We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish and chips outside of Scotland”
Review of The Gate Inn

The Gate Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Tansley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: " The Gate Inn " caters for everyone. Being a village pub: local's call in for quick pint along with the pool and darts and boules teams who's friendly banter provides a great family and friendly atmosphere. Our extensive food menu and reasonably priced list of selected beers and wines have found popularity with our regular customers who give us honest feedback to keep us fresh and on our toes. Our new private function room with its own bar and rest room facilities room can cater for up to 100 diners which is great for those family occasions. With two outdoor terraces with great views over the countryside you can relax whist the kids play in secure area playground.
Matlock, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best fish and chips outside of Scotland”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We rarely have fish and chips in England but decided to go for it early last Thursday evening and we were really impressed. No skin on the fish which is unusual south of the border, beautiful batter and fish was first class. It's our second visit since the refurbishment and we've been impressed both times. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sybil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    107
    35
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Very nice Sunday lunch let down by slow service”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

There were six of us for Sunday lunch. It took a good 15 minutes to get a drink and take our orders. The meals came after a not too long wait and we all agreed that the quality and quantity of a traditional Sunday lunch was excellent. Nice tender meat served with fresh well cooked vegetables. Everything was hot and tasty. A request for extra veg and gravy was dealt with efficiently. We all decided to have a pudding and it took a while to attract the attention of a waitress. There was then a very lengthy wait for the pudding to appear but when they did they were all very nice.
We all agreed that the meal we had was very good but the experience was spoiled somewhat by lengthy waits which was a shame.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andyt2120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great pub with excellent food”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

After an excellent make over The Gate at Tansly is looking good. Very friendly bar staff with good real ales. Bar food excellent. Atmosphere could be better with dimed lights and candles, just a bit too bright but overall a job well done.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lainey394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“hogies3”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Visited for a family meal (9 of us) table big enough to accommodate more which was good as lots of places cannot cater for more than 6 on one table. Food was excellent, impressed with service, all served together. Wine list was impressive as most pubs do not have a good selection. The pub has been refurbished well and altogether is to a very pleasant evening.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annette h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Sunday Roast for miles”
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Served to your table, cooked very well and plenty of it. Well deserved 5 out of 5. We have been to many pubs around Derbyshire for Sunday lunch and currently The Gate tops the list.

Helpful?
Thank bdjonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gate Inn also viewed

 
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing