We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Haast
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveler rating
134
121
49
18
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
134
121
49
18
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night excellent place to stay camping facilities camper van the kitchen a great stay spacious room south island jackson bay would stay again fox glacier remote location hanger site campers accommodation queenstown
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 340 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2020

As we toured the South Island we spent one night and found the facilities to be clean comfortable and exceptional amenities available. We were sorry we only had one night scheduled. There was much to do in the area and the motel facility provided everything we needed to prepare meals, do laundry and even rent free movies. Great place for families too! It exceeded our expectations for a motel in the middle of nowhere. Thank you for the hospitality!

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 137reneed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haastriver, Manager at Haast River Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020 via mobile

Hard standing campervan site with plenty of room between plots. Huge hanger has been converted into kitchen and bathroom facilities...qwerky... could have done with more showers. Play facilities for kids. Good location between Queenstown and Fox/Franz Josef. Also good to drive out to Jacksons Bay...most remote village in NZ.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank SKKBmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haastriver, Manager at Haast River Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020 via mobile

This place is unfriendly with signs everywhere telling you what to do or what not to do. It feels like you are in a prison. The sign behind the shower door warned of using the shower without being a paying guest and of being handed over to the police for trespassing and theft plus a $200 fine for each member of the group concerned.
The amenities were all grouped together at one end of a converted hangar. It looked like people were living in the rest of the hangar as there were signs “Private. Keep out” around that area. There were only 2 toilets and 2 showers for males and the same for females. There is always a queue as a result. There was, however, unlimited hot water, free WiFi and the place was very clean.
The kitchen had spartan facilities with old-style stoves and ovens.
Not recommended.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank KrisPeter2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haastriver, Manager at Haast River Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Day

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The toilet and shower situation is under consideration for improvement to reduce waiting periods.

As for signage, we cater to a diverse range of guests that come from all over the world and signage seems to be the only way to ensure everyone behaves in a manner acceptable to everyone else on site, so yes there are things that should not be done and others that should.

Use of private facilities without consent and payment is considered theft in New Zealand, unfortunately we deal with this frequently and it is incredibly unpleasant for staff to deal with as well as other guests that witness these incidents. The signs you mention are there as a warning to those who make themselves guilty of committing a crime and should not be taken personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020 via mobile

Our family had a night here while we toured the South Island. We stayed in a bunk en-suite room. The beds were all rather uncomfortable with firm springs easily felt all night long. The room itself was tidy, however most of the cups were still dirty and the bathroom was in need of a good clean. The kids playground is great for kids and we also found the shared kitchen area to be perfect for what we needed. The price was reasonable also.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank latimerfamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haastriver, Manager at Haast River Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello

We addressed room standards with our cleaning staff and apologize to you for falling short of expectation in this instance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2019

Lovely spot to stay overnight with excellent facilities and a well equipped room. Ours was a very large room, big enough for our family of four - although to note, it was just one room. They had an excellent kids playground, complete with a trampoline. Plenty of animals to keep the kids entertained as well as a great playroom too. Fantastic place for kids and the staff were all wonderful. Highly recommended

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifelovetravelfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haastriver, Manager at Haast River Motels & Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you, we appreciate your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews