We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heartland World Heritage Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Haast
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Booked one nights stay early April as i needed accommodation due to the Haast pass to Wanaka being shut after a certain time. Waited an what seemed to be an eternity to check in as no one was at reception. Finally found the room - very poor signage. Room in much need of refurbishment. Spa bath not clean- Jets clearly not been cleaned in some time. Also a large plastic vent above the bath had been broken and patched up - but not fixed properly allowing rain to come through. Room felt dirty. Very bad nights sleep - too tired to complain. Left as early as we could.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJonesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 267 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

We recently stopped in Haast for an overnight stay and found the staff to be lovely and helpful both at reception and in the restaurant/bar area.
Whitebait was on the menu which was absolutely delightful.
The accommodation was comfortable and clean and our room, although a little small for 3 adults, overlooked the countryside.
All in all a nice stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We will start with the positive, the staff are friendly. End of positives.
This cost us $225 per night, a two bedroom, seriously how very disappointing for NZ. We complained to reception about the bad smell in the room, how we could not turn off storage heaters and several other things. The internet is a complete rip off. This hotel needs updating or drop the price dramatically. I talked to Simon the general manager of the hotel the following morning and explained the issues we had with the room , in all fairness he listened to the complaint and acted (well done) he did insure me the hotel is gong through a revamp and hopefully this would be completed by the end of winter. I hope this happens as it does show promise and the staff do care. I will revisit and hopefully put a more positive review.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank Ginger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon J, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Ginger,

Firstly, thank you for meeting with me that morning. Your comments were valid and you gave me the opportunity to respond.

We hope to complete the upgrade of our rooms in the near future, We do hope you revisit.

Looking forward to be of service

Thank you

Simon Jackson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Very comfortable bedding after a long day travelling! Had to pay for wifi in room after one hour free. Haast is the edge of true wilderness a perfect place for people to enjoy being out in the bush and nature! The restaurant at the hotel was good!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon J, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Christopher,

Thank you for the good feedback.

We hope we can be of service again in the furture.

Kind regards

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed here on our way back home from Mt Cook. Originally we had not planed a stay over in Haast but due to the current situation around the Diana Falls and a bad weather forecast we left Mt Cook a day early and decided to book this hotel. What a wise decision! I personally cannot fail this place as we were checked in swiftly and rewarded with two newly renovated rooms. The room’s themselves offer all the service you can expect from a hotel (no minibar though) and I would like to especially point out the bed as one of the main features that sticks in mind. The feather toper really ensures that you have an enjoyable night rest! Simon (GM) personally showed me around the complex and pointed out things to do in and around Haast. Due to his recommendation we went to the close by beach before dinner and my two kids (5 & 3 years old) had great fun playing with a pony that was in a paddock nest to the beach and looking for some company. The beach itself was wide and easy to access, great for long and relaxing walks with your partner (well, maybe only if you don’t have young children like I do that try to drag you into the waves all the time). Dinner and Breakfast we had at the hotel and I can’t fail it. The selection, quality and portion size refects value for money and I can only recommend this to others. I have noticed that other reviewers don’t like the open fireplace but I personally feel that this special feature really added to the overall wellbeing and enjoyment of this local ‘watering hole’.

Facit: I was pleased that we left Mt Cook a day early and to find this nice and welcoming place to stay and cut a 500km drive in two stages. The service, rooms and restaurant do refect value for money and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others. Just don’t arrive with to high expectations. This is a 3 star hotel in Haast!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexander_Tschampel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon J, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Alexander,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay, we value your comments and I have passed them onto the team.

We are glad the the family enjoyed the overnight stay.

We hope to be of service again

Kind regards

Simon Jackson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

we could only laugh the internet booking sites don't mention that there is no fridge
having carted food for lunches etc to find that there was no fridge as we were told that the town
doesn't have enough power - yet the town has a huge info centre - I think they were just scrimping on costs and we tossed out our food for the birds to eat-very dissapionting

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon J, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Beardy,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. Your comments are important to us.

We are currently going through an upgrade which we hope to complete in the next year. The newly upgraded rooms have been well recevived by our guests.

We hope you do visit again

Kind regards

Simon Jackson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We overnighted here on our way south. All we needed was a comfy bed, a good feed and breakfast the next day.
We got all that but the place is nothing to write home about.
The name is a bit misleading, the only thing "Heritage" is that it is in a heritage area.
The whole place reminded us of the sort of place you would find in a mining town in the Pilbara in Western Australia.
Nothing to complain about - but then nothing to rave about either.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beardy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon J, General Manager at Heartland World Heritage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We do apologize for not meeting your expectations.

The property is old, dating back to the late sixty's, however we continue to make improvements, We are currently in the middle of upgrading our rooms to uplift the Hotel.

We do hope you visit us again

Kind regard

Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haast hotels
1.5 mi away
Heritage Park Lodge
Heritage Park Lodge
#3 of 3 in Haast
42 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aspiring Court Motel
0.5 mi away
Haast River Motels & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bay Road Motel
Bay Road Motel
#2 of 4 in Haast
34 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hannah's Homestead
Hannah's Homestead
#3 of 4 in Haast
18 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wilderness Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland World Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland World Heritage Hotel

Address: Haast-Jackson Bay Road, Haast 7886, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Haast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Haast
Price Range: $85 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heartland World Heritage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Heartland World Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Haast World Heritage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing