We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very nice self-catering apartment in perfect...”
other travelers have booked this property
Abbotsleigh Cottage is a stylish 2 bedroom contemporary apartment within a Regency country house.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Abbotsleigh Cottage is a stylish 2 bedroom contemporary apartment within a Regency country house.
Living room with a wood burning stove Bedroom with a super kingsize bed and high quality matress
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Abbotsleigh Cottage is a stylish 2 bedroom contemporary apartment within a Regency country house.
Living room with a wood burning stove
Bedroom with a super kingsize bed and high quality matress
Open plan living room with wood burning stove
Super Kingsize bed with Egyptian cotton sheets and views over the valleys and beyond
Outside seating right in front of the apartment
Bunkroom off the main bedroom, great for kids and adults alike.
Bunkroom with full length beds, great for kids and adults alike.
Bunkroom with full length beds, great for kids and adults alike.
Autumn view from the living room
The gardens at Abbotsleigh Cottage
Garden at Abbotsleigh Cottage
Bridge over the River Frome at Freshford
Freshford Village, the area known as Sharpstone
Bridge over the River Frome and the Inn at Freshford just the otherside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Freshford, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
eike_h_mu...
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very nice self-catering apartment in perfect location”
Reviewed April 30, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I booked the apartment for my parents, who stayed in Freshford for three nights while visiting me. It's a very nice self-catering flat in a perfect location, just outside Bath. Very picturesque village with all amenities close by (train station with hourly trains to Bath + pub in the village). The shop, just ten minutes walk away, is great and has everything you need + a small cafe. Perfect location for exploring the countryside around Bath, which we love: Iford Manor is about a mile away and Avoncliff within walking distance up the river Avon. Naomi and Phil were very nice hosts (thanks again for helping me find the shop five minutes before it closed on the evening we arrived!) and the booking process and communication before our visit was very smooth and painless.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian R
Overijse, Belgium
1 review
“Relaxing place to stay”
Reviewed April 4, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This cottage is delightful. Well equiped and very comfortable. My wife and I used it as our base for 5 days shopping/touring and it was great to be able to wind down and recharge our batteries each night. As mentioned by others accessing the driveway by car off a very narrow and steep lane is a little tricky, but we soon mastered the technique even with my fairly large estate car. The setting is stunning with lovely views and we are already planning a return visit.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martin w
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Birthday Treat”
Reviewed March 24, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed here for my Birthday weekend in March and it was a really relaxing break the flat had everything we needed and was a very tranquil setting with lovely views over Freshford and easy train link into Bath .Our hosts were very nice and available if needed I would certainly recommend this holiday let to anyone who enjoys peace and quite.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing location and chocolate brownies
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrjo192
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great all round!”
Reviewed March 10, 2016 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed here in November and thought it was brilliant, very quiet spot close to Bath with lots of space and modern appliances. Both of us work in luxury hotels in London and have to admit they have done a superb job with what they offer to their guests and cleanliness. Look forward to coming back again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael W
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay in this cozy cottage”
Reviewed March 7, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Phillip and Naomi were wonderful hosts who greeted upon arrival and at our departure. You would never know they were there the 3 days we were there. Phillip even had the fireplace going when we arrived. The apartment was a roomy one bed/one bath with a combination living/kitchen/dining area. Nicely decorated to make you feel at home. The bed was as comfortable as could be...very important to us.

Freshford is a quiet and beautiful little community. The train was a 10 minute scenic walk from the house and a 10 minute ride to Bath. I would love to go back when everything is in bloom.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam T
Bromley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Delightful place to stay - xmas/new year break”
Reviewed January 6, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Stayed for a few nights between Xmas and New Year with husband and teenage daughter. A really lovely cottage, spotless and very well cared for. Everything had been thought of at the cottage and really felt at home for our few days. Walks, breakfast at the local shop and trip to Bath - really nice to blow the cobwebs away after Xmas and only downside was the torrential rain but wasn't a hardship to stay cosy at the cottage :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan L
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful cottage, deliaghtful people, delightful village”
Reviewed October 15, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed for two nights in this cottage. It is perfect for a couple. Such a beautiful village and because everyone walks you can talk to the locals as you pass. Idyllic. We will be returning in the Spring.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Owners were kind and thoughtful
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing