We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Eden Roc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Eden Roc
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Amazing service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

The most friendly staff ever experienced led by Tony in the breakfast room each and every morning. Genuine connection with every guest with nothing being too much trouble. A very warm and homely hotel of which we would not hesitate to return. Thank you again to Tony for being such an amazing host, the kids and I loved your engaging and humorous approach.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Eden_Roc, Manager at Hotel Eden Roc, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
„Amazing service“


Ascona, 14 July 2014


Thank you very much for having stayed with us and for your excellent comments.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your holidays and appreciated our service – especially Tonys’ humorous approach.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to the Hotel Eden Roc in the near future, we remain, with best regards,

Yours sincerely,

HOTEL EDEN ROC


Daniel Schälli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    68
    8
    2
    6
See reviews for
75
250
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

I hated this hotel from the moment I walked into the lobby. Nouveau riche Russians might appreciate the gaudy orange and gold décor, but I cannot see any normal hotel guest feeling comfortable in these surroundings.

Leaving aside the garish colour scheme, you are left with a very expensive, average hotel with admittedly good views over the lake and mountains. The staff were not particularly friendly and appeared to be working under a cloud.

The rooms are average. The food is nothing special and the menus that I saw had a very limited choice.

I would have checked out after 1 night but unfortunately was in a group. None of us liked the hotel but it was too disruptive to move, so we spent as much time out of the hotel as possible.

My advice to travellers is to investigate all possible alternatives before staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon20London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Eden_Roc, Manager at Hotel Eden Roc, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
„Very disappointing“



Ascona, June 24, 2014




We refer to your tripadvisor comment dated June 21, 2014 and regret that you did not like the interior design of the Hotel Eden Roc.

Depending on the different parts of the hotel, our rooms and public areas are furnished and decorated in a different style that might not meet everybody’s personal taste.

We apologize that our staff did not meet your approval and that none of our four restaurants with their large choice of à la carte dishes and regularly changing menus suited you.

Thanking you for your visit and wishing you a nice summer, we remain with kind regards,

Yours sincerely,

HOTEL EDEN ROC

Daniel Schälli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Eden Roc is the most lovely and welcoming hotel in the Ascona/Locarno area. A weekend here makes you feel like you've had a week's holiday. It's a true five-star hotel with true five-star touches such as an incredibly helpful and attentive staff who recognize you and call you by name, wonderful restaurants, beautiful rooms and common areas with nice touches like fresh flowers and fruit in the rooms. Another nice touch is the elegantly uniformed driver who comes to collect guests at the Locarno train station. The hotel's situation is perfect - directly on Lake Maggiore and just a few steps away from the center of charming Ascona. The grounds are beautiful with spectacular views of the lake and surrounding mountains. We like to lounge by the pools, swim in the lake, take the hotel's bikes for a little tour or walk around town to enjoy the shops and other things going on there. The Sunday morning market at Cannobio is also easy to get to and fun. The hotel's restaurants are exceptional. We do not eat anywhere else when we are staying at the Eden Roc because nowhere else compares with the quality or service offered by the Eden Roc. The Eden Roc is an intimate hotel with unparalleled service and luxury. We go every chance we get.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seestheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Eden_Roc, Manager at Hotel Eden Roc, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
„Always Exceptional“


Ascona, 19 June 2014


Thank you very much for your excellent comments. It has been a big pleasure to welcome you again at the Hotel Eden Roc and we are glad that you enjoyed your holidays.

Your description of the hotel setting, your words of praise about our service and the restaurants gave us great delight.

Your exceptional assessment is a motivation for our whole team and we once more would like to thank you for having stayed with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to the Hotel Eden Roc in the near future, we remain, with best regards,

Yours sincerely,

HOTEL EDEN ROC


Daniel Schälli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

The hotel has a great location on the lakeside of beautiful Ascona. It has 2 extremely well-maintained pools and 4 excellent restaurants. Especially enjoyed our meal in the charming La Casetta - a lovely terrace by the lake offering excellent food and service. Indeed, service was exceptional from front desk through to waiters and doormen! The staff went out of their way to accommodate our every need. True 5 -star quality. Expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

I was on a business trip in Ascona and stayed at the Eden Roc hotel. Hotel is very high quality and perfectly located next to the lake Maggio. Excellent service and plenty of helpful personnel. We had a dinner at the main restaurant on a Friday evening and it was of high quality and service impeccable. The hotel has two swimming pools, one outside and another divided in/outdoor pool. In addition the spa has saunas and treatment rooms. Breakfest is served in one of the main restaurants and provides the opportunity to be seated in and outdoor. This time I did not have time to try the grill right on the lakeside but it looked fantastic.

Room Tip: I had a spacious double room and at least for one person it is more than enough. With family a junio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jouni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Eden_Roc, Manager at Hotel Eden Roc, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Google Translation
„Drei Tage im Eden Roc – ein echtes Luxushotel“

Ascona, 21. Mai 2014

Wir nehmen Bezug auf Ihre Hotelbewertung und freuen uns, dass es Ihnen im Hotel Eden Roc so gut gefallen hat.

Ihre anschauliche Beschreibung der Infrastruktur sowie das Lob über unser Personal und den Service sind eine Motivation für das gesamte Team.

Haben Sie vielen Dank für diese tolle Bewertung, die wir sehr schätzen. Wir hoffen, Sie schon bald wieder im Hotel Eden Roc willkommen zu heissen, und verwöhnen zu dürfen und grüssen Sie herzlich.

HOTEL EDEN ROC

Daniel Schälli
Direktor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Ascona ist beautifully located on a hook on the shore of lake Maggiore. The hotel is on the side of the central strip near the harbour. Main building and a secon one called Marina. We stayed in the latter in room 12 with little sea view sideways (cost more) and view to the main building where 2 of 3 restaurants, the bar and a lounge are (also for breakfast) and the elevator/stairs to the spa area. the rooms in Marina are at least CHF 230.-/night cheaper than in the "real" hotel, but we could use all amenities and never felt "second class". Room pretty small but nice with beautiful bathroom including "rainforest" shower.
There is a hallway from the Marina to the main building (very convenient).
We had half board (CHF 70.- per night and person) and 1 night included (4 for 3-package from the hotel webpage) so easily "saved" 1'200 swiss francs. We therefore had dinner 4 times in all 3 restaurants and the food was outstanding!

CHF 2'000.- for 4 nights is no bargain but worth every franc!

Spa: indoor "kneipp-weg", hot tubs, pool, heated outdoor pool with sea view!

breakfast: great variety but never too much. sea view from indoor as well as outdoor! perfect.

Room Tip: lake view, worth the money if you spend enough time in your room. otherwise you'll see the lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy_from_Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Eden_Roc, Manager at Hotel Eden Roc, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
„Wonderful hotel in perfect location“


Ascona, 2 May 2014


We refer to your recent stay at the Eden Roc Marina and thank you very much for having chosen our hotel and for your positive comments.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your holidays and appreciated the rich breakfast buffet, the different dinners in our three restaurants as well as the spa.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Hotel Eden Roc /Eden Roc Marina. In the meantime we wish you a nice and sunny spring and send you our kindest regards.

HOTEL EDEN ROC


Daniel Schälli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Yes it is expensive, but it is worth it. I typically like the grand old hotels of the world with their traditional decor but the Eden Roc somehow radiates the same splendor combined with swiss efficiency and their inbred hospitality. The rooms are contemporary with high quality furniture and fabrics. Service is attentive and professional. The hotel is situated right on Lago Maggiore. I preferred swimming in the lake over the two large pools the hotel has. The food is superb - I enjoyed lunch in La Casetta, an old separate building, lake front on the hotels grounds; I believe some treaty or surrender was negotiated or signed there - read the plaque on the wall. You can walk to the village or use one of the hotel bikes. Boat rentals on the premise! Great spa. Breakfast buffet is overwhelming.

Room Tip: If you plan on spending a lot of time in the room, go for the more expensive lake view otherwise Nor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolfsass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ascona
0.8 mi away
Giardino Ascona
Giardino Ascona
#2 of 32 in Ascona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.9 mi away
Castello Del Sole
Castello Del Sole
#4 of 32 in Ascona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Collinetta
Hotel Collinetta
#5 of 32 in Ascona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#2 of 28 in Locarno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Hotel Delta Wellbeing Resort
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Castello Seeschloss
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden Roc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden Roc

Property: Hotel Eden Roc
Address: via Albarelle 16, Ascona 6612, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Ascona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ascona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ascona
#2 Spa Hotel in Ascona
#3 Family Hotel in Ascona
#5 Business Hotel in Ascona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Eden Roc 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eden Roc Ascona is a true small gem with unique Mediterranean charm. The five-star resort stands out for its spaciousness and unrivalled lakeside view. In addition to its 37 suites and 58 rooms the hotel offers a 2000sqm spa. The inspiration for the design of the luxurious wellbeing area, with water world, sauna and seven new treatment rooms plus hairdressing salon was provided by the natural beauties of Ticino - more precisely, seven local flower species and the many colours of the lake, ranging from silver gray to sky blue. The Eden Roc Marina contains 16 rooms, a casual restaurant and an unrivalled range of water sport activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Eden Roc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Roc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing