We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay and very warm welcome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Tansley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at Silver Ridge. We stayed in the large room downstairs and our friends stayed in one of the upstairs rooms. Our room was exceptionally spacious and well decorated with a fabulous en suite bathroom complete with separate walk in shower and underfloor heating.

The breakfast was excellent with a choice of several delicious home made compotes to start with followed by a full cooked breakfast - we didn't need to eat for the rest of the day!

Claire was very welcoming on arrival greeting us with home made cake and a pot of tea. Everything was spotless and Claire's attention to detail, faultless. We will return!

Room Tip: The downstairs room is the largest of the three rooms with a luxurious bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 833AJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 275 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

A warm welcome with fresh coffee and cake, the room was immaculate and every attention to detail (even an emergency box packed with items that we may have forgotten to pack). The bathroom was also superb and we were so warm and comfortable.
Breakfasts were wonderful and we felt as if we were being specially looked after by Claire and Paul. But i guess this was just all part of the service...A1!!.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Wonderful location. Comfortable rooms, tastefully furnished. Luxury bathroom - spotless! Very friendly, helpful hosts - Claire, Paul & George. Nothing was too much trouble. Arrived in the evening to a welcome tea and cake! A 'spoilt for choice' breakfast, with every need catered for - delicious home made compote, jams, bread and good coffee! Lovely log burner ensured the dining room was warm & cosy. Deserving of their many awards. Look forward to our next visit. Joyce, Garry, Tarn & Alan

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizadoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We recently stayed for three nights in the Oak room on the ground floor. Everything about our stay was perfect - Claire and Paul are the perfect hosts with information on where to eat, visit and the best routes.

The room was spotlessly clean and spacious with a beautiful luxury bathroom. Attention to detail was second to none - loved having good quality mugs to drink our early morning tea from! The bed was immaculate and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, especially Claire's homemade fruit compote!

Would highly recommend and look forward to our next visit very soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaz1384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here recently based on the reviews and also because it was a five star. We arrived in the evening so didn't really get to see the room properly until the morning. Had a nice welcome from Claire with tea and cake was which was a nice touch.

In the morning, saw the room was very clean - don't think I've ever seen such pristine bedding! One thing though as we were staying in the attic Pine Room, we both bumped our heads a couple of times forgetting about the sloping ceiling, especially when walking towards the bedside table. It was nice to have the sofa in the room though as there was no guest lounge.

Breakfast was nice - we didn't like the sausages (but that's personal preference) and we expected better yoghurts rather than Activia in a five star. We were sat in what I would describe as a small hallway with a real fire, as immediately coming through the main entrance door was the area where you had breakfast (three good size tables). If guests were coming and going whilst eating breakfast it would be a bit draughty so would have been nicer to have been in a separate room.

We were lent a map by Paul for the area which was kind and he offered travel advice which was helpful.

All in all, a pleasant stay for us but we wouldn't stay again simply because of the head height issue and we're not tall.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovemyOwtdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Silver Ridge was chosen based on all the other reviews. Everything that was previously said is true. We arrived in two separate cars around lunchtime and left one of our cars in the parking area before going into Matclock, to return later to check-in. Claire and Paul were very welcoming. They made us feel special. They even lent us a map to take off with us on one of our trips out. Excellent and well deserving of their No. 1 rating.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dormanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We chose Silver Ridge for our stay in the Matlock-Ashover area at the end of September based on its Tripadvisor reviews. We concur with all the previous glowing comments! We were made very welcome, with lovely coffee and cake on arrival and excellent breakfasts during our stay. Paul gave us very helpful advice on the local facilities and activities in the area. We stayed in the Oak Room, which is very spacious and has every amenity you could wish for (including a lovely bathroom with under-floor heating!). We have already recommended Silver Ridge to family and friends, and we hope to have the opportunity to return one day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sands_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tansley
2.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
330 reviews
3.7 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
824 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Cables B&B
Cables B&B
#1 of 8 in Matlock Bath
464 reviews
1.4 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#2 of 53 in Matlock
442 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yew Tree Cottage B&B
Yew Tree Cottage B&B
#2 of 2 in Tansley
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast

Address: Silver Ridge Foxholes Lane, Tansley, Matlock DE4 5LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Tansley
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tansley
Price Range: $53 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Ridge is a luxury 5 star Bed & Breakfast with a gold Award. Set in 1 acre of mature gardens, surrounded by fields and woodlands. This quality accommodation offers peace & tranquility with a high degree of privacy to our guests, including a separate dining room and entrance. Along with award winning quality home cooking,using homemade & fresh local produce where possible, this all adds up to a truly memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Ridge Bed & Breakfast Tansley, Matlock, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing