We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very Nice”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Chapel House

Where the rainbow ends.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Where the rainbow ends.
Open-plan. The view from the front door.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
98 reviews
Where the rainbow ends.
Open-plan.
The view from the front door.
The staircase, split on the landing to circumnavigate a Kings Post Truss, a large beam.
Flaming June
The meadow opposite.
The mezzanine with elevated dining area.
Standard double in the south-facing main bedroom
Watch your kids play in the rocks in the adjacent field.
Walk from the door into open country or visit our two lovely pubs just two minutes down the hill.
The bathroom from the upstairs hallway
A few hundred feet from Chapel House.
The small bedroom, north-facing with a small double (queen).
Period features; the original Victorian shutters and bolts.
The south-facing middle bedroom with king size mattress.
The middle bedroom
The White Peak at sunset
Up, up, up and away in my beautiful balloon - fly from Tissington or Chatsworth.
Through the arched window.
Friendly locals.
Everywhere that I roam...... Show me the way to go home.
A green and pleasant land.
Harboro rocks on the village outskirts. A Mecca for climbing beginners.
Not far from Pemberley?
View from the bathroom. Brush your teeth and watch buzzards at the same time.
The car park.
The Gate, voted 'Most Unspoilt Pub in England 2017' by The Good Pub Guide. Good food too.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Brassington, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 98 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Neil B
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed March 26, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Really comfortable place with great walks literally on your door step. The kitchen is also very well equipped so you can really get cooking some great food for your family.

Date of stay: March 2015
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs O
Towcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A home-from-home in a fabulous location”
Reviewed March 7, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This cottage has a very homely feel and is equipped with everything we could have wished for. There are wonderful views from all the windows and numerous walks right on the doorstep. With two pubs in the village and a 24 hour "shop" one can have a very relaxing stay without having to head out to eat or shop.
The owner was extremely helpful and accommodating especially as we made our booking very much at the last minute, and we always felt that we could have contacted him should we have had any problems or queries.
We can highly recommend Chapel House.

Date of stay: March 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa M
Manasquan, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Christmas in the English Countryside”
Reviewed February 10, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Chapel House was the perfect location for a Christmas to remember with my family. Set on the hillside overlooking the quaint and friendly village of Brassington, the views and hikes from the cottage we breathtaking! The cottage was clean, warm and well equipped- it definitely felt like home away from home. The beds we super comfortable and the fireplace kept it nice and toasty on the chilly evenings. The 2 pubs in the village were a quick walk from the cottage and had fantastic food and warm and wonderful people. We can't wait to return sometime in the future!

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superwoma...
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage”
Reviewed January 12, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Lovely cosy cottage with a great log burner for enjoying evenings in with a glass of wine and a book after a days walking. We had three lovely walks during our stay. Carsington water is close by with a fantastic circular walk round the reservoir and Dovedale is close too for a walk along a river. We also walked up to the High peak trail straight from the cottage. The cottage had everything we needed and was very tidy and clean. Certainly hope to return.

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log burner
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fran G
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely property and super helpful and accommodating host”
Reviewed January 6, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Chapel House was very well equipped and perfectly located with lovely walks from the door and a couple of nice pubs nearby. The owner, David, was incredibly helpful, giving us tips for walks and meals and helping us with transport options when we ended up without a car. The only downside was that the house was a bit chilly. Once we had the fire really roaring for a few hours though, things definitely improved.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2015
My sincere apologies it was a bit chilly when you arrived. Because of the snow and ice, the cleaner wasn't able to get up to the house until very late in the day and this may have been a factor. However it should not have happened and I am very sorry.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michycos
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 2, 2015 for a stay in November 2014

Chapel house was a wonderful break from the city. The house itself is beautiful inside with its wooden beams and original interior. The surrounding village is very quaint and everyone is extremely friendly. David was so helpful in organising wood for the fire before we arrived and the house was in an immaculate condition. There are lots of helpful brochures and books on what activities there are to do in the surrounding area. Overall, we had a great stay and will be revisiting! Highly reccommended.

Date of stay: November 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazola
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage in beautiful Brassington!”
Reviewed December 8, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely, cosy cottage in one of the prettiest villages in the Peak District. It's a very atmospheric historic building in a proper Peak village with all sorts of home comforts and touches: interesting antiques, a well-stocked cook's kitchen, lovely fresh cotton bed linen, comfy sofas, a big telly, for vegging out in front of, and the piece de resistance: the excellent log burner.
We came on a cold winter's weekend and it was wonderful to go out for a good hike and a dose of fresh air and then return to a roaring log fire. The hills are right outside the front door, there are two excellent pubs a stone's throw away (The Gate has not one but three open fires) and any number of great walks you can do right from the door.
It really has it all. I don't hesitate to recommend Chapel House to anyone looking for a tastefully decorated, cosy cottage in the middle of great walking country - enjoy!

Date of stay: November 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log burner, the location, the views
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing