We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lee family”

L'Ancienne Gendarmerie
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pressac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
L'Ancienne Gendarmerie
Ranked #1 of 2 Pressac B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We spent a fabulous two nights at L'Ancienne Gendarmerie with Susan and Peter. The suite was beautifully decorated with plenty of home comforts and comfortably slept our family of four. Susan and Peter's hospitality was second to none and we thoroughly enjoyed relaxing in their beautiful garden and their tasty breakfast. L'Ancienne Gendarmerie is worth making a detour for.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lulu504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
There are newer reviews for L'Ancienne Gendarmerie
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 14 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2011

This is an absolutely charming B&B, in the old police station of the exquisite village of Pressac. It is impeccably run by Susan and Peter in a way which gives British expats a good name, thanks to their spontaneously friendly welcome and the delightful location and accommodation. We loved having a suite with fully self-contained bathroom and well-furnished living room, overlooking charming gardens and with the river running round the edge. Peter was an unobtrusive mine of information and Susan served a fine breakfast with panache and warmth; we swiftly felt that we were among friends. This is somewhere where nothing is too much trouble and, when it comes to the final reckoning, you have to pinch yourself at the outstanding value.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidandpamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

My husband and I stopped off at L'Ancienne Gendarmerie in May. The accommodation is delightful - with lots of space, beautiful soft furnishings and style. We particularly appreciated the wonderful crisp white sheets and the fabulous bathroom. Sue and Peter have clearly put in an enormous amount of work to get their business going and it will pay off as finding another such gem in this rural area of France would be difficult.
Breakfast was delicious and nothing was too much trouble. Both Sue and Peter are working hard at integrating with the local French community, so they are able to provide all sorts of useful information if you are touring the area - including knowing local beauty spots and restaurants. Do try the Relais Routier next door - not gourmet but you quickly get a taste of local life as Francine provides a satisfying lunch with wine for about €13.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lec2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We spent 6 nights at this charming B & B. Our suites consisted of a very spacious,well furnished bedroom, lovely sitting room and contemporary bathroom. Everything was spotless and very well equipped including WiFi, satellite TV and DVD player. We had delicious breakfasts in the conservatory overlooking the pretty garden. Peter and Sue, the owners were most helpful and friendly. They gave us lots of information about places to visit. We did kayaking on the Charente. Visited chateaux at Verteuil and La Rochefoucauld. Looked round the quite unique Church in Civray. Was over-awed by the Resistance Memorial near Chasseneuil and found some great restaurants. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Pressac and the B & B is situated by the river and small lake which makes it such a beautiful setting, so tranquil and restful. All in all, a great holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andaman89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

L'Ancienne Gendarmerie is definitely the place to stop over when visiting Charentes and surrounding area. Susan and Peter (the owners) could not have been more hospitable and have the highest of standards. I would rate their suites as 4 or 5 star standard - roomy and each with an en suite bathroom & sitting area - the standard of cleanliness & comfort was first class. The B&B is situated in the picturesque French village of Pressac. It is a lovely old building with all modern amenities (newly done up bathrooms with endless hot water, satellite television etc) & a stunning garden. Susan produced a wonderful breakfast every morning with homemade jams, fresh bread, hams, cheeses etc & was super accommodating. The area has an abundance of lakes, markets, and various wildlife parks for the children. I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Critique55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Noémi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Francis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Ancienne Gendarmerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ancienne Gendarmerie

Address: 9 Place Andre Ravarit, 86460 Pressac, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Pressac
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pressac
Price Range: $66 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing