We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Collyer House Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Makarora Homestead(South Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveler rating
60
21
4
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
21
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoff the beaten trackjackson baymueslia wonderful stayother guestsnew zealandcooked breakfastbreakfast was excellentlovely homelocal hotelsbeautiful houseamazing sunseta real gemjet boatsand fliesremote locationsouth island
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 87 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This lovely warm welcome accompanied by a roaring log fire and superb local food is in the most unexpected place,in true wilderness looking straight out to the emptyness of the South Tasman Sea. A totally unexpected haven for even a seasoned Kiwi traveller like me.The World Heritage Wilderness Park of South Westland is without doubt the greatest of our treasures and having been lovingly tender by a committed army of DOC workers and volunteers its birdlife is returning and in the evening at Collyer House you can hear them going to sleep.Even our shy rare fernbird is in abundance. What a treasure! After a sùmptuous breakfast before the real log fire you can walk straight out to the tidal inlet frequented by rare waders and both Kotuku and Royal spoonbills. Then a very short stroll takes you to the entrance of the river and the untamed beach and Tasman Sea. A backdrop of towering peaks covered by bush but topped by snow this is probably one of the most incredibly diverse environments on earth. This is a place you will want to return to time and again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daphnekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Breathtaking location with views of the Tasman Sea, welcoming hosts.
Breakfast to a real British standard and lovingly furnished rooms. Hard to believe in a place where there is literally nothing but nature for miles and miles - and miles around!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DirkH99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

A wonderful B&B with very comfortable and clean rooms, great views, and a delicious breakfast. Neroli will meet you with a cup of tea and help you figure out what to do in the area. Absolutely the place to stay if you're in Haast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Collyer House is a remarkable find in a beautiful and remote setting. Host Neroli Nolan has managed to provide state of the art comfort and hospitable warmth to guests from all over the world. Her expansive home is airy, open, and beautifully designed to take advantage of unobstructed estuary and Tasman Sea views. The guest rooms and their patios, as well living and dining rooms, all have marvelous views of the sea in front and on the other side, a wall of mountains. The tasteful decor is complemented by wonderful scenic photos of New Zealand taken by Neroli herself. As a resident who was born in the area, the owner is steeped in the history of this part of the country, and she can offer suggestions and information about a vast array of beautiful and interesting beach, forest, and mountain walks--not to mention a variety of other activities. And the breakfasts she served were the best we had in New Zealand!

On a more personal note, my husband experienced a health emergency almost the moment we walked in the door. It was very distressing for us both, but Neroli never turned a hair. She could not have been more gracious or helpful. Fortunately, in the end all was well, but we significantly disrupted her routine for the first 24 hours we were there. She absolutely treated us like family and could not do enough to assist us. As we were so far from home, her help was an amazing comfort--we will truly never forget it. The kind of hospitality, practical help, and support she gave us--priceless! And all this on top of a facility that is immaculate, truly gorgeous and marvelously well situated. If you're in the area--and you should definitely go--this is the place to stop.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gramik0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
collyerhouse, Owner at Collyer House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

'One should treat others as one would like others to treat oneself.'

I don't know what else to say to a review like this!!!
A big 'thumbs up' to our Rural Health Services for their prompt and effecient service and I'm so pleased you were able to continue your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was one of the most truly relaxing places I have ever been. Our room, the living room, and the breakfast room all overlooked the sea across some vegetation. It is located on a gravel road with virtually no traffic, and the only sounds other than your own voice are those of the sea. Each room has its only little veranda to sit and soak up the sun, the sea, the sky and the wonderful soothing sound of the ocean. Our host, Neroli, is fantastic, and the breakfast wonderful. The room was well appointed, exceptionally clean, and as comfortably relaxing as everything else. Haast is a great place to spend a night or more on the west coast road. Don't miss the Craypot restaurant down the road in Jackson Bay for the best fish and chips around.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view; only one room does not have it.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
collyerhouse, Owner at Collyer House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

It is so rewarding to read your review. I built Collyer House to provide comfortable accommodation where travellers could relax and unwind and enjoy the unspoilt beauty of the Haast area. THANK YOU!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews