We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B that we’ve ever stayed in.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yew Tree Cottage B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Tansley B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 1, 2009

We really enjoyed our break, meeting up with friends, and enjoying the superb accommodation and wonderful food that you provided. I think, without doubt, that yours is the best B&B that we’ve ever stayed in – everything was just right, and we’ve already extolled your virtues to friends back home.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ButlersofPonteland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 113 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2009

I visited Yew Tree Cottage with my enchanting Lady Sarah in November 2009. We arrived on an astonishly wet Friday evening to be welcomed in warmly by Teanie and her husband, Richard. Within minutes we were sat in their lounge area eating THE most delicious home made Bakewell Tart accompanied by a delightful cup of tea.

We stayed in the Riber Wing which had everything we could have possibly wanted for a relaxing weekend - super-kingsize bed, TV/DVD, homemade orange shortbread biscuits, tea/coffee/ chocolate, hairdryer......the breakfast was fit for a King and Queen despite Teanie being sans Aga. She battled on bravely with a couple of camping stoves - what a trouper. She was a perfect hostess. We only left wondering what Teanie was short for?? Maybe we'll find out next time. Thanks.

Other comments - Roy from the local eatery, The Royal Oak, served up some good old fashioned tasty food. Thailand Number 1 in Matlock was to die for. We also had a lovely walk up by Riber Castle and into Matlock. A quick word of warning for nervous drivers - park at the bottom of Teanie's drive.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tommygaynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

Obviously the owner has put in tremendous effort in keeping this house in good shape and services. Teenie showed us its best artciles and tell us its history in good details to help our appreciation. She prepared delicious food in local styles with fresh ingredients, and was eager to cater for our individual preferences. Our stay in the Cottage has been very comfortable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dirkfung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

To sum up our stay here with one word - Fabulous. Away from the hectic life that we lead we found this absolutely charming B&B. We wanted peace and quiet, superb service and a host second to none - all three came in ample measures. I would thoroughly recommend Teannie and her hospitality to anyone looking for the very best in UK B&B. Quite stunning - if we visit the area again then I would not even look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeL999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dizzymisslizzy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tabba48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gardener63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yew Tree Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yew Tree Cottage B&B

Address: The Knoll, Tansley, Matlock DE4 5FP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Tansley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Tansley
Price Range: $120 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teanie provides luxury five star B&B in traditional cottage surroundings and specialises in providing for the requirements of each guest with an amazing attention to detail. The property is mainly over 300 years old in an extremely tranquil setting. The 3 en-suite bedrooms are one flexible super-king/twin suite with large seated shower one king-size double with bath and separate shower and one standard double. Breakfasts have an Eggcup Award from the AA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Yew Tree Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yew Tree Cottage B&B Tansley, Matlock, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing