We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Darwin Forest Country Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a lovely family holiday staying in an 8 person lodge, with hot tub. The facilities and the grounds are superb and the accommodation was almost perfect.
Two important things:
1, I understand the logic behind it, but really... Waterproof sheets?? This isn't a stag infested travelodge. It was like sleeping on cardboard. Needless to say we removed these on day two and managed to go the whole week without soiling the bed... Seriously though, mattress management can be handled much better than resorting to these horrors.
2. The 8 man lodges need bigger fridges. In all other respects 8 people were accommodated well, but the fridge issue was a nightmare. I suggest you get shot of the little freezer and put in another fridge instead (it's not like the fridges don't have freezer compartments). This was a real problem for us.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (974)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

721 - 727 of 974 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband me and our 2 children (5 and 7)And our westie stayed for a week. we had a lovely time nice walks and the kids enjoyed the soft play. The lodge was spotless and we were so pleased with it. We went to the foresters too it was ok not great pub grub really. The kids loved the walks. We only live an hour away but it felt a million miles. Loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajinoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is the second time my family and I have been to Darwin Park and we agree that this is a great place to choose for a holiday, With all the park has to offer it covers for all ages and you will find the staff very helpful. The lodges have there own space that allows for a peaceful and enjoyable holiday.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank StuRowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our first stay here. We arrived to find a lovely 2 bed compact lodge, we were hit by and awful smell on entering, I mentioned it to reception and I was given a can of air freshened straight away which helped. The lodge was very clean. Plenty to keep our 6 yr old entertained especially as there was snow on the ground, the indoor play area and the swimming pool helped there. Felt like a small center parcs. Lovely part of England to explore also. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenAtherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have just returned from our family holiday at Darwin Forest Country Park. We had an excellent holiday. The park was beautiful, very quiet and peaceful. The lodge was spotless and had everything we needed. We were lucky to have a really private lodge which didn't neighbor any other lodge. We had a hot tub which was heaven. There is plenty to do on the park, we went swimming and the pool was never busy, we played mini golf and went to the huge onsite soft plat. We also had our dinner at Foresters which was ok. Its a brilliant base for exploring too. The service is excellent, we asked for a barbecue and a sun umbrella and we got them within an hour of asking. The one and only wee gripe was the beds were really soft. It hasn't put us off going back as we have already booked to return later in the year!

Room Tip: We had a Peveril Spa lodge which was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenda0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We are a family of four with two young kids and Darwin Forest has excelled and surpassed our expectations on all levels!

There is a soft play for little ones which is free although there is a Little Monkeys large soft play on the site which gives a discount for those staying on the park.

We didn't play tennis or hire bikes as our kids are a bit small but if you have older kids this is fab. There is a trim track and woodland walk which is of course free and fun. The swimming pool and facilities inside are excellent. I wish I had brought my gym kit with me.

The reception staff are all very friendly and well informed. The shop could do with a little more variety in some areas like the cold cabinet but that is about all I can moan about!

The crazy golf is not free but it is fun and we've played twice as a family and had great fun.

The cabin was so well equipped I almost fainted! Everywhere else we've been we've had to bring tea towels, scourers and washing up liquid etc. not here! We have everything including dish washer tablets and as many towels as we could need! Amazing! The cabin is tidy and clean and the park itself is very quiet which we love.

I can see us coming back here year after year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NikiR93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Took our 2 year old for a week, and Darwin Forest was perfect in every way. She loved the play areas, pool and Little Monkeys. From our point of view everything was clean and the staff really couldn't be more helpful. Went to Centre Parcs last year and Darwin is our favourite. Will definitely be visiting again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank gtfc_bruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darley Moor
13.2 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
19.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
2.6 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
413 reviews
12.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
4.6 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darwin Forest Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darwin Forest Country Park

Address: Darley Moor, Matlock DE4 5PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Darley Moor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Darley Moor
Price Range: $79 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Darwin Forest Country Park 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Peak District, Darwin Forest is a 5-star holiday park in a delightful woodland setting. Accommodation is in modern self-catering lodges with everything provided for a great family holiday. Lodges sleep form 2 to 8 people. Facilities include indoor swimming pool, indoor play area, bar/restaurant, tennis, beauty therapy, soft play and woodland walks. Darwin holds the David Bellamy Award for Conservation at Gold standard and a Visit England Award for Excellence. Handy for Chatsworth, Bakewell, Haddon Hall and all the sights of the Peak District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Darwin Forest Country Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darwin Forest Country Park Hotel Two Dales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing