas station with shop and a bank machine, which is handy.

If you are at all allergic to smoke/asthmatic, be careful, as smoking is rampant here, including the bar and lobby. It can be disgusting, and be sure to insist on a non-smoking room. While you are not supposed to open the windows, I did as the room was hot and stuffy and the fan/air system was closed for the season.

Overall, not bad for the price (it is Geneva after all), but if you want a modern hotel with business amenities and a great location, this isn't it. If you want to step back in time, hello Ramada Park Hotel!

  • Liked — Good breakfast
  • Disliked — Not a modern hotel
  • Tips/Secrets — Buy a wifi card from the front desk, so you don't have to use the
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Eudoxxia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cointrin
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva
1.0 mi away
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conferen...
#1 of 2 in Le Grand Saconnex
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Geneve Aeroport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nash Airport Hotel
Nash Airport Hotel
#5 of 6 in Cointrin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Geneva Airport
1.1 mi away
NH Geneva Airport
NH Geneva Airport
#2 of 2 in Meyrin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Geneva

Property: Crowne Plaza Geneva
Address: avenue Louis-Casai 75-77, Cointrin 1216, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Cointrin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cointrin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Geneva 4.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Geneva makes every effort to make you feel at home away from home and welcomes you in a modern and elegant superior 4-star hotel. Our 366 rooms offer a contemporary design and a relaxing atmosphere. Located near the airport and the Palexpo conference and exhibition centre, the hotel is ideal to explore Geneva in no time; you will be able to get to the city centre in only fifteen minutes. Enjoy the tourist attractions, the walks around the lake, the vibrant streets and luxury shops of the city centre! Feel like shopping? Geneva’s biggest commercial centre is located a few minutes away from the hotel. The hotel offers a free hotel shuttle bus from the airport and a well as a Public Transport card to the city centre. Restaurant Seventy5 welcomes you all year round in a modern brasserie style. The chef invites you to enjoy creative and innovative cuisine: grill, raw bar, vegetarian and seasonal products. To relax, a beautiful terrace awaits you on the garden side during the summer. The Seventy5 is perfect for your business meetings and guarantees fast and friendly service in just 30 minutes with our “Business Lunch.” With a banquet and conference centre of 18 modular rooms and a total capacity of 1200 people, the Crowne Plaza offers one of the largest event areas in Geneva and is the right place to meet. Whether you are coming to Geneva on business or to discover the treasures of Calvin’s city, the Crowne Plaza Geneva offers a quality image of Switzerland and welcomes you in a world of elegance, generosity and authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Geneva Hotel Cointrin
Ramada Geneva
Ramada Cointrin
Cointrin Ramada
Ramada Hotel Geneva
Crowne Plaza Geneva Canton Of Geneva, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing