We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“That will be an "additional" Cost” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Geneva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Geneva
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cointrin
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“That will be an "additional" Cost”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Although the initial cost of the room may appear fair, be cautious of the extra charges!

Oh, you want a "quiet" room that is not facing the busy noisy street outside... That's 25 Swiss francs extra per day for a "garden facing" room. (But oh yes there's some remodeling going on in the hotel that starts at 730 am... So much for the quiet premium).

Oh you want "fast" Internet access... That's 10 extra per day. (By the way the "fast" Internet was still so slow it was literally unusable. I didn't try their free internet service .. I can only imagine how slow that must have been.)

Oh, you want a "good" meal, that will cost you at least 50 in our dining room for dinner.. Excluding alcohol.

Oh you want an iron in your room to press your clothes for your business meeting... No, no irons in your room, we have a service for you to do that. Oh but that is of course... Extra.

All that said, the remodeling is very nice and the rooms are quite impressive, although on the small side.

I checked out after the first night and went to the moevenpick nearby. Much nicer. The room was 30 per night more but it ended up cheaper overall with nicer accommodation.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Chartmannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Geneva, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Chartmannn,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent visit. It is nice to know that you found our rooms to be nice. However, it is regrettable that you were unhappy with our rates for our services. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    329
    141
    62
    50
See reviews for
58
130
57
495
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and myself did a 2 night weekend stay 29th nov to 1st dec, the free bus from airport very good, on arrival staff excellent english spoken immediatley on recognition, the room tidy ,very smart layout, shower excellent, we ate in restaurant 75 it was expensive but here as a 50th birthday present so did not mind and did pick expensive starters,food excellent free bus pass issued at reception along with city and bus route maps staff extremely helpful with any queries, would recommend this to anyone who wants a clean well managed place to sleep and relax, clise to airport

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wilma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyriamFischer, Responsable relations clients at Crowne Plaza Geneva, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Wilma M,

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature.

It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you.

Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Crowne Plaza Geneva a leader in excellence.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back during your next stay in Geneva.

Best regards

Myriam FISCHER
Customer Care Crowne Plaza Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
81 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza for only one night on a business trip to the area.

The hotel is very convenient for the the airport with frequent and complimentary shuttle service.

Staff was very friendly and quick upon check-in and check-out.

Used the bar for a late snack and food as well as service were very good. Quite expensive though for what it was - but mostly everthing in Geneva seems to be.

The recent renovation did definitely show. The rooms was of good design and very clean. It was however very much on the small side. Even for Geneva and even when compared with places like London or Paris.

Value was OK still for the room. It was rather expensive but given this is Geneva it was still just OK for the the room quality offered. On the website it said though that a discount due to the renovations had been applied - well if that was the case, I would certainly not feel good about paying the future rates.

I would go back there if I were able to secure a still half-way decent rate as I did this time - as in in-line with other Geneva airport hotels of similar general quality and not much more expensive.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imagine71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyriamFischer, Responsable relations clients at Crowne Plaza Geneva, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear imagine71,

Thank you for your great review here on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay and the comfort of your room.

It is a pleasure to read that our staff and the quality of service you received contributed to your well-being during your stay at the hotel.

Be assured we will keep competitive rates.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Myriam FISCHER
Customer Care Crowne Plaza Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Was here for a night before a flight out, and found the CP to be well appointed and with very good service. The room was very nice, and well done. But as another reviewer said, there is absolutely no where to put a suitcase (even a small one). If you're looking for a plush place, with nice finishings, this is a good place to be, but if you want a bit more space and practical arrangements, perhaps look elsewhere. For dinner I wandered in to the seventy5 restaurant, without realizing the "regular" restaurant was downstairs - I would have preferred eating there, so will take note for next time.

Also, the "fitness center" is just some equipment in a conference room (wow, I didn't anticipate just how much space they have below ground in this building for conference facilities)....I hope they set aside a better space for fitness equipment.

I will probably come back (since I'm a long term IHG member), but frankly I'm not sure there is much more value for money compared to the Holiday Inn which is half the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tourismspecialist88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyriamFischer, Responsable relations clients at Crowne Plaza Geneva, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear tourismspecialist88,

Thank you very much for your detailed review and your loyalty as an IHG Rewards Club Member.

Our priority is to always deliver on our hospitality promise and we are pleased that you appreciated our service excellence and the comfort and design of our rooms.

Don’t hesitate to ask for an additional luggage rack if needed.

Our fitness center is presently located in a meeting room during the finishings of the upper floors. It will open again on the 7th floor early 2014.

As from January 2014, we will open up our Deluxe and Executive rooms with an area between 35 and 45 square meters in an exclusive and vibrant design which will satisfy the most demanding guests.

Our new “à la carte” restaurant Seventy5 proposes urban cuisine in a modern design and our self-service restaurant “Le Jardin” is open Monday to Friday for lunch. Our bar is the place to go for snacks and tapas until late evening.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Myriam FISCHER
Customer Care Crowne Plaza Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Only stayed here one night while waiting for an early flight out of Geneva, however this hotel its luxurious, well appointed, very clean, quiet with friendly helpful staff. Has a nice Italian just down the street on the left hand side. Bar is ok but service we found to be a little slow on the two occasions we used it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank GSSAFC21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyriamFischer, Responsable relations clients at Crowne Plaza Geneva, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear GSSAFC21,

Thank you for your great review here on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay and the comfort of your room.

It is a pleasure to read that our staff and the quality of service you received contributed to your well-being during your stay at the hotel.

Best regards,

Myriam FISCHER
Customer Care Crowne Plaza Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Crowne Plaza AIRPORT hotel finally got renovated.. Yes the new rooms are nice, with fine materials and a comfortable bed, but they are so tiny.. and i mean really really tiny...
We had absolutely no space for 2 big suitcases. Which was absolutely annoying... We had to open and close our suitcases every time we needed something. There is also no space in the room to stow anything.

Yes I know the hotel response will be : "we will be opening our executive floor soon with larger rooms", but for all travellers booking standard rooms (which will be the most) will still be getting these really tiny rooms with no space.. These rooms are only suitable for a SINGLE traveller with carry on luggage.

As other reviewers mentioned i still dont get why Crowne Plaza gave up the much better building with much nicer and much larger rooms, which is now the STARLING airport hotel. (I would prefer to go there next time). And now took over the former RAMADA hotel.. This building would have suited more for a budget hotel IBIS like......

The Spa/fitness area which should be open end november is now scheduled to be opened end january, so if this is what you are looking for, wait till it really opens.. maybe even later again.... And they already charge full prices... I prefer hotels fully closing down for renovation and opening again when again completely renovated.


Pros :

- free internet (but slow, facetime, skype not really possible) for a faster connection you have to pay....!!
- nice amenties in the bathroom
- coffee/tea making facilities in the bathroom

Cons :

- tiny room, tiny bathroom (walk in shower, no bathtub !)
- no in room stowage, very small cupboard ! NO place to place a normal sized suitcase
- windows not sound proof, you could still hear the airplanes
- reception language skills, english was not the best, and NO ONE (out of 3 I spoke with, no one spoke german, after all we are in Switzerland and not in France, and loads of german speaking clients in the hotel, akward)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SebastianHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyriamFischer, Responsable relations clients at Crowne Plaza Geneva, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear SebastianHH,

Thank you very much four your detailed review.

Our priority is to always deliver on our hospitality promise and we are pleased that you appreciated our service excellence and the comfort and design of our rooms.

If the wardrobe and drawers are not sufficient for storage, don’t hesitate to ask for an additional luggage rack.

We have rooms available with walk-in showers or bathtub, up to your liking. Don’t hesitate to ask upon arrival if you have a preference and we will be pleased to accommodate your choice.

Our new fitness will open early 2014 and in the meanwhile, the service is available on the – 1 level.

We hope you will continue to choose Crowne Plaza Geneva for your future travel needs.

Best regards,

Myriam FISCHER
Customer Care Crowne Plaza Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cointrin hotels

Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Myself and my son stayed at this hotel for two nights. From the moment we arrived, we were impressed by the staff decore and everything at this wonderful hotel. The room was fantastic, loved the shower. The staff were really friendly and very welcoming.I can not fault this hotel and I wish them much success in the future. Hopefully one day we will return to GEneva. If we return, we will certainly stay in this hotel.

Thank you for making our trip even better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy_Whiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyriamFischer, Responsable relations clients at Crowne Plaza Geneva, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Kathy_Whiting,

Thank you for your great review here on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay and the comfort of your room.

It is a pleasure to read that our staff and the quality of service you received contributed to your well-being during your stay at the hotel.

We certainly appreciate your compliments and rest assured that they will be passed onto our hotel staff.

Best regards,

Myriam Fischer
Customer Care Crowne Plaza Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cointrin
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva
1.0 mi away
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conferen...
#1 of 2 in Le Grand Saconnex
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nash Airport Hotel
Nash Airport Hotel
#5 of 6 in Cointrin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Geneva Airport
1.1 mi away
NH Geneva Airport
NH Geneva Airport
#2 of 2 in Meyrin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Geneva

Property: Crowne Plaza Geneva
Address: avenue Louis-Casai 75-77, Cointrin 1216, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Cointrin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cointrin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Geneva 4.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Geneva makes every effort to make you feel at home away from home and welcomes you in a modern and elegant superior 4-star hotel. Our 366 rooms offer a contemporary design and a relaxing atmosphere. Located near the airport and the Palexpo conference and exhibition centre, the hotel is ideal to explore Geneva in no time; you will be able to get to the city centre in only fifteen minutes. Enjoy the tourist attractions, the walks around the lake, the vibrant streets and luxury shops of the city centre! Feel like shopping? Geneva’s biggest commercial centre is located a few minutes away from the hotel. The hotel offers a free hotel shuttle bus from the airport and a well as a Public Transport card to the city centre. Restaurant Seventy5 welcomes you all year round in a modern brasserie style. The chef invites you to enjoy creative and innovative cuisine: grill, raw bar, vegetarian and seasonal products. To relax, a beautiful terrace awaits you on the garden side during the summer. The Seventy5 is perfect for your business meetings and guarantees fast and friendly service in just 30 minutes with our “Business Lunch.” With a banquet and conference centre of 18 modular rooms and a total capacity of 1200 people, the Crowne Plaza offers one of the largest event areas in Geneva and is the right place to meet. Whether you are coming to Geneva on business or to discover the treasures of Calvin’s city, the Crowne Plaza Geneva offers a quality image of Switzerland and welcomes you in a world of elegance, generosity and authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Geneva Hotel Cointrin
Ramada Geneva
Ramada Cointrin
Cointrin Ramada
Ramada Hotel Geneva
Crowne Plaza Geneva Canton Of Geneva, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing