We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Darwin Forest Country Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2013

my husband and i had never been to a hoeseasons place before but after being thoughly put off at center parks we decided to try it we took my mother and father in law and 17 month old son and we had a fantastic time,i was thrilled to find a large soft play room which my son loved it was free and open all day so i could take him whenever i wanted the pool is lovely and i like the fact that it is cut off into sections i.e lanes for swimming,a baby pool and a bit you could just mess around in the cabin was lovely and clean(not like center parcs) and the hot tub was warm and checked daily i couldnt fault the place at all i would recommend this to anyone and will def be going back again

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (974)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

766 - 772 of 974 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

We just spent a really nice weekend at Darwin. Can I firstly though, just correct the previous reviewer, in the fact that this is not a Hoseasons site, but Hoseason's have purchased some of the lodges and rent them out via their website. We booked direct with Darwin Park. We were given an excellent villa (elvatson spa), very secluded, with a hot tub and sauna. Regardless of what a review back in June 2012 said, the accommodation was perfect and not overlooked by anyone. Even though the weather was appalling, the site were excellent at clearing paths, and providing a route to get our car out. Foresters did excellent food (you do need to book!) and the staff were very friendly. Only negative was although excellent water pressure in the bath, shower was electric and fairly poor waterflow. We are looking to book again when we can actually get to see some of the peak district minus the heavy snow!

Room Tip: We had lodge 112, an excellent location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leecat82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinelogger, Manager at Darwin Forest Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Really glad to hear that you enjoyed your weekend away in your Elvaston Spa lodge - must have been great soaking away in the hot-tub with deep snow all around you. Just to note though that Hoseasons don't own any of the lodges at our park - or other parks come to that - but they do act as agents and help us promote our lodges to customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I were due to stay at Darwin Forest but had to cancel because of the extreme weather. Yes, the site was open but the roads to it and the surrounding areas were either closed or passable with extreme care. Even part of the motorway was just 15 mph. A member of staff even told me that although the site was open the roads in the surrounding areas were a bit hazardous. I'm disabled and my husband has walking difficulties, so we felt it was sensible not to travel.

Having stayed at both Darwin Forest and Sandybrook on numerous occasions, I rquested for my booking to be transferred to another time rather than lose out the £400+, after all it wasn't my fault we were unable to travel, we were just being safe drivers. It seems that since Hoseasons have taken over the site, their customer service has gone a bit "downhill" because nothing has been a problem in the past.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank Adviser2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinelogger, Manager at Darwin Forest Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Good Morning. I gather that you were booked in for a 4-night holiday with us, starting yesterday. We have indeed had quite a bit of snow over the weekend, but the park has remained open for business and many of our guests have been very complimentary about how we helped them, including fetching some of them from the train station. I have phoned you on this second morning of your booking to reassure you that roads are open and you should have no difficulty getting to us, but you don’t seem to be in at present, so I have left a message for you. We note from your booking that you have not booked an adapted lodge for disabled use or taken out our Cancellation Guarantee. We would also advise you that some 69 lodges were occupied by new arrivals yesterday.
Hopefully we may still be able to welcome you to the park later this week, or failing that on some future occasion.
For the record, Darwin Forest is still owned and operated by Pinelodge Holidays. Hoseasons are merely booking agents for the many parks in their portfolio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just returned from a week long stay at Darwin. Stayed in a Peveril Lodge with hot rub which my daughter loved. The staff where friendly and helpfull. The lodge clean, tidy and had a good spec. Even when it snowed on arrival we had plenty to do. The pool is a good size, little monkeys was a hit with my 8 year old and the snooker room was a tonic for my husband.

The shop stocked essentials including local produce. Did not have a meal at the Foresers but did have a drink, seemed nice. Was quiet which was to be expected midweek in March.

There is lots to see and do in the area, even though its out of season both locally in Matlock and Matlock Bath.

There is alot to do on site and due to the weather could not use ie short tennis court, Trim Trak and mini golf. So we would love to return in the later in the year.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaUK442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Came here during March, cannot really say I didn't have a good time, as it was really good, we stayed in an 8 berth with a hot tub and there was lots of space. Staff were helpful and came round immediately when reporting a minor fault. My only main complaint would be the size of the TV, as it is pretty minuscule and impossible to see when sat on the far sofa and blackout blinds/curtains needed for rooms, especially where street lights are outside. Also, the pub is not as friendly as it used to be and we felt out of place when going in with wet clothing/wellies on, it is a country pub after all. We never ate in the food but it looked expensive as we guessed from the drink prices. A dryer would be more handy than washer or even a spinner as our swimming clothing was impossible to dry due to the high quantity! I will be coming back as it was enjoyable and have been coming for many years, but some minor details that could be improved. The games room was tidy as well as the snooker room being good value for money. Staff were lovely and friendly like always and very welcoming.

Room Tip: Larger cabins are better, definitely go for a hot tub! So nice to go in after your tea when the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SlackAlice2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We visited Darwin last weekend and stayed in a riber lodge. This is different to last time as we stayed in a Elveston. All the lodges are the same layout except for the bathroom and if we went again we would not have a riber as it is too basic in the bathroom. That said again the lodge was spotlessy clean and very warm with everything you need - including the snow this time ! But believe me if it snows when you are there because it is high up it is beautiful.
The pool was still as nice and the whole place is sooooo relaxing.
We eat at the forresters - not as good as last time - but ok - but if you can venture into matlock where there are some lovely places to eat.
Chesterfield market is good on a saturday.
Will definitely go back again but my advice is to get the best lodge you can afford as the extras are worth it .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westie6692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinelogger, Manager at Darwin Forest Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Great to hear that you have enjoyed your recent visit again. Just to let you know that the bathrooms in the Riber lodges are on our project list for later this year. Whilst the hip-bath with shower over has served us well over the years, we acknowledge that it is not ideal and our plans are either to replace these with a proper deluxe shower or in many cases to replace the lodge altogether. It's nice to know that the little extras are appreciated. Many thanks and we hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay at Darwin forest. Booked through Hoseasons though you can book with the Park direct Stayed in an Elvaston Spa Lodge with hot tub, spa bath and sauna. Lodge lovely, very clean and well equipped. Lovely to start and finish the day with sauna and hot tub. Lodge warm and cosy which was needed with the snow outside. Friendly squirrels that visited daily for breakfast. Nice walks in the forest and Park. Swimming pool, childrens play area, crazy golf, shop and restaurant on site. . Sainsburys nearby in Matlock. Nice area to tour from although too early in season to vsit some places as still closed for Winter/Spring. Nearby Bakewell, Matlock , Matlock Bath and Chesterfield worth a visit. Must try the Bakwell Tart. Also visited Ashbourne and did the heritage trail. Whilst at Ashbourne drove to the sister park Sandybrook to have a look and much prefer Darwin as the lodges and park setting at Darwin are more more secluded and quiet. Several National Trust houses to visit within a short drive including Hardwick Hall and mill, and Sudbury Hall with museum of childhood. The Staff at Darwin are friendly and helpful and the bag of mints given for the journey home was a kind touch. Definately a lovely place to stay and unwind. We will return.

Room Tip: Worth paying little bit extra for a lodge with hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laineylou171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Darley Moor
13.2 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
19.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
15.5 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
2.6 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
867 reviews
4.6 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darwin Forest Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darwin Forest Country Park

Address: Darley Moor, Matlock DE4 5PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Darley Moor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Darley Moor
Price Range: $79 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Darwin Forest Country Park 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Peak District, Darwin Forest is a 5-star holiday park in a delightful woodland setting. Accommodation is in modern self-catering lodges with everything provided for a great family holiday. Lodges sleep form 2 to 8 people. Facilities include indoor swimming pool, indoor play area, bar/restaurant, tennis, beauty therapy, soft play and woodland walks. Darwin holds the David Bellamy Award for Conservation at Gold standard and a Visit England Award for Excellence. Handy for Chatsworth, Bakewell, Haddon Hall and all the sights of the Peak District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Darwin Forest Country Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darwin Forest Country Park Hotel Two Dales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing