We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heartland World Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Heartland World Heritage Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Haast
Franz Josef, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed here for two nights. The room was clean and had recently been renovated which was nice. Bed was comfy. Heater didn't work though, But it was warm most the time anyway. Had dinner both nights too which was cheap, huge and pretty good.

Room Tip: The front rooms have better views, but ask for one that has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ayger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    75
    61
    43
    37
See reviews for
54
124
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

My partner and I enjoyed our stay, bed was very comfortable, room was spacious and nice decor. shower in the bathroom was very small but for the price this was the best accommodation we had on the West Coast.
Meal was good and staff very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arttr26p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

My wife and I wanted to take our time down the West coast so decided to stop at Haast before heading over to Queenstown. Consequently this was just an overnight er and we were very happy. Our room had just been refurbished and was excellent. Roomy, king size comfortable bed and warm. Meal was good. First hour of internet was free then $5 for 500mb. Didn't think that was too bad.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Booked one nights stay early April as i needed accommodation due to the Haast pass to Wanaka being shut after a certain time. Waited an what seemed to be an eternity to check in as no one was at reception. Finally found the room - very poor signage. Room in much need of refurbishment. Spa bath not clean- Jets clearly not been cleaned in some time. Also a large plastic vent above the bath had been broken and patched up - but not fixed properly allowing rain to come through. Room felt dirty. Very bad nights sleep - too tired to complain. Left as early as we could.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJonesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Haast hotels

Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

We recently stopped in Haast for an overnight stay and found the staff to be lovely and helpful both at reception and in the restaurant/bar area.
Whitebait was on the menu which was absolutely delightful.
The accommodation was comfortable and clean and our room, although a little small for 3 adults, overlooked the countryside.
All in all a nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BevMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

We will start with the positive, the staff are friendly. End of positives.
This cost us $225 per night, a two bedroom, seriously how very disappointing for NZ. We complained to reception about the bad smell in the room, how we could not turn off storage heaters and several other things. The internet is a complete rip off. This hotel needs updating or drop the price dramatically. I talked to Simon the general manager of the hotel the following morning and explained the issues we had with the room , in all fairness he listened to the complaint and acted (well done) he did insure me the hotel is gong through a revamp and hopefully this would be completed by the end of winter. I hope this happens as it does show promise and the staff do care. I will revisit and hopefully put a more positive review.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ginger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon J, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Ginger,

Firstly, thank you for meeting with me that morning. Your comments were valid and you gave me the opportunity to respond.

We hope to complete the upgrade of our rooms in the near future, We do hope you revisit.

Looking forward to be of service

Thank you

Simon Jackson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polis, Cyprus
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Very comfortable bedding after a long day travelling! Had to pay for wifi in room after one hour free. Haast is the edge of true wilderness a perfect place for people to enjoy being out in the bush and nature! The restaurant at the hotel was good!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon J, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Christopher,

Thank you for the good feedback.

We hope we can be of service again in the furture.

Kind regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haast hotels
0.2 mi away
Haast River TOP 10 Holiday Park
1.6 mi away
Aspiring Court Motel
Aspiring Court Motel
#1 of 2 in Haast
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bay Road Motel
Bay Road Motel
#2 of 4 in Haast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Hannah's Homestead
Hannah's Homestead
#3 of 4 in Haast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Heartland World Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland World Heritage Hotel

Property: Heartland World Heritage Hotel
Address: Haast-Jackson Bay Road, Haast 7886, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Haast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Haast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Heartland World Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Heartland World Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Haast World Heritage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing