We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent bed & breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Tansley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An excellent bed & breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have to pretty much echo all of the praise given by other guests. Claire and Paul are excellent hosts. The accommodation is of a very high standard. Breakfasts were fantastic with lots of local fresh food.

Very hard to find fault but there was just one minor issue. The TV in our room was quite small and mounted high in the corner of the room. Not a big issue to us as we didn't watch TV at all during our 3 nights stay but it could be an issue to guests who are short sighted.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
157
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We spent 4 nights at this fantastic B&B. Our rooms were immaculate and breakfast was superb. From Claire's homemade fruit compote at breakfast to Paul's advice about places to visit and best routes to take, to the Lady Grey tea in our daughter's room - it's all these little touches that make this a great place to stay!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SChalmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We have just had 3 nights staying with Paul & Claire & it was delightful. A lovely sunny room with a fantastic bathroom, soft towels, comfy bed and all to a very high standard.
We stayed in the ground floor room, which is very spacious and ideal for relaxing in.
Breakfast was delicious, a choice of fruits, cereals & yogurts, and then a cooked choice. I have to say the best eggs I have ever had & from their own chickens.
Worth a visit for an evening meal is The Plough which is approx 10 minutes away or a more pub grub meal but still good is The Tavern in the village.
This rural retreat is a real treat & perfect for visiting Chatsworth (15 mins) & for many nearby attractions & walking. Perfect if you appreciate the good things in life!

Room Tip: The ground floor room is lovely & sunny and very spacious and has a lovely big bath for relaxing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boogie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed with Claire and Paul for five nights. We were made very welcome and felt at home. Their lovely son played football with our son and we got many tips to plan our journeys in this beautiful area. The breakfasts were outstanding, including home grown fruits, cereals and yoghurt with perfectly cooked eggs. The children loved the garden and the swing! Paul, Claire and George made us feel at home with a really warm welcome, lovely room and attention to detail that makes all the difference. Silver Ridge exceeded our expectations and is definitely worthy of 10 stars at least. We will certainly return. WE WOULD CERTAINLY RECOMMEND A STAY THERE!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ziv B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was our first stay in the Matlock area visiting family and we couldn't have chosen a better place for our 3 day visit. Paul and Claire were excellent hosts with rooms and service of high quality. The breakfast was delicious with home grown fruits, variety of cereals and yoghurt with perfectly cooked bacon, eggs, sausage etc. The smoked salmon and scrambled eggs were a real treat. Paul and Claire made us feel at home with a really warm welcome, lovely room and attention to detail that makes all the difference. Silver Ridge exceeded our expectations and is definitely worthy of 5 stars. We will certainly return.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I stayed with Claire and Paul with my wife and daughter (12yo) for three nights. During our UK holiday we stayed at many high end B&Bs... Silver Ridge was a standout for the best we saw. Paul and Claire invited us into their home and we were treated an long time friends or family. They were simply wonderful. A highlight was that their son kindly taught us all how to play croquet.
I was taken ill during my stay and Claire and Paul were wonderful in their support of me and my Family.

We will return, it's worth the 24 hour flight from Australia.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottMob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

my husband and I enjoyed 3 nights at the bed and breakfast.

We were made very welcome and the breakfasts were lovely, with nice plum and apple with cinnamon to put on CEREAL AND many other assortments.

I WOULD CERTAINLY RECOMMEND A STAY THERE

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steamtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tansley
2.6 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 51 in Matlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Yew Tree Cottage B&B
Yew Tree Cottage B&B
#2 of 2 in Tansley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.4 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 51 in Matlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cables B&B
Cables B&B
#1 of 7 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast

Property: Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Address: Silver Ridge Foxholes Lane, Tansley, Matlock DE4 5LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Tansley
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tansley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Ridge is a luxury 5 star Bed & Breakfast with a gold Award. Set in 1 acre of mature gardens, surrounded by fields and woodlands. This quality accommodation offers peace & tranquility with a high degree of privacy to our guests, including a separate dining room and entrance. Along with award winning quality home cooking,using homemade & fresh local produce where possible, this all adds up to a truly memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast Tansley, Matlock, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing