We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been more accommodating”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ascona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Schiff-Battello Ascona
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Reviewed August 31, 2011

The hotel is everything it "says on the box". We asked for a room with a balcony facing the lake - we got it, but we didn't count on the hundred year old trees along the promenade! But it made little difference.If you want to see the lake, make sure your ask for the second floor. The room was comfortable and spotlessly clean - as you would expect in Switzerland. The breakfast was as you would expect in Europe - continental. The price was very reasonable - by Swiss standards.

The main strength of this hotel is the owner. He has to be the most helpful guy in Switzerland. He was full of good tips and advice, and did everything he could to make our stay enjoyable. For example, when I asked where we could hire bikes, he lent us two bikes for free and showed us the best cycling routes, and recommended which lido's to swim at.

We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want a better view of the lake, ask for a second floor lake facing room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 72 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2011

Very friendly and helpful, family run hotel with clean, bright rooms and balconies overlooking promenade and Lake Maggiore! What a view! Was worth everything! The most central location with breathtaking views, especially enjoyed as we were eating a delicious buffet breakfast outside! A free boat ride to island was thrown in, as were first evening pre-dinner drinks. Would return without hesitation.

Room Tip: ask for room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank travel472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Imagine to be in a room where you have a balcony to enjoy fresh pure air, night and day, and a view thats look at a little walking road at just 24 steps from the water. Well I got it for 7 nights and was a pretty well place to sleep well dream as a little kid. The Hotel Schiff Battello in Ascona has a warm hosting family that run the place since long time ago. years Morning food is fresh and tastefully

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank grassopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2010

This is a fantastic friendly family run hotel the owner has a lovely friendly welcoming attitude and couldn't do enough to make sure that we enjoyed our stay.

I would recommend it to anyone wishing to visit Ascona which is a lovely town on the lake.

Beds are excellent,quite location with no through traffic, freshly painted throughout, wouldn't hessitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tuppy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2009

Also traveled with two other friends to this little hotel! This is not the Ritz, but what it is lacking in great rooms is made up with great views and very hospitable folks! We had the lake facing rooms with balconies which really made the room worth the price. The rooms were very clean. Equally the breakfast was very good and included in the price. The gentleman running the hotel was extremely accommodating and very nice; he provided us great information for hiking and biking in the area. Would recommend the Osteria Nostrana just down the road… while expensive the pizza was really good! Ascona is a really pretty place even in November during the down season and this little hotel certainly is a great location. If there was one down side, they didn't have free internet.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank curmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Arrived as a late afternoon 'walkin' requiring a one night stay. The front desk, manned by the hotel proprietor, was very efficient. He is a very precise and friendly man. Our room looked out of the side of the hotel, and was acceptably quiet even with the window open. It was very clean with a good quality bed and linen. The en-suite was well provisioned.
Breakfast provided all that was required of it with breads, cheese and meats etc.
Parking was provided in an underground lot about 500 metres walking distance through the town centre, and a map was provided to show the motor route to and the walking route back to the hotel. Enjoyed our short stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KentUKRascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2008

The hotel is in a great position overlooking the lake. We had a large, clean room at the rear of the hotel which was quiet and comfortable.

The hotel staff were very helpful when we arrived, they gave us the directions to a free car park 500mtrs from the hotel as we did not plan on using our car during our stay.

The breakfast was a buffet and you sat looking out at the lake which was very pleasant. There was a choice of food at breakfast but it was nothing special and I would have expected a higher quality from a hotel charging CHF250 for a double room. Overall the standard of accommodation and food did not justify the room rate.

Foolishly, we had not looked at trip advisor before booking and looking at the price of the Movenpick hotel that was just next door, that would have been better value for a lake side hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bjangell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ascona hotels
0 mi away
Piazza Ascona Hotel & Restaurants
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luna
Hotel Luna
#10 of 32 in Ascona
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel New Elvezia
Hotel New Elvezia
#24 of 32 in Ascona
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Albergo Carcani
Albergo Carcani
#9 of 32 in Ascona
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#4 of 32 in Ascona
511 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ascona
Hotel Ascona
#6 of 32 in Ascona
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schiff-Battello Ascona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schiff-Battello Ascona

Address: piazza Giuseppe Motta 21, Ascona 6612, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Ascona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Price Range: $101 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schiff-Battello Ascona 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fantastic Promenade-Piazza of Ascona the Family WILDI managed this charming and romantic ***Hotel with 15 rooms, the most with lovely balconys and lakeview, large double rooms and tree-bedded rooms 30 m2 on the court side, swiss breakfast-buffet on the fantastic terrace with view on the Lake Maggiore,homemade "Swiss-musli" and 8 different kind of bread, fruits, yogurts, ham and salami. Special offer from 3 days with free DISCOVERY TICINO GUESTCARD with 42 excursions, Garage and bicycles,the romantic ***Hotel is situated on the walking-area of Ascona, open from 8 february to 25 november. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Schiff Battello Ascona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing