We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waiatoto River Safaris” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waiatoto River Safari

Waiatoto River Safari
Book In Advance
More Info
$143.28*
and up
Waiatoto River Safari
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Haast
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Waiatoto River Safari. Only NZ jet boat tour from the ocean to the mountains 2.25 hours of extraordinary nature and exceptional beauty only seen on this trip. Experience the history of Gondwana land, smell the rainforest as you walk softly through the dripping ferns with the sparkling clear light shimmering, with the snowy peaks as your backdrop. Your experienced guide will lead you through the ancient river, still untouched as it was thousands years ago when the Maori first roamed the land, the great Moa bird and Haast eagle still ruled the ancient forests. You will experience the magical, breathtaking beauty of the Te Wahipounamu, the maori name for the South West New Zealand World Heritage area and take home memories that will have you yearning to return once more.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Waiatoto River Safaris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

New Zealand has so much to offer and so many different River Safaris. We did a few and the Waiatoto River Safaris was a great value for money activity. The whole trip is an adventure up the river with so much different information given about the area, flora and fauna with plenty of opportunity for photos given as well as a little thrill ride on a jet boat!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greg-Medgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HannahsHomestead, Owner at Waiatoto River Safari, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thanks Greg and Medgee. We are thrilled that Tourism West Coast were able to put on a great intinary of the West Coast for you to experience what we have to offer here in South Westland. The little Koala sits on my desk and the pen has come in very handy. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Umea, Sweden
1 review
“Cold but beautiful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Enjoyable but cold. Sunny summers day. Told we didn't need to take our jackets. How wrong he was. Think he should try sitting in the back of the boat without the windscreen to protect him. Very beautiful part of NZ though.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank rubberdingyrapids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HannahsHomestead, Owner at Waiatoto River Safari, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for your review. Sometimes even on a Summer day here in NZ it can be a little chilly. We wish you had let the driver know, at the time that you were uncomfortable to allow Wayne to rectified the situation immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
375 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Waitoto River - jetboating the River of Blood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

A fabulous jet boat experience and by far the better value that any tour in the saturated Queenstown market.
On the recommendation of Collyer House, we met Wayne 8km down Jackson Bay Rd, third house on the left with a large jet boat parked outside.
Off we went, just the two of us on a private nearly 3 hour tour up the long lenths of the Waitoto River with Wayne stopping every now and again to tell tales of history, bird life and the warring Maori tribes who used to fight for the right to collect greenstone (or jade) along the river.
This was not a Queenstown wizz and sparkle tour with lots of 360 degree spins to soak you as you screamed.
This tour was both fast and slow, with the most stunning scenery Middle Earth can provide, with waterfalls, snow-capped peaks to green glacial waters and dark almost inky black but clear tanin stained waters and when the jet motors were switched off, the absolute stillness in the air.
Wonderful fun and the quickest way to get a sun tan (or burn) on the face without cream.
A mus-do Haast experience!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HannahsHomestead, Owner at Waiatoto River Safari, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Robert, Thank you so much for your very interesting description of our tour. We really enjoy bringing our beautiful area to visitors, first hand and it certainly seems you took note! All the best Wayne and Ruth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A jet boat experience for grownups”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed this. A true wilderness safari in a fairly remote location. If you want the 30-minute thrill ride with lots of spins and flirting with rocks and cliffs, this is not the boat ride for you. But if you want an authentic experience up a shallow New Zealand river into the backcountry, with lots of intelligent commentary about local nature, then it might be.

Wayne was polite and professional, and was a great boat pilot. There are some rapids to be traversed, which he handled expertly. But this was mostly about seeing beautiful country that you can't see any other way. I highly recommend this.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sooieeehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HannahsHomestead, Owner at Waiatoto River Safari, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Michael, wow-thanks for this! Glad you felt safe in Wayne's hands. It might be that before being jet boat drivers, we were firstly (are still are) commercial plane pilots! But South Westland is best viewed from the river or by foot. Kind regards, Ruth&Wayne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Wantana R”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

What a great trip! We were very well looked after, and the trip up the river, through the rapids etc., and the walk the end were fantastic. With a side trip at the end through some totally different scenery, and a couple of spins, it was a fantastic trip. Wayne gave us a great commentary, and we left knowing a lot more about the West Coast in general and the Waiatoto in particular. Excellent value for money.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Johny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HannahsHomestead, Owner at Waiatoto River Safari, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thanks Johny, it was great to have you onboard. And thanks for taking the time out to post a review about us. Ruth and Wayne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waiatoto River Safari also viewed

Haast, West Coast Region
Haast, West Coast Region
 
Haast, West Coast Region
Haast, West Coast Region
 

Been to Waiatoto River Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing