We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun & Relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Schiff-Battello Ascona
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun & Relax”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

What about a place where it is possible to spend 3 / 4 day in a calm and quiet atmosmere but with an amazing funny festival at one step outside the Hotel ?
We went during the Artistidistrada festival in Ascona at the Hotel Schiff. It was supposed to be a raining week but in true was a nice experience with all the kind of weather during every day, sun, cloudy, wind and little water drops. Sometime was amazing to see people with umbrella stay under little ater to see the shaw, very magic days, happy and fun. We were lucky to have Hotel Schiff Battello as our house right on the Lungolago Motta and we never run away from the shows. Clean place and very gentle people. To sleep in a house like hotel Ascona is an experience that recreate the mind for good dreams.. For sure we come back for another events or simple to enjoy Lago Maggiore and the valley around.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank grassopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
battello, Manager at Hotel Schiff-Battello Ascona, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Google Translation
Wir danken Ihnen bestens für Ihre Bewertung und Erfahrungen in unserem familiären und charmanten ***Hotel an der herrlichen Seepromenade von Ascona. Seit 10 Jahre wird mit grossem Erfolg das schöne Strassenkünstlerfestival von Ascona immer an Pfingsten organisiert, leider dieses Jahr mit 2 Tage regen und wenigstens am Sonntag schönste Tessiner Sonne, wir haben mit viel Freude festgestellt, dass mehrere Hotelgäste trotz des schlechten Wetters viel Freude an den verschiedenen Vorstellungen der Mimen, Jongleure, Musiker, Seiltänzer hatten, man hat mehr improvisiert und das Publikum hatte volles Verständnis. Wir würden Sie sehr gerne auch nächstes Jahr am Pfingsten bei uns verwöhnen, alles gute und einen schönen Sommer wünschen wir Ihnen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    18
    8
    6
    6
See reviews for
11
34
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We was for 3 nights at the Hotel Schiff-Battello in fantastic position on the charming Promenade of Ascona.The staff was very friendly and helpful, the manager and his wife give us helpful raccomandation for walks in the typical Maggia Velley. The big superior rooms (34 m2) on the romantic court side are clean and comfortable, the breakfast buffet was delicius and the low season prices werre very reasonable, we come back next year. A funny experience was to meet cool people that speak italian, german, english and french at the same time with each others W la suisse!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank world_visor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
battello, Inhaber at Hotel Schiff-Battello Ascona, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Google Translation
Wir danken Ihnen für die positiven Erfahrungen die Sie während Ihrem frühlingshaften Aufenthalt bei uns im charmanten ***Hotel gesammelt haben. Unsere naheliegende Täler sind wirklich sehr schön, man entdeckt bei einem sonnigen Spaziergang viele Details und lernt den Kanton Tessin besser kennen. Was gibt es schöneres am morgen als an der bunten Seepromenade von Ascona zu frühstücken und den traumhaften Blick auf den dunkel-blauen Lago Maggiore und die Tessiner Berge zu bewundern! Das Tessin: MITTELMEER-FLAIR GLEICH HINTER DEN BERGEN!!! Für den Tagesplan sich immer an der Reception wenden, Herr und Frau Wildi geben Ihnen täglich ein "geheim Tipp".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our room at Hotel Schiff was clean, spacious, and quiet. The owner was very knowledgeable and helpful in providing suggestions for what to do during the off season in Ascona. The breakfast was extensive and delicious. The only downside was the smoking from nearby balcony that wafted into our room and prevented us from opening balcony door.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jaweymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I was very pleased with the choice that was made for us here at Hotel Schiff-Battello Ascona. Being located right on the promanade with magnificent views across the lake in my mind is the only place to be if your looking for a complete holiday experience.
Our room had lake views and was comfortable and clean. Always accept if you are going to be in the heart of a major tourist location then there will be some noise contamination from the streets.
We were greeted with the street services vehicles and rubbish bins being put our early in the morning but I believe it is all part of the atmosphere.
Staff were professional and helpful in all aspects of service. Greatly appreciated the help with vehicle access and the free parking voucher for the underground secure area not far away.
Happily recommend this place to everybody.

Room Tip: Request a lake view if you want to absorb the atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This Hotel offers a brilliant location on the waters edge with some fantastic views if you get a water view facing the promenade. The owner is a third generation owner and he offers excellent advice (weather reports to the hour and fairly accurate at that!). My only observation was he was very 'business like' and at times I felt his service was not as natural as others. It could well be a cultural thing though as this site is all about ratings, then I firmly believe that those who offer a warm felt and personal service should get the best rating. As for efficiency, the breakfast lady was also excellent. On that note, the breakfast was also good with acceptable choices.
The rooms are neat and tidy, only to be let down but allowing people to smoke on the balconies or out the window. Again this could be common in Switzerland but I'd imagine it would be hard to police and it definitely didn't make the rooms smell as fresh as legitimate non smoking rooms I've stayed in other hotels.
One final comment, if staying in Ascona, be warned, it is not cheap and I feel it is almost like a mini Monte Carlo with the standard of boutique shops and restaurants. Do be shocked to be paying £50 per head for a meal with limited alcohol. Thankfully though the standard of food was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We lobbed into the Hotel Schiff right on the promenade, without a booking. The owner Andrea was very helpful, caring for our luggage and guiding us to the free car park. We had to wait for our room to be available but Andrea gave us plenty of advice about where to go while we waited. There is a lift to the small but adequate room with a small shared sitting room on the same floor. We had a tiny view of the water but being on the side of the building it may have been quieter at night. Many interesting photos of the hotel in the late 1800's when it was started as a pension by Andrea's grandfather. Free wifi was available and the breakfast downstairs was simple and tasty. The highlight for us was the help that Andrea gave us in trying to retrieve a charger left in the previous hotel. Nothing was too much trouble even giving us a long and detailed instruction to get on to the freeway on our departing journey to Milano.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Carst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Excellent location on the lake with beautiful family run management. Spotlessly clean rooms and the most fabulous buffet breakfast. Convenient location for restaurants and boating. Do check out the chain of '7' restaurants nearby. All in all a very satisfying and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sahil1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ascona hotels
0.0 mi away
Piazza Ascona Hotel & Restaurants
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tamaro
Hotel Tamaro
#20 of 32 in Ascona
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergo Carcani
Albergo Carcani
#7 of 32 in Ascona
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ascona
Hotel Ascona
#6 of 32 in Ascona
258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Osteria Ticino
Osteria Ticino
#23 of 32 in Ascona
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Castello Seeschloss
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schiff-Battello Ascona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schiff-Battello Ascona

Property: Hotel Schiff-Battello Ascona
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Motta 21, Ascona 6612, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Ascona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schiff-Battello Ascona 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fantastic Promenade-Piazza of Ascona the Family WILDI managed this charming and romantic ***Hotel with 15 rooms, the most with lovely balconys and lakeview, large double rooms and tree-bedded rooms 30 m2 on the court side, swiss breakfast-buffet on the fantastic terrace with view on the Lake Maggiore,homemade "Swiss-musli" and 8 different kind of bread, fruits, yogurts, ham and salami. Special offer from 3 days with free DISCOVERY TICINO GUESTCARD with 42 excursions, Garage and bicycles,the romantic ***Hotel is situated on the walking-area of Ascona, open from 8 february to 25 november. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Schiff Battello Ascona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing