We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The pictures are nice: the reality is even better”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Chapel House

Where the rainbow ends.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Where the rainbow ends.
Open-plan. The view from the front door.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
98 reviews
Where the rainbow ends.
Open-plan.
The view from the front door.
The staircase, split on the landing to circumnavigate a Kings Post Truss, a large beam.
Flaming June
The meadow opposite.
The mezzanine with elevated dining area.
Standard double in the south-facing main bedroom
Watch your kids play in the rocks in the adjacent field.
Walk from the door into open country or visit our two lovely pubs just two minutes down the hill.
The bathroom from the upstairs hallway
A few hundred feet from Chapel House.
The small bedroom, north-facing with a small double (queen).
Period features; the original Victorian shutters and bolts.
The south-facing middle bedroom with king size mattress.
The middle bedroom
The White Peak at sunset
Up, up, up and away in my beautiful balloon - fly from Tissington or Chatsworth.
Through the arched window.
Friendly locals.
Everywhere that I roam...... Show me the way to go home.
A green and pleasant land.
Harboro rocks on the village outskirts. A Mecca for climbing beginners.
Not far from Pemberley?
View from the bathroom. Brush your teeth and watch buzzards at the same time.
The car park.
The Gate, voted 'Most Unspoilt Pub in England 2017' by The Good Pub Guide. Good food too.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Brassington, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 98 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
chantal p
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“The pictures are nice: the reality is even better”
Reviewed August 15, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have spent a sunny week at Chapel House and we loved it. The pictures on the internet are nice but the reality is even better. The area is great with planty of natural sites and castles to visit. Brassington is charming. The house is full of character, well equiped, nicely decorated and light. The windows are large and offer nice views. A lovely home to recommend.

Date of stay: July 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTD1
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location”
Reviewed August 9, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Ideally located for sight seeing and walks. Our two children loved the field opposite the Chapel and seeing the sheep. Chapel House was as described and comfortably furnished - children slept very soundly in their beds, which is always a bonus! Excellent communication by the owner with lots of hints and tips. We were very happy with our choice and would certainly see if we could stay again if we visit this area in the future.

Date of stay: July 2015
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PReader59
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal for a few days away”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We booked Chapel House so our adult family could spend some quality time together for a long weekend, away from work and home responsibilities.
Chapel House was perfect. Bedrooms for two couples and one single so ideal for party. The house really did have everything we might need. Every pot, pan and utensil. Books, DVDs and CDs, something to suit everyone's taste. So should the weather be bad, no worry.
We are in on the Friday and Monday evening and ventured to Ye Olde Gate Inn on the Saturday. This was with some trepidation because of comments read online about the landlord. Fair enough, not a bouncy personality but he runs a lovely pub and the food? Outstanding in both quality and quantity. So we recommend it.

Date of stay: May 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellonz
Englewood, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Chapel House - The perfect escape!”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My Mum and I recently stayed at Chapel House & thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The accommodation is beautifully maintained & very clean. It is well equipped to make meals at home, but I can also highly recommend Ye Olde Gate Inn public house located only a very short walk from the house.

There are three very comfortable bedrooms; the small back bedroom is perfect to experience the sounds of the countryside & I thoroughly enjoyed waking up to the sounds of the spring birds & sheep located in the field opposite Chapel House.

Communication from the owner, David, was excellent & the information that he sent was extremely helpful, he even took the time to send a photograph of the best way to park in the allocated car parking space, which can be tricky depending on the size of the car. For any people concerned about parking, there is plenty of parking in the village which is only 5 mins walk from the house, you can cut through the church grounds where there is a pathway to the left which brings you out right by Chapel House.

The location of Chapel House is excellent with easy access & beautiful scenic drives to Bakewell, Buxton Castleton and many more areas. I highly recommend a drive through Winnats pass, which is absolutely breathtaking (Address: Winnats Pass, Castleton, Hope Valley, Derbyshire. Postcode: S33 8WA for your Sat Nav.) Haddon House with it's breathtaking gardens is also just a short drive away.

I would not hesitate to recommend Chapel House; it is the perfect getaway, situated in an utterly idyllic location.

Thank you David!

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The remote location
Liked least: having to leave!
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2015
Thanks very much for your kind comments. I am pleased to be able to say - prospective guests please note - that the car park is being extended and the work should be completed during August 2015.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
997jenni
Bude, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Marvellous for a holiday or your own personal bolthole”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My wife and I regularly rent holiday accommodation and are very hard to please. I can say, though, that I looked very hard but could not find anything to fault. The cottage was comfortable and cosy and the woodburner would be great (and a little romantic) in the winter.
Well worth the awful 10 hour journey home!

Date of stay: June 2015
How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis G
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“peaceful, cosy & beautiful”
Reviewed June 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Arrangements very easy. Chapel lovely for adults and young children. Excellent access to the Peak District. No garden but straight out to a path and a lovely climb up a rocky field. Ideal for a family holiday.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: characterful property
Liked least: usage limited internet
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seb901
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to escape, fantastic countryside right on the doorstep.”
Reviewed May 5, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Very cosy place, wood burning stove really added to the charm. The only downside was no private outside space, however the house was right next to open fields with a footpath accessing acres of countryside, so not really a problem. The owner was very helpful when needed. Had a fantastic long weekend here, plenty to see and do nearby. Would highly recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: April 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 6, 2015
Thank you for your kind comments. Chapel House does have a garden, with commanding views over the village. On a clear day you can see for 30 miles. You can sit on the limestone outcrops, almost 1000 feet above sea level, and watch the sun fall down. And in spring you may be joined by lambs and calves. The only thing is, it is not a PRIVATE garden but it is, literally, outside the front door - look at the pics. Seriously, if you desire a private enclosed garden, then you may need to look elsewhere but many guests remark that there is clearly no need for a 'garden' here, as long as you don't mind the occasional hiker saying hello. The footpath outside the front door runs all the way to The High Peak Trail.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing