We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hoe Grange”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brassington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hoe Grange Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My family stayed in the Rainster cabin 5-12th April. My father has reduced mobility and uses a wheelchair - the accesibility of the cabin and shower room, availability of a shower chair, plus the helpful items like grab rails, reclining bed etc made his care away from home so much easier.

The hosts David and Felicity made us feel very welcome, and Felicity made my daughter's week by introducing the animals and letting her help with feeding. Every evening the farm labrador would visit the cabin from playtime, we was an added treat!

The photos do not really do the Rainster cabin justice - it had everything, and the hosts have carefully thought about each and every requirement - everything you could need was provided!

As a runner, it was great to enjoy the High Peak trail which passes the top of the farm.

Whether you have a reduced mobility family member or not - I would highly recommend Rainster @ Hoe Grange. Mum, dad, daughter and grandparents all had a great time - thanks Hoe Grange!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felicity B, Owner at Hoe Grange Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

What a lovely review - thank you. So glad that the whole family enjoyed their holiday and that your daughter had fun helping feed our animals - all our sheep have now lambed & are gambolling in the meadows. Hope to see you back at Hoe Grange soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 370 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed in Daisybank and to be honest we could not have asked for a better cabin, everything and I do mean everything had been provided. The cabin is ideal for any family member with a disability from profile bed, to very large and well thought out on-suite wet room. The whole lay out of the cabin is accessible and that’s a great bonus. Also the cabin is light and bright which is another plus point for visitors that are sight impaired.

Dave and Felicity are two of the most caring hosts we have had the pleasure to meet, we arrived in a snow blizzard and had to be towed the last half mile by Dave's son with the tractor, this was an experience we will never forget. We arrived at the cabin to be greeted and shown around by Felicity the cabin was very warm and comfortable. We were very impressed with all the facilities and all the little extras was like having icing on the cake, from organic shampoo, bubble bath and soap, fresh towels and even toys for any children that visit, to the home made bread, and biscuit, tea, coffee, sugar. Also there were loads of local information leaflets and info about the cabin and the farm which I really appreciated.
We stayed the week in extreme weather conditions and to be honest we were snowed in, but that did not mater because Dave and Felicity came every morning to check we were ok and then even took me to the nearby town to do some shopping because they had a four wheeled drive car that could actually get over the snow drifts. Even though we could not get out to drive anywhere we had a great holiday and my parents who have disabilities loved the cabin so much my Dad wants one at home to live in because it was so nice. Also my mum wanted to adopt the farm dogs, two big chocolate labradors and an adorable jack russell that have the most amazing temperaments and came to visit us daily just to say hello....

All I can say is try it you will love it and we will be going for a return visit as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Four cabins are available we stayed in the Daisybank which is excellent and ideally suited for any o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAB0898, Owner at Hoe Grange Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for a great review and so glad you enjoyed a relaxing holiday despite the blizzard conditions and being snowed in. Love the photos of the drifts up on the Trail - the snow has finally disappeard this week. We look forward to welcoming you all back soon, hopefully when the sun is shinning!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We would recommend (and already have) Hoe Grange to anyone who wishes to spend time in the Peak District in a very high standard of self catering accommodation. David & Felicity are the perfect hosts and their attention to detail is commendable.

The cabins are bright and cheerful during the day and warm and cosy in evening.

The walking is excellent, with the High Peaks Trail just a short walk up the hill offering several interesting and rewarding hikes (even with 15 foot snowdrifts!)

Thank you for a wonderful holiday, we will be back. It is a great place for getting away from it all.

Room Tip: All the cabins are of the highest quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fraser L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAB0898, Owner at Hoe Grange Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your walking holiday even with the extreme snowy conditions - from your pictures it looks as though you are in the Arctic not Derbyshire - I love the photo with you digging out the top of the signpost to see where you are! Come back in the Summer, it will be a completely new experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I would highly recommend Hoe Grange for those looking to spend quality riding time within the Peak District. Myself and my daughter rode out everyday across Hoe Grange's many acres of land which was perfect given the fact that the bridleway was still snow covered. We were made to feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble, especially when we had to ask for a farrier to visit as our pony seemed to have trouble keeping her shoes on! The cabin has everything you need & more, very spacious and comfortable, very welcoming after a day out and about. My daughter loved seeing the ponies from our cabin (Daisybank) & also the variety of animals; chickens, Fred the lamb, Fudge & Twix the dogs. Can't wait to go back, already booked again for later in the year!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleandAbby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felicity B, Owner at Hoe Grange Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thanks for uploading the photos of Abby jumping her pony in the fields, it was great that you were still able to have fun riding depsite the snow. Can you believe the Trail is still blocked with snow drifts towards Minninglow, and yesterday I had to double back to get home. Let's hope that when you return in October the weather is kinder!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family have been visiting Hoe Grange since 2007. They have four beautiful log cabins which are disabled friendly. David and Felicity are the perfect hosts where nothing is too much trouble. You start your holiday with a friendly welcome and a wonderful welcome pack. The cabins have everything you would ever require and are exceptionally well presented. Whether you want a really active holiday or a relaxing time, Hoe Grange is just the place for you. The farm animals are very entertaining to watch with four calves being born on our last visit. Go on treat yourself and experience Hoe Grange for yourself.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felicity B, Owner at Hoe Grange Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thank you Wendy - you are perfect guests and we are delighted that you choose Hoe Grange once again. "Rammy" the black and white Belted Galloway calf born while you were here is doing well and has 4 other new mates to gallop round the field with - he will have grown considerably by the time you come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We've just had the best break away that we've ever had! We chose to try Hoe Grange because Gail has MS and is wheelchair bound. We had 3 delightful days in Daisybank cabin, which had ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING you could want or need while away from home. All of our breaks in the past have been in so-called adapted properties, which have barely paid lip service to meeting the requirements of a disabled person. Hoe Grange have met these needs superbly, for example, a bed rail, a shower chair, even a moveable wash basin and much more. As others have said, the decor and fittings of the cabin are pure luxury, such that, actually, we would like to move in permanently, please, Felicity and David!
All of our previous breaks in other places have led to Colin getting home totally exhausted, having had to use insufficient and totally inadequate equipment; this time, we felt like we had BOTH had a fantastic break. We could write so much, but must highlight Hoe Grange breakfasts - awesome! Had breakfast then all we wanted was a light supper for the rest of the day. Two of the highlights for Gail were i) 10 mins trial on the Boma - brilliant freedom to drive on all sorts of terrain, enormous fun after 24 yrs with MS (see photo); ii) washing up! - there's a removable unit under the sink so Gail could get under to wash up, which she hasn't done for years - it represented normality and took away her disablity for a while, which you may or may not understand.
Among Colin's highlights - wonderful whirlpool bath! We're also totally converted to eco-living and have changed all our washing and bathing products to the ones in the cabin.
Needless to say, there and then we paid the deposit for our next stay in a few month's time, can't wait!
Thank you Felicity & David, you have created a very special place,
Gail & Colin

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felicity B, Owner at Hoe Grange Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review - fantastic that Gail enjoyed a sense of freedom trekking across the fields in our new off-road wheelchair - as soon as we tried it on demo we knew we had to buy one so our guests could enjoy the outdoors - we look forward to seeing you both again in June.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We mainly went to Hoe Grange mainly because it has amazing disabled facilities and its a farm and our daughter loves animals so we hoped it would be a lovely break for her and easier for us to manage her. But what a wonderful surprise we got when we arrived. It was beautiful, the cabin are top notch, so clean, so well thought out, every facility you can think of and the internal decor is lovely. So warm and cosy, with the most amazing views.
We arrived later than expected, but Felicity was still there to greet us and show us around. We had fresh bread, milk, butter and home made cakes/flapjack waiting for us. And the usual tea, coffee.
Our little girl immediately snuggled up in her cosy bed and settled down for the night, she had a shower chair provided and a good size wet room, all very useful for us and so well layed out for her wheelchair use, it made me think Id rather live in this than my own house. We had the most restful night, in the biggest and most comfortable bed we've ever slept in (in fact it was so comfy I've asked where I can buy the mattress from!).
The next day we got a knock at the door and Felicity had brough us a sheet of wheelchair accessible local things to do depending on the weather, which was in fact lovely, cold and sunny how we like it. We have never had anyone do that before and I found it very touching.
The whole place is so well organised, thought out and run. There is everything you could need in the kitchen, files of things to do, all the Eco info on the lodges ( which is amazing to read), games to play, books to read, beautiful walks( the pennine way was at the top of the field!) and the animals to see.
We stroked the horses (which were brought up to see our daughter), watched the calves come out for the first time which was hilarious, collected eggs and a great big thank you to the hosts son who went to bring the sheep down for Pip to see, he went to the field shouted, bhah and they all came running, well you should have seen the look on our daughters face.
All in all a lovely break, exactly what we needed, thank you for making it so easy for us.
We'll defiantly be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felicity B, Owner at Hoe Grange Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

It's great to hear you all enjoyed a relaxing stay with us - hopefully you have managed to get a mattresss the same as ours, they are certainly comfortable! So pleased that Pip enjoyed meeting all the animals and we hope to see you back sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hoe Grange Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoe Grange Holidays

Address: Hoe Grange Farm Ballidon Moor | Ballidonmoor, Brassington DE4 4HP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Brassington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Brassington
Price Range: $55 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoe Grange Holidays 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four award winning self-catering log cabins and two gorgeous glamping pods set in the spectacular Derbyshire countryside; a real "home from home" with fully equipped kitchen/open plan lounge, spacious bedrooms and luxurious whirlpool bath. Fabulous footpaths from the door, relax in our Swedish log fired hot tub under the stars, or bring your horse on holiday to enjoy the High Peak Trail. Excellent disabled facilities, NAS rated Mobility level 3. Ideal for families and larger groups of up to 18 guests, short breaks available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing