We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food with friendly service”
Review of The Royal Oak Inn - CLOSED

The Royal Oak Inn
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: French, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Quality lunches and evening meals, Sunday carvery,early bird specials,restaurant meals at pub prices
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food with friendly service”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Thursday evening treat for ourselves and friends is too find somewhere new to eat,our friends had driven past the oak earlier in the week so we decided to give it a try.. What a find,if you like pie this place is the best there is,and the fish is very good as well. The waitress was attentive but not intrusive.A very worthwhile visit,great food,nice atmosphere and good service.. We totally recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryEcksley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    56
    13
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Visited this gem of a pub/restaurant easter Sunday evening My husband and I just pulled in hoping to get some food,they were busy but the lovely lady behind the bar re layed a table and we were seated with a smile and a drink..the menu is extensive but the Chef knows his stuff.I had fish which was first class and my husband had an omelette also cooked perfectly,everything was served with a smile and the evening was very enjoyable.. We will back and bring friends.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteJames02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shockingly terrible!”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Me and my partner came away for a romantic break away and after reading the reviews on trip advisor and having been recommended by our B&B we decided to dine here. Well what a massive mistake that was!!Staff were so unfriendly and the service was diabolical. We got told they had 'naaaa chicken' and only half the starters,my food came out with bits of the menu missing(with no acknowledgement or apology) I had to ask numerous times for cutlery AND when complained about the state of my stake the waitress asked me if I wanted a doggy bag so I could take it home to the DOG! Says it all really!Menu was also quite expensive for the poor quality we recieved. Very disappointed and concerned about the level of professionalism and client care people are willing to offer nowadays!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmalouise1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sunday treat”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We arrived in Matlock Sunday afternoon, our hotel wasn't doing evening food so we had to eat out. A staff member recommended the Royal Oak so I rang and tried to book. The lady squeezed us in at 7.30 and we had a lovely meal, both of us had pate then steaks. The place was busy but the single handed lady ran the bar and the service exceptionally well. We we well looked after all night and had a lovely meal. A couple of local chaps came in for their usual pint and we spent the rest of the night chatting and learning all about where to go in Bakewell and Buxton.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent choice!”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Went last night with my family for the first time. Was pleasantly suprised at the choice on the menu. I had the goats cheese salad for starters which was very nice and all the food was beautifully presented. For main I had chicken in a mushroom and creamy sauce, again nicely presented and we all said how big the portions were. Definately going back soon.

Helpful?
Thank The-bees-knees85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Oak Inn also viewed

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing