We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a treat.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hoe Grange Holidays

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brassington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hoe Grange Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a treat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We mainly went to Hoe Grange mainly because it has amazing disabled facilities and its a farm and our daughter loves animals so we hoped it would be a lovely break for her and easier for us to manage her. But what a wonderful surprise we got when we arrived. It was beautiful, the cabin are top notch, so clean, so well thought out, every facility you can think of and the internal decor is lovely. So warm and cosy, with the most amazing views.
We arrived later than expected, but Felicity was still there to greet us and show us around. We had fresh bread, milk, butter and home made cakes/flapjack waiting for us. And the usual tea, coffee.
Our little girl immediately snuggled up in her cosy bed and settled down for the night, she had a shower chair provided and a good size wet room, all very useful for us and so well layed out for her wheelchair use, it made me think Id rather live in this than my own house. We had the most restful night, in the biggest and most comfortable bed we've ever slept in (in fact it was so comfy I've asked where I can buy the mattress from!).
The next day we got a knock at the door and Felicity had brough us a sheet of wheelchair accessible local things to do depending on the weather, which was in fact lovely, cold and sunny how we like it. We have never had anyone do that before and I found it very touching.
The whole place is so well organised, thought out and run. There is everything you could need in the kitchen, files of things to do, all the Eco info on the lodges ( which is amazing to read), games to play, books to read, beautiful walks( the pennine way was at the top of the field!) and the animals to see.
We stroked the horses (which were brought up to see our daughter), watched the calves come out for the first time which was hilarious, collected eggs and a great big thank you to the hosts son who went to bring the sheep down for Pip to see, he went to the field shouted, bhah and they all came running, well you should have seen the look on our daughters face.
All in all a lovely break, exactly what we needed, thank you for making it so easy for us.
We'll defiantly be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felicity B, Owner at Hoe Grange Holidays, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
It's great to hear you all enjoyed a relaxing stay with us - hopefully you have managed to get a mattresss the same as ours, they are certainly comfortable! So pleased that Pip enjoyed meeting all the animals and we hope to see you back sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
158
81
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at Hoe Grange with our Labrador last week. It was absolutely superb. Really great setup for taking a dog. There were no roads around. We hardly needed the lead all week. From the log cabin we could take him straight out to play in the fields, and onto stunning hillside walks which lead directly onto the High Peak Trail. Our dog had a fabulous time.

The log cabins are absolutely gorgeous inside. The setting is stunning. The hospitality from the owners, Felicity and David, was spot on.

If you have a dog you have to try Hoe Grange - we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felicity B, Owner at Hoe Grange Holidays, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. As dog owners ourselves we are happy for guests to bring their dogs along. So glad Preston enjoyed his holiday and chasing around in the snow with Crunchie - we look forward to welcoming you all back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaerwen, N Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

My son and I stayed for a week at Hoe Grange and we were thoroughly pleased with the whole cabin experience. Even getting snowed in, we still managed to enjoy the cabin and it's surroundings by sledging and building snowmen. Would definitely return for another visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felicity B, Owner at Hoe Grange Holidays, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Great to hear you both enjoyed your holiday at Hoe Grange and borrowing our sledge- your right it can be just as much fun here in the winter snow as in the summer sunshine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Unreservedly recommended.

The cabin we stayed in over New Year 2012/13 was equipped and furnished to the highest standards and we greatly appreciated the comfort and good taste. Everything we could possibly have needed in terms of equipment was provided as well as all the tedious stuff like bin bags and loo roll which often get forgotten in the packing only to cause no end of crises upon arrival...

I would echo the positive points made by the other reviewers who stayed over this period and add that the visits to the farm to see the animals, the toys and games / dvd player in the cabin and the small play area on the site make this a very family friendly place.

It's easy to forget that night falls at 16h30 in the UK in mid-winter so these details together with the cosiness of the cabins are not to be overlooked by families with young kids!

The presence of the High Peak trail right next to the site means you can walk from the cabin without having to take the car.

Another delight was reading the eco-file provided to learn about how the site is more or less self-sufficient in terms of energy and water. Really interesting. Anyone who's thinking of building a passive house should certainly spend a week here for inspiration.

Concerning the wi-fi, yes it's a bit dodgy. I guess the router is in the farmhouse some metres distant from the cabins. I found that it actually worked fine except when it rained. The mobile phone coverage is poor too, but I believe there's a payphone on the site.

Anyone looking for excellent quality holiday accommodation away from the crowds yet within easy access of the Peak District's main attractions won't be disappointed. We loved it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KPR_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felicity B, Owner at Hoe Grange Holidays, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thanks for your kind words. Delighted that the children enjoyed feeding the farm animals, and pleased that you found our eco file informative - we hope to inspire others to use renewable energies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Following a traumatic year, we booked Daisybank Cabin with a view to enjoying a quiet Xmas. We have visited Hoe Grange every year since 2006 and rain or shine, our hosts Felicity and David have gone out of their way to help make it extra special. This year was no exception with Christmas decorations inside and out, a bottle of champagne in the fridge and mince pies on arrival plus the usual home made bread and extra touches we've come to expect and enjoy. All the cabins are of an exceptionally high standard...and we should know as we've stayed in every one of them! This was our first time in Daisybank though and suffice to say we loved every minute of it. One major aspect that appeals to our family is the positive Eco-stance that Hoe Grange have adopted, in particular the new wind turbine. Quite a soothing 'swishing' sound when you're standing on the decking, taking in a bit of fresh air and enjoying a beer!!! The only downside to this years trip was that we weren't staying longer to see the New Year in...but we'll be back again in August 2013. Can't wait...!

Sally, Nick, Jacob, Ben & Sian x

Room Tip: All the cabins are lovely...but we feel Hipley (the oldest and dog friendly) has got the best view w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felicity B, Owner at Hoe Grange Holidays, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Fabulous review - glad you enjoyed your first Christmas with us, you are fast becoming our most regular guests and we look forawrd to welcoming you back in August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Beautiful property with such a warm welcome from Felicity & David. For us the 'welcome pack' was just the absolute best. Very cozy cabins with great views. We stayed in the Rainster and thoroughly enjoyed having the animals & horses in our view as we woke and lazed about. Very peaceful. Easy access to all the hiking trails and small villages if you'd like to explore (a wealth of info in files compiled by Felicity). For those of you who enjoy baking & cooking - you have all you need to get creative in the kitchen! Also the eco concept behind the whole set-up works for us. We'll certainly be back.
Something extra: There's a lovely little jungle gym/play area for those of you with children. Very family friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann-explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felicity B, Owner at Hoe Grange Holidays, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your fab review. Glad you enjoyed a well deserved break after the chaos of Christmas. Good to hear you loved our eco concept and renewable energies. Come back when the weather is warmer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were a large group from Malta visiting Hoe Grange for a week this new year, accomodated in the Hipley and Pinder cabins. The cabins were amazing, lovely, cozy and to very high standards. Everything you could possibly need we would find in the cabin. We must admit that the best part of our holidays was always the time we spent cozy in the cabin every evening. The joyous christmas feeling was felt upon entering the cabin, with the lit up christmas tree, the pre-set dinner table with the food package and the bottle of champagne. We truly enjoyed every minute. The area is peaceful and a it was a great joy seeing the animals in the working farm. The hosts were so welcoming and helpful. Acessibility was perfect for my wheelchair bound sister making this holiday so much easier for her than any other. We will surely be back to Hoe Grange. Thanks so much for your hospitality. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felicity B, Owner at Hoe Grange Holidays, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thanks for your great review Nick. Wonderful to hear that you found our log cabins fully accessible, making your sister's holiday "so much easier than any other". We aim to be fully inclusive for everyone and are glad your family were able enjoy a relaxing Christmas holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brassington
5.5 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
7.9 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
15.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
6.1 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoe Grange Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoe Grange Holidays

Property: Hoe Grange Holidays
Address: Hoe Grange Farm Ballidon Moor | Ballidonmoor, Brassington DE4 4HP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Brassington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Brassington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoe Grange Holidays 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four award winning self-catering log cabins set in the spectacular Derbyshire countryside; a real "home from home" with fully equipped kitchen/open plan lounge, spacious bedrooms and luxurious whirlpool bath. Fabulous footpaths from the door, relax in our Swedish log fired hot tub under the stars, or bring your horse on holiday to enjoy the High Peak Trail. Excellent disabled facilities, NAS rated Mobility level 3. Ideal for families and larger groups of up to 18 guests, short breaks available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing