We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort with a Sense of Place”
Review of Hannah's Homestead

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hannah's Homestead
Ranked #3 of 4 Haast B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My family (2 adults, 2 teenaged girls) recently toured the west coast of the South Island of New Zealand in the middle of their winter. We were looking forward to no crowds, gorgeous scenery, fresh air, some adventure, genuine characters and a little quirkiness. In the more isolated areas we were expecting basic accommodation…as long as it was clean and warm. Staying at Hannah’s Homestead in Haast was therefore a truly unexpected treat which also ticked all our boxes. OK, from the outside it looks a bit odd…like the underfloor area of someone’s house. However, the cosy accommodation has two rooms plus bathroom, kitchenette and TV. Each room has couches and the beds were divinely comfortable. The whole place reflects its local environment; books with local stories and information are in the rooms, driftwood, jetsam and flotsam from the beach across the road decorate the yard. The kitchenette has electric jug, fridge, toaster and frypan…fine for preparing simple meals. We used the outside BBQ one night, and John prepared a delicious roast chicken meal for us the next. He even whipped up a vegetarian option at short notice for one of our daughters! John is brimming with knowledge about the local flora, fauna and geology. We went on a walking/driving tour with him which included rainforest, river and seashore. The information we gleaned enriched our entire tour from then on, as did John’s infectious enthusiasm for this part of the world. Just wonderful.

Room Tip: Let John know ahead of time via email what you are interested in...he'll suggest some activities...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HannahsHomestead, Manager at Hannah's Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2012

I am really please that you enjoyed your stay at Hannah's Homestead, thank-you for your great description of what folks wanting to stay in and around Haast can expect at Hannh's Homestead.
I hope to see you back sometime soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
There are newer reviews for Hannah's Homestead
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2012

A lovely stay

My wife and I have just got back from a 6 week tour of Australia, New Zealand and Singapore (3 weeks in NZ) – we are in our early fifties. During our adventure we have stayed in many hotels, apartments etc with varying price ranges (including the last 3 days in a luxury suite on the 53rd floor of Singapore’s Marina Bay Sands so we feel qualified to judge objectively.

On Feb 24th 2012 we stayed in Hannah’s Homestead in Haast, using this as a stop-over between Queenstown and Fox Glacier. We don’t normally stay in Bed & Breakfast establishments but Hannah’s has changed our minds on this. The accommodation was easy to find and excellent. Spotlessly clean, extremely well presented and managed very well by John and Summer. An added bonus was the excellent steak meal and scrumptious dessert cooked by John – the best steak we had the whole time we were in NZ. Breakfast was informal and friendly and actually upstairs in the main accommodation – great chats with John and Summer who knew a lot about the local history and were very interesting people. Good value and HIGHLY RECOMMENED by us and thanks to John and Summer for making our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stuartv187055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HannahsHomestead, Owner at Hannah's Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Thanks very much for taking the time to review our wee spot of heaven, we really did enjoy your company and the pleasure was all ours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

We where recommended to stay here by a friend and his wife who stayed at Hannahs Homestead in January, they really enjoyed their stay and the home cooked meal, but we where not even offered that, and then we see they dont cook meals there anymore (would if been nice to know), so it was either 27km up the road to get dinner or 22 kms down the road to Jackons Bay where the Cray Pot was, and after being in a car all day didnt really sound to appealing. Susan our host was lovely but a bit to much over the top... I would reccomend this to someone who would take their own meals or eat before you go to the homestead...

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ctravellers2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2010

The room was not as nice as on the homepage, decoration and bathrobes were missing, but was still o.k..
As there was nowhere else to go, we booked dinner ahead which was tasteful homecooking, not the three course dinner advertised. Food combination was a bit unusual, too.
Catherine's service was a bit chaotic, but she was very friendly. She gave us the extremely useful tip to book accomodation last minute on wotif.com. We got some really good deals during our vacation by booking through this site.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fernweh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Heike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth-Wayne, Manager at Hannah's Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giovanni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth-Wayne, Manager at Hannah's Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haast hotels
10.7 mi away
Heartland World Heritage Hotel
10.0 mi away
Heritage Park Lodge
Heritage Park Lodge
#2 of 3 in Haast
42 reviews
10.0 mi away
Aspiring Court Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Bay Road Motel
Bay Road Motel
#2 of 4 in Haast
34 reviews
10.6 mi away
Haast River Motels & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hannah's Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hannah's Homestead

Address: 1921 Haast - Jackson Bay Road | Hannah's Clearing, Haast 7844, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Haast
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Haast
Price Range: $105 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On New Zealand’s West Coast of the South Island, you will find Hannah's Homestead with a two bedroom ground flour, access friendly, en-suite motel unit, which is perfectly situated on the scenic road to Jackson Bay, at Hannah's Clearing, Haast. The homestead sits right on the edge of the west coast wilderness and is only a few minutes walk from the Tasman Sea. Hannah's Homestead Motel was built in 2009 and offers comfortable West Coast accommodation. Whether you are planning on a one night stay or a full-on week of sightseeing and outdoor adventures, Hannah's Homestead Motel is the perfect place to reside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hannah's Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing