We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid place for a remote location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aspiring Court Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Haast
Akron, OH
Level Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Solid place for a remote location.”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

The place is a decent option in an area where many places seem to gather many bad reviews. Hotel was clean. Large studio, with a decent kitchenette. Not much of a view but then again you probably won't hang out there long. Bed comfortable. Internet is via satellite and thus expensive and not fast or reliable. Staff was friendly and helpful. I wouldn't want to stay anywhere around here for several days, but for the necessary stopping point between the west coast and Queenstown, this is worth it.

We did also eat at the only restaurant open in town for dinner - it was rather spartan and pricy.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wombatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    50
    36
    6
    4
See reviews for
25
63
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

There's not much in the town of Haast but if you have to stay here, this is as good a place to stay as any. We stayed in a studio room in mid-December and paid $98 for the night. The motel is located in town close to the restaurant where we had dinner. The room was clean and well presented with a sitting area and a small kitchenette with cooktop. The bathroom was smallish but the shower worked well and it was scrupulously clean. There were two public phone boxes loccated right outside the motel which meant that we could call home (there is no mobile phone coverage in the twon). We had no complaints about our stay.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rldot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We had a 2-bedroom unit, rather small but inexpensive. The kitchen included a full oven. We watched keas and fantails in the grounds. It was quite adequate for an overnight stop.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Terrific basic motel.
I would not expect anything different in such a location. We were only here for overnight to break up the drive between Te Anua and Greymouth.
Comfortable beds in the bedroom and livingroom area.
Kitchen was outfitted with all the necessities. Everything was clean and in good condition.
Staff was friendly and helpful with suggestions on where to eat for dinner and breakfast.
Not much choice but at least they can provide names and directions.
Always very much appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelseaboots61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Onle had one night here. The rooms were clean and very comfortable with well equpiied kitchen.
Not too much going on in Haast but that is not the fault of the motel

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrioleMcFlurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Travelling from Queenstown to Greymouth, stopped off to break the journey for one night. The accomodation was fine had everything you would need for a stop over but the Haast Township is very small with very little there to do. One pub/restaurant which was fine and one supermarket, the property is just off the main road through the Haast Pass.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoham69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
157 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

My husband and I spent one night here on our way to Queenstown. I would not recommend it. I loved the drive through Haast Pass, but then just keep going. Haast Village is not very nice and this hotel is dingy, dark, and grim.

Room Tip: just keep drivingt
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindencraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haast hotels
1.6 mi away
Heartland World Heritage Hotel
1.2 mi away
Haast River TOP 10 Holiday Park
3.4 mi away
Bay Road Motel
Bay Road Motel
#2 of 4 in Haast
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hannah's Homestead
Hannah's Homestead
#3 of 4 in Haast
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Park Lodge
Heritage Park Lodge
#2 of 3 in Haast
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspiring Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspiring Court Motel

Property: Aspiring Court Motel
Address: Marks Road | South Westland, Haast 7886, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Haast
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Haast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located halfway between the resort town of Queenstown to the south and the Glaciers to the north. Our motels are nestled in the Haast Township and are within easy walking distance to iconic Hard Antler bar and restaurant and shops. We offer quality 3+stars Quality Asure rated queen studio and family rooms with kitchen and ensuite. All of our unit are at ground level and located off the street facing gardens and afternoon sun. Local beach and forest walk and scenic Jackson Bay are just an easy drive from here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Aspiring Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing