We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect b & b”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yew Tree Cottage B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Tansley B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Had excellent stay at this B & B. Teanie's attention to detail is fabulous, breakfast was wonderful and the rooms were clean and beds very comfortable. Shame it was only for one night! We'll be back!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 113 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

Yew Tree Cottage gave me excellent impression even before I left home, two weeks prior to our stay. I requested to make a booking, and within half an hour I got a call from Teanie. That was around half-past nine in the morning. This told me that the landlady cared, and this could only be a good sign. Reservation was made, confirmed and information was provided to ensure we got clear directions.
As for the stay itself, there was nothing wanting. Teanie and Richard made us actually looked forward to discovering what the breakfast would look and taste like as if we were children expecting presents. Even though we chose each dish (out of an extensive menu) on the previous day, there was still an element of surprise because the presentation and the food served far exceeded what you'd expect from breakfasts served other than a five-starred hotel.
The helpfulness, attention and hospitality that Teanie and Richard lavished on us (and all guests) made a beautiful B&B and a lovely region even more wonderful.
It was truly a stay that was not what we expected at all, it was 10 times better.
I won't tell you any more than this, you need to experience it yourself.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honeybee4728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed with Teanie for 4 nights and we had a warm welcome. The en suite room was wonderful, the cooked breakfasts were delicious.
Teanie was very friendly and helpful.
What else can you wish for a B&B?
We'd love to come again!!!
Irene & George

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joerg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Just returned from an excellent stay with Teanie her welcome is second to none and can't do enough for you. Spotless, very comfortable and equipped accommodation. The breakfasts are to die for - we will return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stockcarfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

After cycling 84 miles to the peak district from Peterborough I could not have wanted any more from a bnb than what yew tree cottage offers. The cottage itself is lovely, spotlessly clean and has the perfect hosts, Teanie could not be any more welcoming, helpfull and kind if she tried. The breakfasts are simply gorgeous and full of homemade pride and Teanie's homemade jam is simply the best ever, with the recipe pre-printed ready to give to my mum! Thanks to you both for making our trip that little bit more special!

Kev Savory.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mintsauce96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Thank you teanie and richard we stayed with you for 5 nights and enjoyed every single one,your b/b deserves all the wonderful reviews written it is a great place to stay and looking forward to our return thank you ann and peter

Room Tip: we stayed in the riber room nice and quite perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trueimpressions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jean-christine22, Owner at Yew Tree Cottage B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We enjoyed your company.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

It`s hard to improve on perfection but this is what proprietors Mr & Mrs Dornan strive to do, customer satisfaction being their priority, even the smallest detail receives their full attention.
I cannot think of a single item which could be improved as our stay there was perfect.
There is a calm and restful garden with water features and a secluded and sunny seating area.
Breakfast is of the highest quality, not only in choice but also in presentation.
Evening meal can be had at the local Tavern. We were pleasantly surprised at how good the food was there.
Our visit was a special occasion and to find a beautiful vase of roses and glasses of sherry waiting for us in our room was a thoughtful and touching gesture.
All said this is probably one of the best Guest House B&B`s in Britain.
Will see you again soon. Best wishes Chris and Pete Draper. Sheffield.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OldClimber19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tansley
1.6 mi away
Sheriff Lodge
Sheriff Lodge
#3 of 54 in Matlock
444 reviews
4.4 mi away
Deeley House Bed & Breakfast
1.8 mi away
Cables B&B
Cables B&B
#1 of 8 in Matlock Bath
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Gables Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yew Tree Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yew Tree Cottage B&B

Address: The Knoll, Tansley, Matlock DE4 5FP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Tansley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Tansley
Price Range: $120 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teanie provides luxury five star B&B in traditional cottage surroundings and specialises in providing for the requirements of each guest with an amazing attention to detail. The property is mainly over 300 years old in an extremely tranquil setting. The 3 en-suite bedrooms are one flexible super-king/twin suite with large seated shower one king-size double with bath and separate shower and one standard double. Breakfasts have an Eggcup Award from the AA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Yew Tree Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yew Tree Cottage B&B Tansley, Matlock, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing