We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little restaurant”
Review of Le Tomifobia

Le Tomifobia
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Stanstead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Gourmet stop in a lovely country setting in the heart of eastern townships, fresh organic products, fully licensed.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely little restaurant”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We came to this restaurant as recommended by our hostess at our B&B ("Cosy B&B) who said the food was really good. We drove about 10-15 minutes from the town of Stanstead to get here. The drive was somewhat a challenge because our GPS took us onto gravel roads. But when we eventually got to the restaurant, we were pleasantly surprised to see that it was a nice little house transformed into an elegant restaurant. It didn't disappoint us at all.

We picked from the lunch menu and each had a different dish. I also tried their apple cider wine (it's famous in Quebec). There was also a piano in the dining room and at some point during our meal, one of the guests went up to the piano and started playing music for a couple sitting nearby because he found out it was their anniversary. [I don't think he was a host; he was a customer.]

The restaurant was located in a quiet little corner of a street really close to the US border. The waitress was very nice and she took care of all the tables on her own and was able to manage and didn't make us wait that long either.

The dessert was absolutely delicious. We had caramel brulé (the "grandmother" of creme brulé, a famous French dessert).

We had a nice dining experience. I would definitely go back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shmnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    9
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great food, but pricey.”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Each time we have eaten here, we've been very pleased with the food. It's as close as you are going to get to a Breton cafe in this region. Service can be slow, but that's part of the charm. Just be sure you are on "European" time when you eat here.
My only complaint is that it can get pricey. Since much of their menu can be purchased in France from street vendors, you really notice how expensive it can get once you add tax and tip. A crepe that may be no more than 4 euros in France will cost you at least three times that amount here. But the ambiance is definitely worth something.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kilarneyvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Breton Bistro in rural Quebec!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

A meal at Tomifobia feels like being over to dinner at a friend's house .... Who Just so happens to be an outstanding French chef. A cheerful unpretentious and oh - so - delicious experience with an amiable chef/waitress/maître d' all rolled in to one.

Don't go looking for Olive Garden-sized portions - everything is fresh, delicious , and prepared with great craft and care. And sparked for us a lively debate about "cerises de terre."

Helpful?
Thank Eixom66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
“Le Tomifobia - a best-kept secret!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We dined with eight of our family at this small, charming restaurant in Stanstead, Quebec. It could be called a crêperie, given that crêpes are a specialty, but that would be denying the full scope of a magnificent menu.

Since we were ten people in all, we managed to order many of the dishes on the menu. I noted some of our party relishing the smoked trout plate appetizer, and others the home-made duck or rabbit pâté. For the entrées, some of us had the chicken chasseur, others the blanquette of rabbit , still others the couscous (vegetarian for one person, chicken for another). Some ventured into the salmon à la nantaise. To say that one of these was more delicious than another is to say that one person's taste is different from that of another person. Everything was delicious!

The wine list was more than adequate to satisfy any taste and pocketbook. It was an extensive list, not exhaustive, but more than adequate.

Posted by Dr. Les McLean, Burlington, Ontario, Canada

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Les M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Long wait for under-whelming food”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We visited last week on our trip to Lake Memphremagog based on its reviews. The restaurant building and grounds were beautiful. The service was extremely poor and claimed they were "over-whelmed" by about 10 guests. The "crepes" (the meal they are best known for) were cold, dry and served one at a time over 15 minutes. As much as we hoped for a great experience, we were very disappointed with the evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Aficionado50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Tomifobia also viewed

 

Been to Le Tomifobia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing