We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply perfect”
other travelers have booked this property
Abbotsleigh Cottage is a stylish 2 bedroom contemporary apartment within a Regency country house.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Abbotsleigh Cottage is a stylish 2 bedroom contemporary apartment within a Regency country house.
Living room with a wood burning stove Bedroom with a super kingsize bed and high quality matress
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Abbotsleigh Cottage is a stylish 2 bedroom contemporary apartment within a Regency country house.
Living room with a wood burning stove
Bedroom with a super kingsize bed and high quality matress
Open plan living room with wood burning stove
Super Kingsize bed with Egyptian cotton sheets and views over the valleys and beyond
Outside seating right in front of the apartment
Bunkroom off the main bedroom, great for kids and adults alike.
Bunkroom with full length beds, great for kids and adults alike.
Bunkroom with full length beds, great for kids and adults alike.
Autumn view from the living room
The gardens at Abbotsleigh Cottage
Garden at Abbotsleigh Cottage
Bridge over the River Frome at Freshford
Freshford Village, the area known as Sharpstone
Bridge over the River Frome and the Inn at Freshford just the otherside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Freshford, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Simply perfect”
Reviewed September 21, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Our stay at Abbotsleigh Cottage was wonderful. We were greeted by the hosts in the kindest way. They went the extra mile to be flexible and make sure that we could stay there over those days, as dates were really key for us. The apartment is very beautiful: clean, with all comforts, quiet, perfect. The garden is stunning. It is an oasis of peace and beauty. I would highly recommend Abbotsleigh Cottage to anyone wishing to explore Freshford and the surrounding areas.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the cottage and the beauty of the place
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChazaD25
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect trip”
Reviewed September 9, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We decided on booking abbotsleigh cottage for our first holiday with our 8 week old baby. The cottage was a short drive from Bath and other tourist spots. The cottage itself was spotless and had everything we needed for our stay. The bed was so comfortable, we have now invested in a new matresses for home. Highly recommend. We were very impressed with the small details, brownies on arrival. A cupboard with coffee, alcoholic drinks that can be purchased. The owner even placed a high chair and travel cot in our room on arrival knowing we have a small child. Also their garden was wonderful to sit out in.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fco H
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Most beautiful place in England”
Reviewed August 19, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have had a great experience at Abbotsleigh Cottage.
The Cottage is as described, , the kitchen has all the necessary , the wifi is very powerful, the bed is comfortable , the garden is lovely , and everything is very clean. The hosts are very friendly and cordial , really nice people . We have traveled with small children and we really enjoyed Freshford and surroundings. By the train you can visit many nearby destinations without any problems. The place is idyllic maybe one of the most beutiful places I have ever been in England , hope to come back again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jocelyndi...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What's not to like?”
Reviewed June 17, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We've sat here for 10 minutes trying to think of something different to say- but it has all been said previously! The accommodation is perfect, the view from the garden spectacular and Naomi and Phil even laid on hot and sunny weather for us. We could not ask for more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything we expected was there.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob R
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Accommodation in a Lovely Village”
Reviewed May 30, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A comfortable and well equipped apartment attached to the owner's house in the unique and lovely village of Freshford near Bath. Naomi and Philip were excellent hosts and at home most of the time for any needed assistance and friendly conversation. Parking is at a premium in this narrow-laned village, so it was great that the property had a private space just outside the door of the flat. The double arched window in the lounge looked out over the owner's beautiful garden and beyond to the rolling English countryside. WiFi reception was excellent and reliable. There are a number of country walks straight from the property, including to Iford Manor Gardens and along a canal to Bradford-on-Avon where the Bridge Tea Rooms (No. 1 in TripAdvisor) provide a delicious meal in a classic tea room atmosphere. From the flat it's a 10 minute walk to the Freshford train station providing a short and reasonably priced ride to Bath or Bradford-on-Avon and beyond (including London).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners
Liked least: The lane leading to the property is very narrow and steep - two vehicles cannot pass. But it's only a short distance from a wider lane and there is very little traffic.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonti20...
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great base to view the sites”
Reviewed May 17, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We would like to thank Phil and Naomi for a wonderful stay in your peaceful country cottage within the beautiful village of Fresford. The cottage contained everything we needed and more. Phil even kindly washed our cloths. Perfect location to base ourselves for our family adventures to the local historical sites eg. Bath, Stone Henge, Avebury Stone circles, Farleigh castle, Wales, etc. Caught the train into Bath very handy. Note when getting off at Freshford station you must exit in the first door of the first carriage as its the only door that is opened, for what reason I do not know. We really enjoyed the walks in the woods even though it was a little muddy, if we come again we will bring our gum boots (wellies). Enjoyed the local pub and Ilford. Loved waking up in the morning and looking out over the woods while listening to the birds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Narrow Lanes
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eike_h_mu...
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very nice self-catering apartment in perfect location”
Reviewed April 30, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I booked the apartment for my parents, who stayed in Freshford for three nights while visiting me. It's a very nice self-catering flat in a perfect location, just outside Bath. Very picturesque village with all amenities close by (train station with hourly trains to Bath + pub in the village). The shop, just ten minutes walk away, is great and has everything you need + a small cafe. Perfect location for exploring the countryside around Bath, which we love: Iford Manor is about a mile away and Avoncliff within walking distance up the river Avon. Naomi and Phil were very nice hosts (thanks again for helping me find the shop five minutes before it closed on the evening we arrived!) and the booking process and communication before our visit was very smooth and painless.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing