We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Yet another wonderful stay at this fantastic...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Chapel House

Where the rainbow ends.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Where the rainbow ends.
The open-plan living space downstairs compliments a holiday atmosphere. It's snowing.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
98 reviews
Where the rainbow ends.
The open-plan living space downstairs compliments a holiday atmosphere.
It's snowing.
Flaming June
The view from the front door.
A double staircase circumventing a king post truss or vertical beam
The meadow opposite.
Walk from the door into open country or visit our two lovely pubs just two minutes down the hill.
Snowy frolics in the village.
The Kitchen Window
The dining area.
A spacious, light and airy bathroom
The newly extended car park.
The well-equipped kitchen, part of the open-plan downstairs. Cook, socialise and enjoy the view.
The Gate, voted 'Most Unspoilt Pub in England 2017' by The Good Pub Guide. Good food too.
A few hundred feet from Chapel House.
Cosy bedrooms with fabulous views across the valley.
Period features; the original Victorian shutters and bolts.
The White Peak at sunset
The small bedroom.
Up, up, up and away in my beautiful balloon - fly from Tissington or Chatsworth.
Through the arched window.
High up on the edge of the village but feels like open country.
A 12kw woodburner and electric heating will keep you warm in winter.
Friendly locals.
Near Rainster Rocks (10 mins walk). Panoramic views towards Parwich. This was once a tropical sea.
Everywhere that I roam...... Show me the way to go home.
A green and pleasant land.
Harboro rocks on the village outskirts. A Mecca for climbing beginners.
Not far from Pemberley?
View from the bathroom. Brush your teeth and watch buzzards at the same time.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Brassington, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 98 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
davidY357...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Yet another wonderful stay at this fantastic accommodation.”
Reviewed September 16, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have just returned fully relaxed from another holiday at Chapel House - we cannot get enough of the place. Ideally located for venturing into Derbyshire this property offers all the comforts and facilities you could wish for. Situated in a cosy and friendly little village which now has the added bonus of a "shop" which must be seen.

Thanks David - we will be in touch soon to make another booking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property and location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrJdeVill...
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Place to stay!”
Reviewed September 16, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just spent a wonderful weekend in Brassington with my family and the Chapel was the perfect place to stay. Great and well appointed accommodation for the most marvellous stay in the Dales. I will be booking again.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil W
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great location for you Peak district adventures”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The Chapel House is situated at the top of the village of Brassington. The views from the windows are out of this world. On a clear night the view of the stars from the bedroom windows is stellar.

Ashbourne and Matlock are a pleasent drive from Brassington. Bakewell is a little further, but well worth the drive.

The Chapel House has every convinience and the kitchen is excellent for those who wish to self cater.

If you need to rest your legs on the evening, the Internet connection has a suitable speed to allow streaming from the BBC iPLayer, ITV Player and Netflix. Mobile phone coverage is patchy, buit I'd consider that another plus point.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The veiws
Liked least: Having to go home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chantal p
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“The pictures are nice: the reality is even better”
Reviewed August 15, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have spent a sunny week at Chapel House and we loved it. The pictures on the internet are nice but the reality is even better. The area is great with planty of natural sites and castles to visit. Brassington is charming. The house is full of character, well equiped, nicely decorated and light. The windows are large and offer nice views. A lovely home to recommend.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTD1
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location”
Reviewed August 9, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Ideally located for sight seeing and walks. Our two children loved the field opposite the Chapel and seeing the sheep. Chapel House was as described and comfortably furnished - children slept very soundly in their beds, which is always a bonus! Excellent communication by the owner with lots of hints and tips. We were very happy with our choice and would certainly see if we could stay again if we visit this area in the future.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PReader59
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal for a few days away”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We booked Chapel House so our adult family could spend some quality time together for a long weekend, away from work and home responsibilities.
Chapel House was perfect. Bedrooms for two couples and one single so ideal for party. The house really did have everything we might need. Every pot, pan and utensil. Books, DVDs and CDs, something to suit everyone's taste. So should the weather be bad, no worry.
We are in on the Friday and Monday evening and ventured to Ye Olde Gate Inn on the Saturday. This was with some trepidation because of comments read online about the landlord. Fair enough, not a bouncy personality but he runs a lovely pub and the food? Outstanding in both quality and quantity. So we recommend it.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellonz
Englewood, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Chapel House - The perfect escape!”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My Mum and I recently stayed at Chapel House & thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The accommodation is beautifully maintained & very clean. It is well equipped to make meals at home, but I can also highly recommend Ye Olde Gate Inn public house located only a very short walk from the house.

There are three very comfortable bedrooms; the small back bedroom is perfect to experience the sounds of the countryside & I thoroughly enjoyed waking up to the sounds of the spring birds & sheep located in the field opposite Chapel House.

Communication from the owner, David, was excellent & the information that he sent was extremely helpful, he even took the time to send a photograph of the best way to park in the allocated car parking space, which can be tricky depending on the size of the car. For any people concerned about parking, there is plenty of parking in the village which is only 5 mins walk from the house, you can cut through the church grounds where there is a pathway to the left which brings you out right by Chapel House.

The location of Chapel House is excellent with easy access & beautiful scenic drives to Bakewell, Buxton Castleton and many more areas. I highly recommend a drive through Winnats pass, which is absolutely breathtaking (Address: Winnats Pass, Castleton, Hope Valley, Derbyshire. Postcode: S33 8WA for your Sat Nav.) Haddon House with it's breathtaking gardens is also just a short drive away.

I would not hesitate to recommend Chapel House; it is the perfect getaway, situated in an utterly idyllic location.

Thank you David!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The remote location
Liked least: having to leave!
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2015
Thanks very much for your kind comments. I am pleased to be able to say - prospective guests please note - that the car park is being extended and the work should be completed during August 2015.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing