We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great campsite - great base for exploring Derbyshire Dales and the Peak District”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tansley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Packhorse Farm Camp Site
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed here over the bank holiday weekend and it was very enjoyable.
Lovely, well maintained camp site. Facilities were good and toilet block clean with plenty of hot water.
Tent pitches are well spaced and the field layout is good, allowing for each party to have their own space without feeling on top of each other.
Free freezer for freezing ice packs was a great perk as were the farm fresh eggs for breakfast!

3 pubs within a walking distance or a short drive away.

Would definitely visit again and recommend to friends. A great base for driving out to surrounding Derbyshire and Peak District attractions. About 20-25 mins drive to Chatsworth.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrsfelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 101 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

Andy & wendy from barnsley,We booked in advance for 4 nights with family and got 3 pitches together recommended by sue,quite and very private,made very welcome too on arrival,very clean and warm shower and toilet block and good pot washing area. Great base for sightseeing,first time here and not our last either

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 6 nights for a holiday, we had a lovely time. Received a very warm welcome and the pitch was a good size.
The wash block was very clean as was the washing up area. A new addition is a freezer for your cool blocks when is next to the washing up area and is free to use.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tjoyce1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We booked in advance having the whole family and friends with us and were allocated 4 numbered pitches next to each other, easy booking ,easy check in, nice peaceful site with good washroom facilities . local pub a good mile or so , serving real ales, and good pub food and local taxi firm charging £6 for 6 people for a return journey if you cant make it back up the hill after a few beers
The site would benefit from an onsite shop selling just the basic essentials
we will certainly return to this campsite

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynda723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We've just returned from a 6 night stay at this campsite which we chose after reading reviews on various sites. It was a lovely site with beautifully clean toilets and showers, a practical washing up area and very friendly, helpful owners. It wasn't particularly busy at the start of our stay but towards the end of the week, more families arrived which meant that the 3 shower cubicles in the ladies block were more in demand; that being said, no one is in the shower for hours so there was a quick turnover and we just timed our visits carefully. The fact that there was a "disabled/family" toilet and wet-room was a bonus for us and for lots of families with very small children who used this facility. There was some noise on and off from a nearby kennels and from a nearby road which seemed to channel motorbike noise above everthing else. Neither really bothered us though.
We would definitely return to this site and recommend it to others. We had a pitch with electric hook-up, right next to the toilet block which was nicely screened. It was a great place to stay!
We arrived on a Saturday and for the first time ever, didn't take a meal with us ready for the evening. By the time we'd pitched our tent and set up, it was nearly 6p.m. so we decided to have a bite to eat in nearby Matlock.....what a mistake. There was a very poor choice of restaurants and pubs nearby and not one of them could fit us in. I realise that it was a Saturday but it was relatively early and the place wasn't flooded with holiday makers or visitors at that point. As a last resort, we tried the fish and chip shop but at 7p.m. they were getting ready to shut and had just a few chips, a pie and a single piece of fish left! We ended up back at the camp site eating beans on toast. Lesson learned! Matlock was a real disappointment in a lot of ways but Bakewell was much nicer.....we should have headed there instead.

Room Tip: Anywhere is great, it's a nicely laid out site!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chocolocomama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We only stayed one night on a quick stopover with our dog. The booking procedure was efficient and polite. Signage was better than in most places, telling you where to check in and which way to go, as long as you read it of course. We were given a list of local information eg Drs, taxis, take aways, a map and clear instructions where to pitch.

The pitch was flat well mowed and clean with a picnic table. The toilets/showers were unbelievably clean, in fact I commented to me husband that the smell when you walked in was more like going into a clean house bathroom not a communal toilet area. I note that at 10pm they were being quick cleaned and sundries topped up.

There are areas all over the site neatly hidden behind fences for fire extinguishers rubbish bins BBQ bricks etc. Hedges and trees carve up the site and make it seem more private.

Overall a very pleasant experience, we will use the site again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bridget L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The positives;

Clean toilets and showers (certainly cleaned daily) hot water available at pot washing points. Nice flat, well maintained camping pitches, many with small hedges planted to provide some privacy and feature to your pitch. Perfect host, easy check in and a great staff.

The negatives;

Read in to the locale with a pinch of salt. The website says 1/2 a mile to the nearest pubs etc. From what I can tell, this is pretty much up and a down a sheer hill, which if you walked would kill (sorry, hurt) the fittest of people. I certainly wouldn't have wanted to do it with my 5 year old in tow. It's a biggish site and the facilities don't match the capacity of the site. At peak times (morning and evenings) you will wait for toilets and shower facilities. There is very little policing of the site rules. For example, it asks for no cricket / football etc, apart from small children with foam balls. We put our 5 year old down to sleep at about 8.30pm (it was a holiday!) but the next pitch insisted on playing football across and outside our tent until nearly 9.30pm. Additionally, it's quite noisy depending on when you stay. Despite the intentions of a curfews for noise etc. Giving the owners the benefit of the doubt, if anything serious happened, I'm sure they'd react. It's also a large site, so very difficult to patrol I'm guessing. It was a slight frustration.

Matlock was 2.5 miles away and a quick 10 minute drive. Matlock Bath (our intended destination) was just a little further than that. Matlock is a well equipped town with everything you would need or expect, which is important, as the campsite doesn't have a shop.

A good stay. We enjoyed it. The lack of a shop and the size of the site would probably prevent us from returning. It wasn't cheap either, £41.00 for the three of us for 2 nights. Little additions, like a secondary toilet block, or somewhere to buy even basic essentials (vending machine?) like milk would have been really useful.

Nothing overly wrong with it, just personal experience and observations.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RJohnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tansley
12.2 mi away
Sandybrook Country Park
Sandybrook Country Park
#1 of 20 in Ashbourne
414 reviews
17.0 mi away
Lime Tree Holiday Park
Lime Tree Holiday Park
#6 of 20 in Buxton
85 reviews
1.0 mi away
Yew Tree Cottage B&B
Yew Tree Cottage B&B
#2 of 3 in Tansley
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Packhorse Farm Camp Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Packhorse Farm Camp Site

Address: Packhorse Farm Foxholes Lane, Tansley, Matlock DE4 5LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Tansley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Tansley
Hotel Class:3 star — Packhorse Farm Camp Site 3*
Also Known As:
Packhorse Farm Camp Site Tansley, Matlock, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing