We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful home from home”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Old Farmhouse

The Old Farmhouse is an 18 century stone cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Farmhouse is an 18 century stone cottage
The Old Farmhouse Lawned garden with seating
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
43 reviews
The Old Farmhouse is an 18 century stone cottage
The Old Farmhouse
Lawned garden with seating
Lounge with log burner
Modern Kitchen
Fully equipped kitchen
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Downstairs shower room
Up Stairs Washroom
Play Area/ Climbing Frame
Walks from the cottage
View of surrounding area from back of cottage
Our Free Range Chichens
Lambing Time
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Darley Moor, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jennifer...
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful home from home”
Reviewed April 10, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed at this cottage for a long weekend break with our friends and their little lad (2)...to celebrate a 48th birthday. From the moment we met Shelley she made us feel wonderfully welcome. The cottage was perfect...it was very inviting, cosy, beautifully warm and extremely quiet and well equipped. We totally relaxed during our stay. There were lambs and chickens to see and Shelley made it extra special by letting us feeds the lambs that had just just been born...which the little lad loved. You will not be disappointed at all staying at this cottage...if u are after a peaceful relaxing break.

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin A
1 review
“Great location, everything you need, helpful owners.”
Reviewed January 4, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Stayed for new years, house is lovely, full of character and charm, log burner was brilliant. Not far from Matlock or anywhere else really in the Peak District. House was warm, had everything we needed, even had a Christmas Tree up and the owners left us a bottle of Champagne to see the new year in with. Owners were very approachable and helpful without being on top of us. Fully recommend, and will stay again.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Date of stay: October 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
youmeands...
scunthorpe
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage”
Reviewed October 16, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Lovely peaceful setting and also allow dogs which is a bonus. Spacious cottage and well equipped. Log burner makes for a very cosy feel. Owners are extremely helpful and friendly.

Date of stay: October 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vonne155
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed October 3, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Had a lovely time in Derbyshire.The cottage was great lovely and warm and everything we needed.Lovely walks up back lane through the wood my 2 wee dogs loved it too.

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark G
Brandon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Would Visit again Tomorrow if I had the Chance”
Reviewed August 27, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Can only say good things about the old farmhouse, very old fashioned but still has most of the mod cons and essentials you need (and more than your average holiday let) Dog friendly was a bonus for us too.
Shelley, the owner, very friendly and helpful. The location is superb, very peaceful and some great walks (Yes I did go down to the Brook and my legs still hurt!, but it was worth it)
Wifi was a bit iffy but sure this will be resolved as owner did explain. It was actually quite nice to be cut off from wifi for a change to be honest, phone signal not great but did actualy get 4G.
Will certainly be going back one day I hope, thankyou for making us feel welcome

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: My car getting muddy
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L000999
Hurst Green, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“beautiful calm family stay”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great cosy character and functional cottage, in a lovely part of the country.
wonderful farmer owners, (Steve & Shelley) who were very helpful, but also allowed for privacy.
definitely recommend a stay at The Old Farmhouse.
My 8 yr old loved collecting fresh eggs with the owner shelley, and they tasted great! we even made cakes with them to share with the owners.
You are close to beautiful attractions,- Treak cavern at castletown, also matlock cable carts, and cave, monsal cycle trail near bakewell which was brilliant!, to mention a few.
Only slight down fall for us at the cottage was that the shower wasn't as powerful as we would have liked, but certainly shouldn't put anyone or any family staying at this tranquil holiday cottage.:)

Date of stay: August 2016
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing