We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, great staff, 5 min from the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Geneva
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cointrin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2012

An average hotel. Only 5 min from the airport. The rooms were small and cramped however the hotel is under renovation. Hoping that would improve. 5 min from the mall and approx 30 min (by bus/tram) from old town. It's a good hotel for a one night business stay. For prolong stay/enjoy Geneva, I would recommend a different location.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank Adk78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Adk78,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us feedback. We are pleased our location suited you well and appreciate the compliments on our hotel staff. I do apologize for the renovations and room accommodation you received during your stay. I want to assure you that we work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. This helps in becoming a better hotel.

We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you the improvements made.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (874)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Geneva
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

489 - 495 of 874 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

Review
Crowne Plaza Hotel Geneva

I stayed in Crowne Plaza Hotel Geneva from 2 September 2012 to 5 September 2012. That is not news. It represents a process rather than an episode. My sponsors have a long standing arrangement with this outfit. In a situation like this one tends to treat it as part of destiny, with acceptance taking over from complaints and compliments. But acceptance need not obscure judgment. That is why this review.

The current situation reflects a peripheral improvement on the earlier version as Ramada Park Hotel, going little further than a complimentary bottle of water and less grudging supply of toiletries. The current move is to keep the momentum. But this desire for improvement is subject to certain qualifications. First, the day- long noise that it generates, which is likely to last for a year. Second, the phasing of refurbishing is more for optics and less for comfort. The corridors have new carpets but not the bed rooms. This is “profit over people”. A marginal consolation: two little mercies, first, you cannot be accidentally locked out, second the hangers have a firm grip on the trousers.

The hotel’s web site should carry a warning about renovation. I did not see one. Even so, the attempt to move up is welcome though there is little prospect of up-gradation to five star, considering the size of the bed rooms, notwithstanding comfortable beds.

The service standards at reception are reasonable though without much of a personal touch. The restaurants are well served with a well reputed facility on the ground floor and a breakfast room in the basement, which offers plenty of options, even though the omelets( both white and yellow) are served out of the platter rather than made to order. If you sit close to the coffee bar you can enjoy a view of the adjoining garden. The rooms have a coffee maker with supplies of tea and coffee, but not green tea, nor decaf.

Despite some unflattering reviews , the occupancy levels seem to be satisfactory. And let me add that on three occasions I was accommodated at other four star hotels. The change was horizontal, not vertical, not even diagonal.

Despite its age, the hotel seems to have adequate clientele. I think it has two main advantages. First the logistic convenience, it is 1 kilometer from the airport, a good shuttle service provided. It is close to a large shopping mall, Balexert, where, among others, the exchange rate at the Migro Finance is better than the banks. For a visit to the commercial centre you can take Bus No 10, next door, with no change involved. Second the atmosphere is homely. One does not witness crowded check ins and check outs, nor people trying to rush through their lives, however short. Perhaps this is why the hotel continues to be acceptable to a lot of people.

Room Tip: ask for a room which has less noise coming from renovation
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saeedqureshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Hotel is old out of date and under going serious maintenance, they are adding 2 new floors. Did not get any warning about the works when booking. Stayed here on business and a gold elite member will never stay here again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
3  Thank UKUKPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear UKUKPaul,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Rewards Gold Member and taking the time to write us a review. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel for the second time and this time for a whole full week. From my first experience, I've knew that its just going to be another business hotel and did not expect anything beyond.. Low and behold, that's what I've got. The rooms are relatively small.. compared to rooms in other hotels, however it looks clean, good running water, very small bathroom, and the bathtub.. well.. all what I can say is that don't expect it to be lavishing and accommodative. The only thing that is going for this hotel is the location. Its very close to the airport and it does provide a free shuttle back and forth. So if you are flying long distance to Geneva, then all what you want is to just get into a vehicle and get into your room to rest.

Breakfast is boooooring.. Absolutely boring.. there is no variety even if the cows come home.. And when I was there last time the hotel was under renovation, so hopefully fingers crossed, they'll upgrade their service.

As most of you are aware that things are expensive in GVA, if you want to grab a bite.. just walk outside this hotel and in your right you will find a gas station and right next to it a mini mart.. where you can find little stuff to eat, like canned food, and also they make sandwiches there.. so relatively good. I quite enjoyed the fruits available .. and they were very delicious.

If you walk to your left again walk down until you pass another gas station and right next to it you find a Pizza place, run by an Italian ( at least he speaks good Italian.. verified by another Italian:) and they make really good pizza for a reasonable prize. Service is also good in that place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahieash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed here for a week and finally had to change hotels. Hotel is under serious renovation and as a result the amount of noise is extremely fatiguing. Think about a jack hammer echoing through the walls. Starts promptly at 8am finishes 5:30pm
This is brand damage from upper management to allow this hotel to remain open during this process.
Reconstruction is supposed to be finished in 2013 sometime.
Hotel should be closed during the reconstruction.

Staff was very professional and understanding and did change my room location. Unfortunately the noise occurring during buissness hours was something that could not be solved.

Stay out of the hotel from 8am until 5:30pm .


Now I just have to figure out how come the travel agent did not know the hotel was under renovation.

Room Tip: Stay outside between 8:00am and 5:30pm. Not recommend for flight crew rest during reconstruction per...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Having already stayed at the Crown Plaza, around 18 months earlier, I looked forward to returning to the hotel for a restful stay. The location was good - walking distance from where my meetings were to be held - and offered a lovely swimming pool and sauna to enjoy after a long day. Imagine my suprise when arriving at the hotel to find it had moved 2 miles along the main road towards the airport. Excellent position if you wanted a hotel close to the airport but not for me on this trip. To say that the "new" Crown Plaza was a step backwards in class would be an understatement. The rooms were tired and in general the hotel needed a major makeover to return the Corwn Plaza back to the same standard as last stay. Although I was kindly upgraded to a small suite it still didnt make up for my suprise - however in all fairness I should have double checked the hotel address. A lesson learnt the hard way!

Room Tip: Always double check the address of the hotel even if you have stayed there before. Rooms facing the...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardB268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear Richard B,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. Let me take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. In addition, we are under going renovations to make your future stay more comfortable and pleasurable. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

As a business traveler and former hotelier, I was very disappointed in this hotel. While it is a great location next to the airport, the rooms and public space left much to be desired. Our bathroom tiling/caulk was full of black mold. The housekeeping department tried to clean it while we were out at dinner however it was too deep to clean. My boyfriend doesn't like to complain but having worked in the hotel industry for 10 years in all areas including management, this was unacceptable. We were not offered a clean room to stay in or any sort of upgrade. My boyfriend's company uses this hotel all of the time and even his co-workers on the trip were complaining. I'm pretty sure the lack of resolution and noisy renovation will prevent them from booking here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redwingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cointrin
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva
1.0 mi away
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conferen...
#1 of 2 in Le Grand Saconnex
484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Geneve Aeroport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Geneva Airport
0.1 mi away
Nash Airport Hotel
Nash Airport Hotel
#5 of 6 in Cointrin
675 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Geneva Airport
NH Geneva Airport
#2 of 2 in Meyrin
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Geneva

Address: avenue Louis-Casai 75-77, Cointrin 1216, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Cointrin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cointrin
Price Range: $156 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Geneva 4.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Geneva makes every effort to make you feel at home away from home and welcomes you in a modern and elegant superior 4-star hotel. Our 366 rooms offer a contemporary design and a relaxing atmosphere. Located near the airport and the Palexpo conference and exhibition centre, the hotel is ideal to explore Geneva in no time; you will be able to get to the city centre in only fifteen minutes. Enjoy the tourist attractions, the walks around the lake, the vibrant streets and luxury shops of the city centre! Feel like shopping? Geneva’s biggest commercial centre is located a few minutes away from the hotel. The hotel offers a free hotel shuttle bus from the airport and a well as a Public Transport card to the city centre. Restaurant Seventy5 welcomes you all year round in a modern brasserie style. The chef invites you to enjoy creative and innovative cuisine: grill, raw bar, vegetarian and seasonal products. To relax, a beautiful terrace awaits you on the garden side during the summer. The Seventy5 is perfect for your business meetings and guarantees fast and friendly service in just 30 minutes with our “Business Lunch.” With a banquet and conference centre of 18 modular rooms and a total capacity of 1200 people, the Crowne Plaza offers one of the largest event areas in Geneva and is the right place to meet. Whether you are coming to Geneva on business or to discover the treasures of Calvin’s city, the Crowne Plaza Geneva offers a quality image of Switzerland and welcomes you in a world of elegance, generosity and authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Geneva Hotel Cointrin
Ramada Geneva
Ramada Cointrin
Cointrin Ramada
Ramada Hotel Geneva
Crowne Plaza Geneva Canton Of Geneva, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing